High Flat cycles- is it time for new Lantus or what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
So, Tennie is on the mend from his bout of pancreatitis last month. His eating is back to normal, he is even a little extra hungry lately- may be due to hight numbers. But he is still slightly lazy. Although he was never the most active cat in the world.
Before his attack, he was at 2.25 units, BID and we were seeing some blue numbers. In the past couple of weeks we have worked back up to 2.25 units BID, but he has been staying in mostly red and pink numbers. In the past, any time I had upped his dose, I saw some sort of response. But this time nothing.

His lantus is just over 3 months old. It has been kept in the fridge the whole time.

I'm just looking for suggestions on what could be going on, and if new Lantus might improve the situation.

Thanks,
Andrea
 
If there are no floaties, and you've had it on a stationary shelf, it should be OK for another month.

Look for signs of infection: oral, bladder/kidney, respiratory, or internal.The pancreatitis also may increase the glucose levels.

Follow the TR protocol for increases:

3 full days on a dose; 2 days if very, very high and the other Lantus folks concur he needs to be fast tracked
check the nadir
increase as directed (0.25-0.5 unit increases depending on nadir values)
 
Yes, no floaties, It has been kept tin the meat and cheese drawer, to keep it from being knocked around. Maybe a bad choice?

I guess it could be lasting results of the pancreatitis. His nadir seems to be closer to +8. And then he often has another dip just before his next shot.

The hight flat cycles are making me nervous.
 
If you have a special drawer for "meats" in your refrigerator, it should be fine...they're generally a little colder than the rest of the fridge and the temp is probably more stable since you're not always opening the door

I think you just need to keep increasing every 6 cycles until you start seeing better numbers. Don't stay at a dose that's not getting you where you want to be any longer or you risk something called "glucose toxicity" (getting too used to being at that higher number)

When you start getting nadirs in the blues, then you'd want to hold the dose a little longer, like 8-10 cycles

Some cats just take more juice than others, so don't stress out about it....just keep doing the increases until you start to see some results
 
That's exactly where I've always kept my Lantus. Probably the best way to tell if there's anything wrong with the insulin is to increase the dose and see if you get any results. It looks to me like Tennie may have needed an increase well before now. If you've not already shot and his PMPS is still high, I'd go ahead and increase by 0.25u tonight.
 
I guess I'm just confused because before his pancreatitis he was getting blues at a much lower dose.
Is it normal to have to keep increasing after a setback?
 
His PMPS is 396. Still high.
Sienne-I just increased him to 2.25 on Friday night, and not much changed. Do you think is is OK to take him up to 2.5 tonight?
 
Yes, with the numbers you have been seeing, and increase is OK. Good luck with the increase.

If cats spend time in higher numbers, they can get Glucose Toxicity, which means it can take them a little more insulin to get to good numbers again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top