? Huge bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andreea&Tilica

Member Since 2017
Hi all,

Today I shot 1.5 hour earlier and he dropped from 353 to 111. I know it can act as an overdose but his BG was rising . I did the same for a few times but did not happen to fall by more than 100mg in 2 hours. At +2 he ate 10 g dry food 16% carbs, at +3 he ate the same. My husband didn't give him honey or something like that.
In the past when I gave himr honey the BG didn't explode so much....Tonight I shot 1.6 to get out the bounce but at +2 he was at 474.
Starting tomorrow should I ishoot 1.5 or less, or maybe 1.6?
Thanks for your opinions.

Last post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-21-tilica-amps-332-10-246-pmps-259.181033/
 
Lantus dose best with consistent dosing. Looks like you've been playing with dose amounts, as well as the times. Since you are following SLGS, and he got a 41 on the 1.6 units, you should be shooting the lower dose. In fact, that 41 on the 7th earned him a 0.25 unit reduction. Shoot the new lower dose next cycle (tomorrow), and hold the same dose for at least 7 days, unless he earns another reduction. Then look at what nadirs you have been getting and decide if you need to change the dose.
 
Lantus dose best with consistent dosing. Looks like you've been playing with dose amounts, as well as the times. Since you are following SLGS, and he got a 41 on the 1.6 units, you should be shooting the lower dose. In fact, that 41 on the 7th earned him a 0.25 unit reduction. Shoot the new lower dose next cycle (tomorrow), and hold the same dose for at least 7 days, unless he earns another reduction. Then look at what nadirs you have been getting and decide if you need to change the dose.
Thanks Wendy, but I noticed that if I donțt increase the dose he remains at 300-400 flat, thatțs why I shot 1,6 for clearing the bounce. When his Bg dropped I shot less for prevent a big drop. Tomorrow I'll shoot 1,5 but the protocol does not fully work in his case.
 
Hi Andrea, I agree with Wendy, his dose is probably too high. The high numbers are the bounces, the BG numbers that you need to look at are the low ones. He is a big bouncer, so it is confusing, but keep in mind that it's not the pre-shot number that you need to focus on, once his body gets used to dark greens numbers mid cycle on the correct dose those number will start going down as he bounces less. Right now it looks like his body is just protecting itself from too much insulin with those bounces. You are testing very well, so there is very good data to look at. Great job...
 
Hi Andrea, I agree with Wendy, his dose is probably too high. The high numbers are the bounces, the BG numbers that you need to look at are the low ones. He is a big bouncer, so it is confusing, but keep in mind that it's not the pre-shot number that you need to focus on, once his body gets used to dark greens numbers mid cycle on the correct dose those number will start going down as he bounces less. Right now it looks like his body is just protecting itself from too much insulin with those bounces. You are testing very well, so there is very good data to look at. Great job...
Hi Nat , thanks for advice. I don't consider the preshot number when I decide on the dose, I kept the the higher dose this week because he remains flat for days if the dose is lower. I'm wondering if he has another health problem that causes this continue bounce. Excepting urea that is high due to dehydration caused by diabetes, the other blood tests are in normal ranges.
 
Hi Andreea, long time no see!

How about this time you do follow the advise from Wendy to the letter?

You see, dear, you meddle with the dose so often that you actually still is at the square one...at the beginning.. after all these times...
Give it a try - take the dose and stick with it for a week. Take tests. Be METHODICAL as per SLGL.

I truly believe it worth your while. If you panic - we have complementary patience pants on lend. Let us know. And always post. :bighug:

My very best wishes to you and sweet Tilica!
You can pull it guys, I know you can!:bighug:
 
Hi Andreea, long time no see!

How about this time you do follow the advise from Wendy to the letter?

You see, dear, you meddle with the dose so often that you actually still is at the square one...at the beginning.. after all these times...
Give it a try - take the dose and stick with it for a week. Take tests. Be METHODICAL as per SLGL.

I truly believe it worth your while. If you panic - we have complementary patience pants on lend. Let us know. And always post. :bighug:

My very best wishes to you and sweet Tilica!
You can pull it guys, I know you can!:bighug:
Hi Tanya , nice to see you. I played with the doses because I noticed that the protocol should be adjusted to his case. When I kept the dose for more than a few days, he was hanging in high numbers.
I deacresed the dose slightly to 1.5 , which I will keep for at least 4-5 days:) so we will see if it works.
:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top