Mimi 6/4 AMPS 188 +4 210, PMPS 223 - going back to work monday.. nervous to leave her:(

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-low-mimi-5-29-am-12-79.230224/#post-2576998

The reason I have a going back to work with a frown is because I can't incessantly watch out for Mimi during the day.

I have to understand that I might test her at +6 and she could be in the 60s, which is what we want right? that would be a nadir, it would start to rise from there? I just get so nervous now not being able to spot check her at nadirs- I guess the only way to do that is to wake up in the middle of the night to get nadir tests? I know I can always get a +1, maybe even a +2, and sometimes will get +11 when I am back to work, but I don't know how I will get nadirs during the day. I do work about 12 minutes from home, so I could race home and test her but these next few weeks I will be slammed busy all day- (I'm a hair dresser)

I guess through all of my rambling I just want to stop my fear of leaving her with numbers in the low 100s or 80s, 90s, because that's where I want her to try and get so shes tightly regulated right?

@carfurby

@Marje and Gracie

@Wendy&Neko

any insight is always greatly appreciated!

Also links to anyones SS that might help me see trends would be awesome too. I still don't really know how to do the search on here for some reason it doesn't bring me easily to where I want to go (even if I mark it as saved or watched- Im still trying to understand what that means)
 
What hours will you be away? Can you tweak your shot time so that you can get a +3? What about an auto feeder set to go off so she eats in between?

Your clients will be so happy to see you. I got my hair cut, colored, and highlights last week and I was thrilled.
 
Trends for another cat won't help you figure out Mimi. Remember ECID, each cat is different. You have to figure out Mimi's trends.

As Elise said, even getting a +2 will give you a heads up what the cycle will look like and let you know if you need something higher carb in the autofeeder. Have you read this post: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
 
Trends for another cat won't help you figure out Mimi. Remember ECID, each cat is different. You have to figure out Mimi's trends.

As Elise said, even getting a +2 will give you a heads up what the cycle will look like and let you know if you need something higher carb in the autofeeder. Have you read this post: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
yes, Ive seen that post before but always forget how to find it! I mean I don't think I am looking at the right link.
 
So what shes saying in the post is she doesn't always get nadirs during the day (or at all) because shes working but will try and get more numbers at night time? And then saying if she wasn't able to get enough numbers to wait to increase, so its kind of like a hybrid of SLGS and TR? ( I mean if I want to look at it that way) especially if shes doing a curve once a week- isn't that a SLGS thing? Should I be doing curves? I don't think I've done them in a really long time because of all of the spot checks I get, but maybe I should? What would doing a curve look like (I mean how do I properly do a curve)? Also, is SLGS a better option for people that just have busy schedules? I don't know if I could only test AM or PM and not randomly during a cycle and just do a curve once a week, so thats why I think TR is kind of always going to be in there somehow?
Good article though, Im going to study it !
 
What hours will you be away? Can you tweak your shot time so that you can get a +3? What about an auto feeder set to go off so she eats in between?

Your clients will be so happy to see you. I got my hair cut, colored, and highlights last week and I was thrilled.
I tailored my schedule so I should be able to alway get a +1, +2, and hopefully I can scoot home once in a while if I get a moment to test during mid cycle., but the best thing I can think of which is what I was doing was just waking up randomly in the night and giving her a test. Also posting more regularly on here again, so I have more communication with you guys on here on how shes doing!
 
At night if your before bed test is a big drop then set an alarm. If not I wouldn’t. Another thing people do is get a +11 and then a amps and one before work. That might help. You will figure it out. You haven’t needed curves while home. If Nn OT enough tests to figure out what’s happening you could do one once in a while on nonwork days.
 
so my other concern is this- I made a new condo for the day but wanted to address something here just because we were talking about it- I don't know how often I will be able to get +11 at night and if you look at what happened today- she read 52 at +10.5 (so just now)
I usually feed her all the way up until +6 but today I just did +4 because I remember Marje saying most cats are fed +1 +2 +3 to load them up on food- but I get nervous doing that with her because she seems to drop? Today wasn't an experiment I just fed her more of her food earlier because I had something to do and I didnt want to separate her and her brother because I really hate doing that if I can avoid it.. :( They've been together for all of their lives only until the last year when she got diabetic and I had to make sure he wasn't stealing her food from the auto feeder.

So my question is- why did she have a 52 reading so close to her next shot- does that have something to do with the depot? I still don't quite understand the depot- I need someone to like draw me a cartoon explaining it like I am a 5 year old. Or use an analogy to get me to understand it. I know its some reserve of medication but I don't understand how to apply it.

Do they nadir at different times every day? I remember there was a time she had like a twenty something pre PM shot. It seems shes more likely to do that, and leave me up at night swimming with the sharks. meaning if I see numbers in shark territory for during the day its usually right before her PM shot- and if I see her getting cozy in dangerous waters during her cycle- its usually at like +3, +4 and its in the middle of the night.. does that mean I am learning her cycle and this is her ECID routine or will she surprise me again with something else lol.

See THIS is why I am so scared to leave her!!
 
To make us crazy I think cats don’t always nadir at the sand time. I used to feed Max up to +4-6 depending on how the cycle went. Cats can also double dip and drop a second time at the end of the cycle. If Mini is lower than normal before you leave you could set a timed feeder to give her a little food later. I was lucky that I wasn’t working so I didn’t have to worry about this.
 
To make us crazy I think cats don’t always nadir at the sand time. I used to feed Max up to +4-6 depending on how the cycle went. Cats can also double dip and drop a second time at the end of the cycle. If Mini is lower than normal before you leave you could set a timed feeder to give her a little food later. I was lucky that I wasn’t working so I didn’t have to worry about this.

what do you mean lower than normal before I leave, can you give me an example? This is where I was telling @Sarah and Blaze how will I handle her dropping into greens say before she goes into remission- is it usually high greens that they stay safely in? Like, for example if I do AMPS is high greens- I don't do a +1 but if you look at Sarahs chart Blaze didnt drop (based on her +3, or +5) he stayed safely in the lagoon. How will I know Mimi will do that? Can she if I give her a little higher carb?


WAIT how am I not catching this stuff- her +2 was lower than her AMPS so that is an indicator she is likely to drop during the cycle....
oh man- I need to have this drilled into my head- if I can't get a +6, +7 etc, I need to make sure her +1 is higher than her AMPS, and her +2 is close to her PS, otherwise carb her up some.

So if her +10 tonight was in the low 50s, what could it have been at +6 or +7 you know? could she have been in the 20s or is that not really how it works- she wouldn't recover from such a low number- say her cycle went like this if I was able to test her every couple of hours- it just kept dipping from her last check +3, so +4 could have been mid to low blues, then +5 low blues, +6, high greens, etc as the hours went on. What causes that? the dose is just too much? Ill get @Marje and Gracie and @Wendy&Neko in on it too just so I don't drive you bananas with my worry. lol
 
I was lucky that Blaze started getting into good numbers right before the quarantine. I’ve been off work since 3/16, but just went back to work this week. I work Monday through Thursday and am away from home all day when I’m at work. Before the quarantine, I would occasionally be able to race home at lunch to grab a test but sometimes I couldn’t. So I adjusted my shot times to be a little earlier so I could get a +1-+2 before I left for work, and I would leave food in the auto feeder based off of the +1-+2 test. I would do my best to go home on my lunch to get another test if I had the time, I live about 20 minutes from work so it wasn’t always possible. I just did my best to get those tests before I left for work in the morning and gave LC, MC or HC snacks based on the BG.
And at night I would always get a +2 and +3 before I went to bed. Once Blaze started getting into better numbers, I wouldn’t get a +1 at night to try and catch any drops in that first hour after dinner. But always Pm +2 and +3. And I would put snacks in the auto feeder based off of his BG in the evenings too. If he dropped quickly or went low, I stayed up longer to test more frequently and feed to get his numbers up. But I do not function very well at work with little sleep so I had my limits with staying up late. I would get Blaze up to numbers I was comfortable with and I would leave MC or Hc snacks in the auto feeder to keep him safe so I could go to bed.
 
I was lucky that Blaze started getting into good numbers right before the quarantine. I’ve been off work since 3/16, but just went back to work this week. I work Monday through Thursday and am away from home all day when I’m at work. Before the quarantine, I would occasionally be able to race home at lunch to grab a test but sometimes I couldn’t. So I adjusted my shot times to be a little earlier so I could get a +1-+2 before I left for work, and I would leave food in the auto feeder based off of the +1-+2 test. I would do my best to go home on my lunch to get another test if I had the time, I live about 20 minutes from work so it wasn’t always possible. I just did my best to get those tests before I left for work in the morning and gave LC, MC or HC snacks based on the BG.
And at night I would always get a +2 and +3 before I went to bed. Once Blaze started getting into better numbers, I wouldn’t get a +1 at night to try and catch any drops in that first hour after dinner. But always Pm +2 and +3. And I would put snacks in the auto feeder based off of his BG in the evenings too. If he dropped quickly or went low, I stayed up longer to test more frequently and feed to get his numbers up. But I do not function very well at work with little sleep so I had my limits with staying up late. I would get Blaze up to numbers I was comfortable with and I would leave MC or Hc snacks in the auto feeder to keep him safe so I could go to bed.


so when you say snacks what do you mean? Like what is Blaze typical feeding schedule?
 
what was that? the skinny and fat shots?
The feeding and testing schedule. Mini does not seem to get a big food bump so a+2 should give you an idea as to whether to put lc, mc, or hc in the feeder. I never got any answers from a +1 but found a +2.5-3 helpful.
 
what do you mean?
Whoops, I meant to say I WOULD get a +1 at night to try to catch any big drops when he started to see lower numbers. I eventually stopped doing +1 tests in the evenings because it usually only showed me a food bump.
 
Last edited:
so when you say snacks what do you mean? Like what is Blaze typical feeding schedule?
So I give him 1/3-1/2 of a can of Friskies paté for breakfast and for dinner and then I put small snacks in the auto feeder at +2, +4, +6 and +9 for the day time cycle and same thing for night time cycle. For the snacks in the auto feeder, it’s about 1/3 a can of Friskie’s paté split between 4 bowls in the auto feeder.
 
The feeding and testing schedule. Mini does not seem to get a big food bump so a+2 should give you an idea as to whether to put lc, mc, or hc in the feeder. I never got any answers from a +1 but found a +2.5-3 helpful.
Same here, I don’t usually get an idea of where Blaze is going with the +1 either, its usually just a food bump. The +2 and +3 are more helpful to see where Blaze is going, but I know some people see big drops in the +1. On some days that I go to work, I can only get a +1-+1.5 so I do it just to get the extra test but on days off or in the evening, I don’t typically get a +1 test for the same reason Elise.
 
You don’t have to feed the same amount as I do, you will have to figure out how much Mimi needs to eat based off her weight and then you can decide how much to feed for breakfast and dinner and how much to feed for her small snacks.
 
So I give him 1/3-1/2 of a can of Friskies paté for breakfast and for dinner and then I put small snacks in the auto feeder at +2, +4, +6 and +9 for the day time cycle and same thing for night time cycle. For the snacks in the auto feeder, it’s about 1/3 a can of Friskie’s paté split between 4 bowls in the auto feeder.
So you gave her the bulk of the food at PS and then the same amount again but broken up throughout the day?
 
So you gave her the bulk of the food at PS and then the same amount again but broken up throughout the day?
Yes. I don’t know how much you feed Mimi, so your food size might be different. 1/3 a can of Friskies at breakfast and dinner and then about 1/3 of a can split into 4 snacks in the auto feeder for the day time cycle and about 1/3 of a can split into 4 snacks in the auto feeder. If I do more than that, Blaze starts gaining weight so I found this amount to be good to maintain his weight. But you can find that formula that tells you how much you should be feeding based off your cats weight, and then divide that number between the amount of meals and snacks you’ll feed. You also don’t have to do 4 snacks during each cycle, you can figure out what works best for you guys.
 
Yes. I don’t know how much you feed Mimi, so your food size might be different. 1/3 a can of Friskies at breakfast and dinner and then about 1/3 of a can split into 4 snacks in the auto feeder for the day time cycle and about 1/3 of a can split into 4 snacks in the auto feeder. If I do more than that, Blaze starts gaining weight so I found this amount to be good to maintain his weight. But you can find that formula that tells you how much you should be feeding based off your cats weight, and then divide that number between the amount of meals and snacks you’ll feed. You also don’t have to do 4 snacks during each cycle, you can figure out what works best for you guys.
Just looked at Blazes SS- congrats on the OTJ trial being successful!!!!

I feed Mimi this expensive raw formula- wonder if I switched her to fancy feast or friskies would she go into remission!? Wouldn’t that be something
 
Just looked at Blazes SS- congrats on the OTJ trial being successful!!!!

I feed Mimi this expensive raw formula- wonder if I switched her to fancy feast or friskies would she go into remission!? Wouldn’t that be something
Thank you! Today is day 6 and I’m still so nervous every day!:nailbiting:

I’m sure raw is an awesome diet for her! I wish I could do that, but I have three cats and it might get expensive for all of them. Friskie’s paté and FF paté have worked great for them and Blaze loves it!
 
Thank you! Today is day 6 and I’m still so nervous every day!:nailbiting:

I’m sure raw is an awesome diet for her! I wish I could do that, but I have three cats and it might get expensive for all of them. Friskie’s paté and FF paté have worked great for them and Blaze loves it!

how did you know to feed him a larger meal and the small snacks throughout the day- like, I give Mimi a bigger mean at +3.+4 to get her through nadirs- but j also have no real clue what to do. I could never find a sticky on feeding schedule- did you?
 
how did you know to feed him a larger meal and the small snacks throughout the day- like, I give Mimi a bigger mean at +3.+4 to get her through nadirs- but j also have no real clue what to do. I could never find a sticky on feeding schedule- did you?
I don’t think I read a sticky about feeding, I just kind of figured out what works best for Blaze. He’s usually pretty hungry and meowing at breakfast and dinner time so it seemed like a good idea to make those times his larger meals of the days and the small snacks are like mini meals to help keep him surfing or dropping too much. You can do some experimenting when you’re home to test and figure out a good feeding schedule for Mimi. Like feed her a breakfast and then try feeding her small snacks every 2-3 hours and test throughout the day to find out what snack times help her surf. That’s pretty much what I did. Every cat is different so you have to find what works best for her.
 
Back
Top