Mel & Monkey
Member Since 2017
Was hoping for some guidance on whether or not to shoot if Monkey's BG was 10.1 for her AMPS just now. Her spreadsheet is up to date if someone could please advise??
I did forget to ask if Monkey was ever diagnosed with DKA or has tested positive for ketones. If that were true, we would suggest getting some insulin in her. If you aren't testing for ketones, you should be, especially with her still getting some high numbers.
Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers low. If you shoot with a lower preshot number, you'll see much flatter cycles. Take a look at some other spreadsheets and posts from other people to get an idea of what happens when people shoot lower. You will have to slowly lower the number at which you feel comfortable. Maybe even a 1/2 dose to start is one option.
these curveballs are exactly why we always say to test before a preshot.Thanks, I just started checking for ketones the other day and she is negative, and no history of DKA either thankfully. I decided to skip this morning because it's already 30 min past her shot time and just to be safe because I've never seen her have an AMPS (or PMPS) even close to that before. That is good to know about shooting low on Lantus creating a flatter cycle though, my fear of course was that it would just make her nosedive too low. More to learn everyday about FD!