Marcus - dosing question

Rebecca Yody

Member Since 2019
I know I am being a pest but its less than an hour to shot time. 2 hours before he tested at 106 based on his night numbers I am worried about what to give him. 1.00 or less ?
 
I'm confused by your SS - I'm changing my comment - he earned a reduction last night...

Are you going to be home and able to monitor tonight? Is Marcus eating well?

Could you change your title to include the date/cat name/ AMPS ###

Looks like you shot a 102 this morning with no problem...
 
what is confusing ? I was giving him 1.25. This morning I reduced to 1.0. What do I give tonight ?? Last night he went really low.
 
sorry that sounded really short... I did not mean that

No problem....I know you're short on time and I misread the SS - so my first comment was inaccurate - so I revised it...so we're kinda typing and replying at the same moment...

If you're home tonight and able to monitor - and he's eating well - and you're prepared with medium/high carb foods...you should be okay to shoot 1 unit.
 
I just don't want to mess him up. I am thinking 1.0 but I am worried cause he drops so low at night.

I see that he went low last night and earned a reducie...so tonight if you're worried, please get a 1,2,3+ and see which way he's heading. If he's dropping down, then start steering with food to bring him up.
 
Thank you so much. Again please forgive me for sounding abrupt you are all a god send and I am very grateful for all of you help.

No worries at all! It's Saturday night - and the weekend sometimes precludes a lot of people from being here to help. And you're pressed for time...

Let's see what his PMPS is - if he's down again - we can rethink that insulin - how about that? Just something to include in your planning process...he may very well be in an active cycle and heading down....let's see - what time zone are you in? How long before you have to draw your dose up?
 
Hi Rebecca.
Just seeing your PM asking for help.
First of all you are not being a pest. We want you to post and ask for help. That is what we are here for.

it is good you got a +10 because we will be able to see at Preshot if he is rising.
How long til Preshot?
 
Looking back at the 2019 SS I can see twice in the recent past where Marcus dropped below 68 and you didn’t take a reduction. It is important when reductions are earnt that they are taken. Otherwise there is a risk of dropping too low. On the alphatrak dropping below 68 earns a reduction in dose.
 
I actually had to work today and was gone until 5:00 that's why no tests but I did feed before I left, I had food for him during the day which he ate and then I gave him some at 600 and gave him his shot while he was still eating. I will check more tomorrow during the afternoon hours.
 
I actually had to work today and was gone until 5:00 that's why no tests but I did feed before I left, I had food for him during the day which he ate and then I gave him some at 600 and gave him his shot while he was still eating. I will check more tomorrow during the afternoon hours.
I was aware you worked today. There was no criticism at all. Just commenting that he may have dropped lower because he had an AMPS of 102 and a +11 of 106 so most likely dropped lower during the cycle, and that he may be bouncing now with a Preshot of 177.
Its all good data.
I would definitely leave him food out when you are not there. And if the numbers are on the low side you can leave some medium carb food out for him.
Have you thought about a timed feeder. They can be invaluable. I used one every day.
 
We talk in +2 +4 etc hours here as we all live in different countries. I am in Australia so tomes mean nothing to me but +hours make sense :D
 
These are the numbers that scare me... that's why I was worrying about what to give him I love he is testing low but .. this is really low he is NOT lethargic he is moving around purring and he does want his food ..
 
have you got another test? if not, test immediately.
49 on an alphatrak is too low.
you want him above 68.
feed a tsp of high carb food - just the gravy part - with a drop or two of karo or honey added.
 
have you got another test? if not, test immediately.
49 on an alphatrak is too low.
you want him above 68.
feed a tsp of high carb food - just the gravy part - with a drop or two of karo or honey added.
Please be sure and update us. Give him 15-20 after he eats HC gravy sign Karo and then test again and let us know.
 
Ok gave food and honey..tested 30 minutes later 67 1 hour later 86
Keep testing because the HC food and the honey wears off in an hour to an hour and a half and Marcus could drop again.
When you get a drop like you did this evening from PMPS 177 to +2 118, you need to test again an hour later, because Marcus was dropping quite fast.
 
Ok gave food and honey..tested 30 minutes later 67 1 hour later 86
Good. Thank you. You will need to stay on top of the testing for the next few hours because HC wears off about 2 hours after you give it. That means his BG could drop back down again. You also want to be sure he eats but doesn’t overeat in case he drops back down again. I would suggest a small amount of low carb food to see if you can help those numbers from falling back down.

To underline what Bron said, it’s always important to test more often if the +1 or +2 is similar to or less than the preshot. That is a clear signal that you will have an active cycle and the BG can drop fast and suddenly.

Even though you just reduced the dose, with a number that low on the AT, you will need to reduce by another 0.25u in the morning so the new dose will be 0.75u.
 
Ok thank u so much for all the help... I am so greatfull for all the help .. this is so nerve racking and scarey my vet is not supportive of home testing or .25 doses I am looking for a new one now .. I don't know where we would be with out u
 
We are so glad you have found us and we are very happy to help.
Keep posting and asking for help.
If you are ever unsure, always post and ask.
If you test and find the BG is lower than before, always test again to check it is not dropping further.
Keeping Marcus safe is the main priority.
 
this am Marcus tested 149 I gave him .75 and I will check and update at +2

Please start a new condo for today;

Use this format: 1/5 Marcus AMPS ### -
copy and paste the url of this one into the top line of your new post - add comments.

Otherwise, this one will run along endlessly...

Thank you!
 
Back
Top