? Hold the course? Scout 10/27: AMPS=382; +7.5=146

sandscout

Member Since 2018
Hi to everyone,
Despite our ongoing problems;
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-anyone-please-cat-biting.220805/
I was able to get mid-cycle test at +7.5, and was so so surprised to see blue at 146!
I haven’t seen a blue in over a month, and was considering another 25u reduction. But since I’m using SLGS and read this:
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose.
I should continue to hold at 1.75u because I want to know how low he goes before adjusting his dosage. I’m just checking in with you all to make sure I’m on the right path and that my thinking is straight on this one, because this time around, it’s all like new to me again. Any advice or comments would help! Thank you!!
 
SLGS calls for a curve at this point. You also want to make sure he’s not going below 90 and earning a reduction.
 
I was just reading back on the last thread because I wondered why you hadn’t done a curve and it looks like he’s gotten very aggressive with you.

You do really need a curve so we can know whether you should change the dose. You might want to burrito him to test him. Perhaps this video by a member with a very fractious cat will help you be able to test him.


You might also find some other suggestions to help you for his aggressions on this very recent post by a member having similar issues with a civvie.
 
I would do a curve if I could, I just can’t with the way he’s been attacking me. I’ve tried the towel wrap, the rewards, all the tricks. I am just at my wits end and don’t know what to do next if I can’t get a curve. I even stopped posting on the Lantus board, I was so ashamed that I couldn’t do enough tests to please everyone.
 
I was just reading back on the last thread because I wondered why you hadn’t done a curve and it looks like he’s gotten very aggressive with you.

You do really need a curve so we can know whether you should change the dose. You might want to burrito him to test him. Perhaps this video by a member with a very fractious cat will help you be able to test him.


You might also find some other suggestions to help you for his aggressions on this very recent post by a member having similar issues with a civvie.
I have been following that very thread. I guess I posted because I’m asking, in lieu of not being able to get a curve, what can I do-dosage -wise?
 
I’m willing to try the burrito wrap again, with the plate of food just below him. Maybe that new configuration will work. Right now I test him on the bathroom counter.
 
I have been following that very thread. I guess I posted because I’m asking, in lieu of not being able to get a curve, what can I do-dosage -wise?
It’s pretty standard here that you need to know how low the dose is taking him before you increase. You might not be able to get a full curve, but even if you could get a test every 3-4 hours over an 18 hour period, it would help.

Junior got much easier to test and eventually went OTJ. He became quite compliant with his testing. Changing where you test and feeding might help.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top