Jul 27 - Monkey - AMPS 106, +1 126, +2 59, +4 61 +4:30 76, +8 221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel & Monkey

Member Since 2017
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...shooting-on-blue-nervous.181334/#post-2009748

Yesterday was my first time shooting on blue but today she's at only 106 for her AMPS ---- what do I do??

edit:
I'm just about to test again but thought I should add that she had diarrhea last night for the first time and I'm not sure if that affects giving insulin like vomiting would?

edit 2: she just brought up a huge hairball but no vomit
 
Last edited:
Wait 20-30 minutes, without feeding, and test again to see if she is coming up.

half an hour later w no food she's at 119 (6.6) and she's just had a big hairball (but no vomit with it), which I assume led to her diarrhea last night. Not sure what to do still :(
 
If yes to the above questions, you can do one of three things. You can shoot the full dose, then get a +1 and a +2. When they start lower, the cycles are usually flatter. On TR, we shoot anything above 50. If you are feeling nervous, you can give a 1/2 dose, but know that the first part of the cycle may play out the same due to the depot. I would still get the early tests. Third option is a skip, but not ideal if you are home to keep an eye on her.

What do you feel like doing?
 
As long as it's a usual part of TR and my discomfort is just me getting used to shooting lower, I'd definitely prefer to keep her on track and get her pancreas healing because I'm always around to test. So I can go ahead and feed and then shoot her regular 0.5U, and like yesterday post her +1 and +2?
 
+2 was 59 (3.3) so I'm giving her some of her low carb wet and retesting in 20 mins - do I need to get out the high carb?
 
Get it out and ready, maybe put a tsp on her on her wet food. This is early in the cycle to be diving.
 
tested 20 mins after giving her more food and she was 56, put a few tsps of the high carb on top of her low carb and she's snacking some more. Do I test again in 20? Or 30?
 
I wouldn't. It takes longer for the effects of kibble to get out of the system. Consider it a last resort.

What are you using for HC? If it's the gravy kind of food, give her more gravy than food - that's where the carbs are. At least a tablespoon. Retest in 30.
 
I can't seem to separate the gravy from the bits of meat in the turkey fancy feast with gravy that I got for this and because she's not used to chunky food instead of pate it's hard to get her to eat it. I've mixed in some pate with it so hopefully she'll get the gravy that way? I'm really worried and regretting shooting today
 
It's going to be okay. She's not dropping fast at all - that is a very small drop, and a perfectly safe number. Do you have any syrup - karo or honey? You could add that to the highest carb pate you have instead.
 
She's getting tired of me putting food in her face so she didn't eat much just now but I'll test again in 15 mins
 
I have to leave to take my kittens in for their rabies shots, but Wendy should be back shortly. If you have any concerns, you can always put a ? on your subject line and ask your question. Use 911 only if Monkey lives up to her name and pulls a sneaky, steep dive! I know it's scary, but this is what you need to do to get Monkey into healthy numbers more consistently. Nice work!
 
I'll look for that next test. You may found it useful to note on the spreadsheet, maybe the Remarks section, when you feed extra or high carb food and how much. This will stand you in good stead in the future, to figure out how much you need to bring Monkey the next time she goes low.
 
I can't seem to separate the gravy from the bits of meat in the turkey fancy feast with gravy that I got for this and because she's not used to chunky food instead of pate it's hard to get her to eat it

Next time, pop the top and put it back down....turn the can over and "squeeze" the gravy into another bowl.....it's messy, but it works and leaves most of the "meaty parts" in the can with the majority of the high carb gravy in the bowl

Then you can just spoon a teaspoon or two of the gravy to help get the numbers up when you need to
 
The carbs from high carb wet last around two hours. So if it's been over two hours, the carbs have worn off and she is coming up on her own. She spent some good time in the pancreas healing range today. :)
 
Given how this has played out today, should I reduce to 0.25U? I'm not sure how to stay awake 24/7 (though let me tell you, since she's been diagnosed I've done almost that and I'm losing my marbles) to make sure if she drops like that again for hours that I'm constantly feeding and testing throughout the night. What is the protocol/usual?
 
With TR, the cat must earn a reduction by going below 50. There have been exceptions made, though.

With that said, Monkey is bouncing from the 52. You should be safe to shoot 0.5u tonight and get a good night's sleep with the bounce.

However, @Wendy&Neko may have a different response and I would take her opinion over mine because of her experience.
 
On SLGS you would reduce. On TR you would hold the dose until you see an under 50. There is a chance she will bounce tonight which will let you sleep. But we also say that you have to take care of you to take care of Monkey. If you need to sleep and her preshot makes you nervous, either skip or reduce the dose tonight. Alternatively, you can try a reduction and see if it holds. It is really up to you to decide what you can do.

If you do shoot full dose, I would get at least a +3 or 4 tonight. Her +2 last night was lower than her preshot be quite a bit, so she likely had an active cycle last night. You also have an option of leaving lots of food out, including higher carb, to keep her safe, if you know she will eat it.
 
On SLGS you would reduce. On TR you would hold the dose until you see an under 50. There is a chance she will bounce tonight which will let you sleep. But we also say that you have to take care of you to take care of Monkey. If you need to sleep and her preshot makes you nervous, either skip or reduce the dose tonight. Alternatively, you can try a reduction and see if it holds. It is really up to you to decide what you can do.

If you do shoot full dose, I would get at least a +3 or 4 tonight. Her +2 last night was lower than her preshot be quite a bit, so she likely had an active cycle last night. You also have an option of leaving lots of food out, including higher carb, to keep her safe, if you know she will eat it.

This must sound like such a dense question, but what is an active cycle? And how much below is a +2 BG from a preshot that would indicate them having one?
 
The only dense question is one unasked. Active cycle is one where they might go lower and need extra monitoring or at least plenty of food left out. Look at today's numbers. Going down 10-20% from preshot might be active.
 
The only dense question is one unasked. Active cycle is one where they might go lower and need extra monitoring or at least plenty of food left out. Look at today's numbers. Going down 10-20% from preshot might be active.

So there are cycles where if the +2 or +3 isn't going down as much where you know it's okay not to test?
 
We have a saying here "know thy cat". For most cats, if the +2 is higher, you are Ok with relaxing the testing. The +2 rule did not work with Neko. There were a couple times on Lantus where her +2/3 was also higher and yet she earned a reduction later on in the cycle. But her onset and nadir were later than most cats. I recommend getting a few later tests when you see if the +2 is higher, and see if you can see what Monkey does. Knowing her onset and nadir will help you figure out how to test strategically, and when you don't need to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top