? need dose suggestions for pet sitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
I am going away overnight on Saturday and I need advice on what dose to have my pet sitter give to Tennie while I am gone. I will be giving the Saturday AM dose and the sitter will give Sat. PM and Sunday AM. I will be back for the Sunday PM dose. She is a former vet tech. so she has experience testing and shooting.
If all goes as planned, she will be testing before shooting.

He is currently getting 8.75 U and we are seeing green's. He got a one time reduced dose of 7U earlier this week (he was in the green's when I shot and I couldn't stay home with him) and it didn't seem to affect him much at all.

What would be a good dose to have the sitter give him? I was thinking around 7U. Is 7U too much? Too little?
Should I give the sitter a "don't shoot below" number?

I have typed up specific instructions about testing, feeding and shooting, and will be leaving the "how to handle a hypo" directions, and a syringe filled with colored water as an example of whatever dose I decide on.
Am I missing anything else?

I would appreciate any advice that anyone has. Thanks!
 
I would think 3/4 of the normal dose sounds about right, and leaving it on an easy to measure dose (not a quarter unit that needs eye balling). Having the colored water example syringe is a good idea. And so is the "don't shoot" number, and if he won't eat or throws up, then you need to think about that too. I always just took my cat with me.
 
I agree with Sienne - he should be fine at 8U. That's almost a 10% reduction. When he got down to green on 7U, that was the depot of the previous shot talking. If you want to drain the depot a little bit more, you could shoot 8U on Saturday morning and then have the petsitter do the same on Saturday night/Sunday morning. That will also give you a chance to see what 8U is doing.

I hope you are doing something fun while you are gone!
 
I agree - i think 8u is low enough to keep him safe. The lowest he's gotten on 8.75u is 58, so unless he's not eating or feeling sick, or off in some way, I wouldn't think that he'd go below 50 on 8u.

Hard for me to imagine that he'll have a preshot of less than 150 on this dose, so that also seems like a good cut-off for the vet tech.

Have a great time on your weekend away! Enjoy sleeping all night and hopefully, sleeping in!
 
Thanks Wendy, and Julie.
We are going to my cousin's wedding. It should be fun!
I'm going to be shooting on Saturday Am right before I leave, so would it be better to start the 8U Friday night.? That would give him 4 cycles at 8U. It would drain his depot more, so I am not sure if that would be good or bad.

It does seem highly unlikely that he would go below 150 on 8U. But I am starting to realize that nothing ever goes as planned by me. Tennie seems to have his own agenda sometimes.
 
I wanted to be safe while I was away, so I cut Spartacus' dose to half when an infrequent sitter was shooting, and held the dose when Libby & Doug were keeping him. He seemed to stay pretty yellow/blue with John, but he & Hershey took turns with the slumber parties.

I would be inclined to do 3/4 if there won't be any/many mid-cycle tests. And be sure - if your syringes occasionally seem inconsistent - to have them pull back on the plunger to get an accurate dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top