Jack 03/30 - AMPS 112

AngelaMiao

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS is 112 and I'm not sure what to do.

It's not that low of a number, I just have no idea how he got there. I fell asleep last night and didn't test past +3 since it looked like it was going to be uneventful and he'd been high for 2 days.

Since I know many of you are sleeping, I'm gonna wait 30 minutes before testing again and if I see he's on his way up, I'll give him his usual dose. Poor guys hungry but I'm not feeding him since that would falsely inflate the number, correct?

Only thing I changed yesterday was that I started adding PlaqueOff to his food, but I doubt it has anything to do with it.

UPDATES

+12.5 was 110 so not much of a change. Still haven't shot.

+13.5 was 104

Ended up giving him food at +13.75 because he hadn't eaten in over 9hrs and I'm not sure if that's keeping his sugar down. Will wait for the food to kick in, test and then wait a bit more to see where he's at after the food spike.

 
Last edited:
Yesterday

AMPS is 112 and I'm not sure what to do.

It's not that low of a number, I just have no idea how he got there. I fell asleep last night and didn't test past +3 since it looked like it was going to be uneventful and he'd been high for 2 days.

Since I know many of you are sleeping, I'm gonna wait 30 minutes before testing again and if I see he's on his way up, I'll give him his usual dose. Poor guys hungry but I'm not feeding him since that would falsely inflate the number, correct?

Only thing I changed yesterday was that I started adding PlaqueOff to his food, but I doubt it has anything to do with it.

UPDATES

+12.5 was 110 so not much of a change. Still haven't shot.

+13.5 was 104

Ended up giving him food at +13.75 because he hadn't eaten in over 9hrs and I'm not sure if that's keeping his sugar down. Will wait for the food to kick in, test and then wait a bit more to see where he's at after the food spike.
I am sorry no one has responded yet. Not eating for 9 hours will definitely keep sugar lower. I wish I could offer sound advice on this but do not have enough experience myself yet to advise on dosing. I imagine you made a decision by now. Would be good to have someone still respond so you know.

Here is guidance for TR lower pre shot numbers
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
 
I chickened out and gave him 1 unit at +15. I had given him food around +14.5 and it brought him up to 7.7 but I couldn't tell if it was a food spike. It's been 2hrs and now he's at 7.4.

Not sure how to proceed today. Vet said I should have given him the full dose when he went up but I was too scared. Should I give him the rest of his dose or wait until tonight to give him a full dose? Now my timing is off, so I'm confused
 
I chickened out and gave him 1 unit at +15. I had given him food around +14.5 and it brought him up to 7.7 but I couldn't tell if it was a food spike. It's been 2hrs and now he's at 7.4.

Not sure how to proceed today. Vet said I should have given him the full dose when he went up but I was too scared. Should I give him the rest of his dose or wait until tonight to give him a full dose? Now my timing is off, so I'm confused
Tagging @Wendy&Neko for guidance at this point...

Wendy, sorry to keep tagging you, but I know you know your stuff:)
 
Looks like you had a similar PS shot on 3/22 :) But I definitely understand the hesitation! Especially since Jack didn't move even with stalling. If you had time to monitor the cycle, lots of test strips, and HC food, then giving the full dose could be doable.

I wouldn't give him the rest of his shot but your next shot will have to be 12 hours after your last one. Then after that, you can slowly move up your shot time by 30 minute (once a day) or 15 minute (twice a day) increments until you're back to your desired schedule.
 
I guess I got thrown off because he looked like he was bouncing before I went to bed so I didn't compare it to 3/22 where he had been dropping since AMPS
 
Should I go back to his usual dose at the next shot?

I'm not comfortable giving dosing advice but I can only say Jack hasn't earned a reduction as per TR. 7.2 is a good and safe number. Just a number you might not be used to seeing at shot time. Someone should chime in eventually today with advice. For now, I'd grab a test at +2 to see where Jack is at.

I guess I got thrown off because he looked like he was bouncing before I went to bed so I didn't compare it to 3/22 where he had been dropping since AMPS

Yes, definitely I understand! That's why it was good that you stalled to see if he was going up or down but he was holding steady.
 
Wendy, sorry to keep tagging you, but I know you know your stuff
So do others, best to change the subject line asking for help. I was out rowing on the ocean several kilometres from land when you tagged me. Without my phone. :p

Glad you went back to the regular dose. In future, and Jack will do this again to you :cat:, once you have stalled and he is on his way up, and you are home to monitor with plenty of high carb food and test strips, TR would have you shoot as long as he is above 50. Eventually you will get to the point where you have enough data you do not need to stall. His meal will bump him up some, plus there is still a couple hours before the insulin takes effect. Shoot low to stay low. When you shoot lower numbers, the cycle is much flatter.
 
So do others, best to change the subject line asking for help. I was out rowing on the ocean several kilometres from land when you tagged me. Without my phone. :p

Glad you went back to the regular dose. In future, and Jack will do this again to you :cat:, once you have stalled and he is on his way up, and you are home to monitor with plenty of high carb food and test strips, TR would have you shoot as long as he is above 50. Eventually you will get to the point where you have enough data you do not need to stall. His meal will bump him up some, plus there is still a couple hours before the insulin takes effect. Shoot low to stay low. When you shoot lower numbers, the cycle is much flatter.
I am not even going to ask, rowing in the ocean? People row in lakes, ocean sounds dangerous:nailbiting: I saw you are in BC, supposed to be lovely there. I will keep in mind to suggest changing subject in future. Thx
 
When you stall and see that the numbers are increasing more than a +20% differential, shoot! LOL Those lower numbers are gifts because Lantus is not good at pulling down higher numbers, but rather than keeping lower numbers flat. This will happen again, so now you know.
 
Back
Top