Hypo numbers with no symptoms

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Calli & Layla, Jul 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Calli & Layla

    Calli & Layla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Unfortunately I don't have a curve yet for my Layla, but as a quick update she was diagnosed in June and has been on PZI for about a month now. She had a flucosamine check last week that was high so she was increased from 1 to 1.5U every 12. She had a low AMPS yesterday (I wasn't reliably home testing but the increase made me nervous) so I held her shot yesterday morning. PMPS was in the 200s and today's AMPS was 330. Tonight PMPS was 38! I tested twice to make sure. She is acting okay and ate a good amount of food and a recheck 20 min later was 43. And apparently I am out of strips so I'm making a quick trip to Wal-Mart. I'm thinking maybe the increase was too much? These are the lowest numbers I've seen.
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, it seems that increase was too much. Why not try eyeballing 1.25 u when you give her next dose.
     
  3. Calli & Layla

    Calli & Layla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    We are up to 57 - obviously no shot tonight and she's eating a little more. How often and how many times should I test before I can breathe? :p
     
  4. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Id lower back to one and get a lot more tests. The increase was just based on the fructosamine test.... That's not a reliable judge of what's happening in a day.... Could be high from bouncing from going too low! Do you have some higher carb food you could give
     
  5. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Maybe wait an hour and retest?
     
    Rachel likes this.
  6. Calli & Layla

    Calli & Layla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    I don't right now but I will grab some tonight. I ran home without thinking to get some from Wal-Mart. Ugh!
     
  7. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    You want three tests over 50 rising on their own. But you haven't shot since this morning, so I can't see it really going down at this point
     
  8. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
  9. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    As Janet says, you haven't shot since this morning, so really the insulin SHOULD be out of her by now. I'd get another test in before relaxing, but I think you'll be okay.
     
    Djamila likes this.
  10. Calli & Layla

    Calli & Layla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    That's my thought too, especially since she's eating fine and otherwise acting normal. Just scary to see those numbers! The low yesterday morning was 73 I think, so I wasn't as concerned but I still didn't shoot. I'll back off on the shot tomorrow and so a better curve to see where we are at.

    Side note, in these instances should I just wait until the am normal time or should I shoot early to prevent a rebound high? It would kind of throw the timing groove off which can be a struggle anyway with work schedules and what not but I hope this doesn't set her back at all with super bouncy numbers :(
     
  11. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    bounces happen but they pass. I'd just wait until usual time.
     
  12. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Just stay on schedule and don't shoot tonight :). Also you can take down the 911 since it's been a couple hours and you got some eyes on the thread. Top right ish, "thread tools" click "edit title", then you can remove 911 or change it to a "?".

    I also agree to drop back the dose to 1.0 or 1.25U. This is why AMPS and PMPS tests are the most important :cat:

    From your first thread on Main, Post #5 I gave you a bunch of links :smuggrin:. It has the Food chart, SS template, Signature instructions, and Hypo instructions :)
    Here's the link to that thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feeding-issues.179798/
     
  13. Calli & Layla

    Calli & Layla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Yup I will update all those things when I have time. Her AMPS this morning was 303 but I only gave 1u and will see where we are!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page