Looking for support/advice regarding Lantus dosage and BG that just won't go down :-(

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Tahirah & Fidget, Jun 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tahirah & Fidget

Tahirah & Fidget New Member

Hello!

Fidget and I just made it through our 10th day together post-diagnosis and I am still learning and being an overly concerned cat-mum.

We did our first curve test on Sunday as per my vet's request, and I emailed her the results the next day. Right now he's one 1u of Lantus twice a day and eating FF mixed into his DM until he adjusts fully. I hadn't heard back from her since I sent my test info to her (aside from the vet tech thanking me and letting me know she forwarded it along), so after three days (today) I sent a follow up regarding his dosage and if it would be bumped up as his numbers are still quite high. Over the last two days especially he's back in the red and I'm just feeling really down. I don't feel comfortable upping his dosage on my own, because I don't know yet how much is too much for him. But until my vet gets back to me, I was hoping to get some support or advice that he'll be okay. The higher his BG goes the harder it is for him to walk with his back legs so I can usually tell when it's going to be in the red. It's breaking my heart not seeing any progress after the first week when he was dropping quite a bit.

Robert Vittetoe likes this.
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi.
    You are doing a great job testing and looking after Fidget. It is always overwhelming in the beginning. Hang in there. There is a lot of support and knowledge here.
    I would increase the dose to 1.25 units twice a day. We recommend going up in 0.25 unit increments.