How long for urine amount to decrease

Sweet Tango

Member Since 2019
Hi. My Tango has only been on insulin for about two weeks, and I'm just getting used to giving him shots, so there may have been a few fur shots. I also skipped a few which I shouldn't have, because I wanted to make sure his numbers weren't too low (which they weren't but I'm still learning). He's only getting .5 units of Lantus and I'm going to see how his numbers look this week before possibly looking into increasing him to .75 units, but typically how long does it take for the amount of urine to decrease?
 
The urine will decrease when the numbers decrease...He's most likely thirsty right now and is drinking a lot of water to compensate for the irregularities in his blood glucose.

Are you able to get a couple more tests later in the day and at night? It would be helpful to make sure he's not going any lower during the times when you have no tests on your SS.

It may be that he is needing an increase - but that will be based on which protocol you're following - TR or SLGS? Have you read the basics of the two protocols and based on your schedule and what food he's eating - have you made a decision which one you're going to follow?
 
The urine will decrease when the numbers decrease...He's most likely thirsty right now and is drinking a lot of water to compensate for the irregularities in his blood glucose.

Are you able to get a couple more tests later in the day and at night? It would be helpful to make sure he's not going any lower during the times when you have no tests on your SS.

It may be that he is needing an increase - but that will be based on which protocol you're following - TR or SLGS? Have you read the basics of the two protocols and based on your schedule and what food he's eating - have you made a decision which one you're going to follow?
Hi. No. I haven’t read either and have never heard about either one. I will gave to read both of them.
 
The urine will decrease when the numbers decrease...He's most likely thirsty right now and is drinking a lot of water to compensate for the irregularities in his blood glucose.

Are you able to get a couple more tests later in the day and at night? It would be helpful to make sure he's not going any lower during the times when you have no tests on your SS.

It may be that he is needing an increase - but that will be based on which protocol you're following - TR or SLGS? Have you read the basics of the two protocols and based on your schedule and what food he's eating - have you made a decision which one you're going to follow?
Can you tell me where I can find the basics of those two protocols?
 
There's an overwhelming amount of information in the "sticky" notes at the top of the board. There's information about Lantus, the Lantus depot, how this board works, the dosing methods we use, and what to do if your kitty is in low numbers. Some people print out the information. If you follow all of the links, there is a lot to print out! As you're reading, please ask questions. There is a huge amount of expertise here and people are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
There's an overwhelming amount of information in the "sticky" notes at the top of the board. There's information about Lantus, the Lantus depot, how this board works, the dosing methods we use, and what to do if your kitty is in low numbers. Some people print out the information. If you follow all of the links, there is a lot to print out! As you're reading, please ask questions. There is a huge amount of expertise here and people are very generous with their time and knowledge.
Thanks. It's a little difficult to navigate throughout the system, and determine where to post, where to find answers, etc. I have spent many hours trying to learn and it seems as though this has taken over my life, but I will try to understand this forum in the hopes that it will help me.
 
Welcome to you and Tango! There is a lot of information and it can be daunting at first but just keep asking questions and it will all start to make sense eventually. :)
 
This morning's pre-shot was 245 and his pre-shot tonight was 518!! It's never ever been that high. It's now +3 and I just tested him and it's 289 so I'm a little relieved about that, but I have no idea why he would have been 518 tonight...especially since his pre-shot this morning was 245. He did not have a bowel movement today which is odd, so maybe that spiked it, or maybe this morning I did a furshot?? Other than that, I cannot figure out why. At least I can go to sleep tonight knowing that it's gone down.
 
This morning's pre-shot was 245 and his pre-shot tonight was 518!! It's never ever been that high. It's now +3 and I just tested him and it's 289 so I'm a little relieved about that, but I have no idea why he would have been 518 tonight...especially since his pre-shot this morning was 245. He did not have a bowel movement today which is odd, so maybe that spiked it, or maybe this morning I did a furshot?? Other than that, I cannot figure out why. At least I can go to sleep tonight knowing that it's gone down.

It's possible he went much lower during the day - were you at work and unable to get any tests? It's really important to get additional tests during the day - a few more at night would also be very helpful. You'll want to know how low this dose is taking him.
 
Yes. I’m going to do additional tests today. After I do additional tests, do I need to decide if I’m going to do the TR or the SkGS before I change his dose?
 
It's helpful to decide on an approach to dosing sooner rather than later but it's not something you have to decide immediately. I'd read over the sticky a number of times. To some degree, the choice is a matter of lifestyle. TR is more demanding on the caregiver (CG). Because the reduction point is lower, it demands more monitoring and not everyone is able to or wants to follow the protocol. SLGS is more flexible but you have to understand what you're doing in order to make some of the decisions (vs TR where you should be following the guideline, especially at the beginning of this journey).

Right now, I don't think you have a ton of data that would sway you one way or the other. When I joined FDMB, pretty much the only option on the Lantus board was TR. As a result, I'm a big fan of the protocol especially since it's backed up by published research. However, SLGS has been on FDMB for a long time and many cats do well with it regardless of the insulin being used.

Oh! And if you don't mind, would you start a new thread for today? We encourage one thread per cat per day. Remember to link this thread to the new thread so you can backtrack to find information.
 
Thank you. I’m going to read this over today but I’m concerned because his numbers are going up. This morning he was 425. I understand that I have to decide if I’m going with TR or SLGS but in the meantime I’m worried about these numbers. I’m going to try to do a curve or at least some midcycle testing today, but really feeling like I should up his dose to .75. He’s also hungry an hour or so after shots which doesn’t make sense because I make sure he eats before shooting.
 
Back
Top