The reason we are holding doses for 8-10 cycles when a cat is new to blue, and again when they are new to green, is because we want to see if this current dose might be the one that causes a breakthrough.
Let's say your cat hits a nadir of 80 then he bounces. 80 isn't bad, let's see if he can do it again. Hold the dose until that bounce clears, usually 2-3 days. If the bounce clears and he hits a nadir of 80 again, great! That's a good nadir for now, let's see if he can do it again. I would hold the dose again and see what happens. If that bounce clears and his nadir is, for example, 110, then 110 is ok but could be better. There's really no reason to wait around (we are looking for Tight Regulation, after all). If this dose isn't getting him back to good nadirs after a total of 8-10 cycles, it's time for the next dose. There are some cats who might need a couple of extra cycles, but for the most part if a dose isn't working then there is no reason to hold it longer than 8-10 cycles. If the dose IS working, then hold it as long as you can!