? NEED MED ADVICE 3.14 Rufus AMPS 141, +5 138, +9 145, PMPS 242, +2 96 (AT2)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sean & Rufus, Mar 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Title says it all. Appetite still not back to where it should be. Maybe back on cerenia today?
     
  2. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Yay for poop! That must feel so much better Rufus!

    Now eat your fuds.
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  3. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Yay for poop! I think it can take a little bit of time for an appy to bounce back if the constipation was the cause of his appy dropping off. Has his appy picked up since you first posted?

    Not too bad of an AMPS...it could be related to the poop fiasco, too. Time will tell!
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  4. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    I did make him some new food about an hour later, and he ate most of it. I noticed that when he is on the bupe and super happy he'll eat a little better. I still think there is more in there that needs to come out. I'm going to continue the miralax and cisapride for a while. I'm going to make him some lunch soon and see how that goes. If he eats more then half, no cerenia, otherwise I'm going to givr him one.
     
  5. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Sounds like a plan. Part of the eating issue definitely could be his throat, and if the bupe is cutting that throat pain, he'll eat better. Yeah, a good clean-out can take a couple attempts. Lots of balls to juggle...
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  6. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Way too many :arghh:, but he seems better for the most part. Just need an appetite, eat solid foods, eat novel diet, and poop better!
     
    Amy&TrixieCat likes this.
  7. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Focus on the "seems better" part and everything else should fall into place. You're getting there!
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  8. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    I find it interesting that when Rufus is on pain meds his BG goes up?
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Not likely the pain meds. Unless they were compounded with sugar. When Neko started her chicken flavoured bupe, her numbers went down. Constipation typically raises the numbers. So does pain and when you address the pain, numbers go down.

    You have been juggling the dose around a bit lately. Could be some New Dose Wonkiness or the depot trying to settle down. Try picking a dose and sticking with it.

    Here is the link to yesterday's post. I tried to go back and get the story on Cerenia. Easier to do if the links are there.
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  10. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Keep forgetting that, oops!

    Yeah. I get that. Part of it is the stupid syringes and plungers not being level, part because the higher numbers give him a little more. Part because I'm kind of guessing what the dose is because it is SO SO hard to get a dose between .5 and .75 and 1.
     
  11. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    In case you didn't see about that, visited a new vet on Monday. She asked how long Rufus was on Cerenia, and I said 8 days. She freaked out and said after 4 days it can cause brain damage and to take him off od that and the onda. So no cerenia mon and tues. Put him back on today and it's going a little better. IM at specialist never said to stop the cerenia. I see there are differing opinions on here.
     
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I did see it. I thought I had replied. The "brain damage after 4 days" or not giving Cerenia every day is old school thinking. The current thinking is that Cerenia every day is fine, as long as there are no liver problems. Neko got Cerenia every day when she needed it.
    We determine dose by the nadirs, not preshots. It's easier if you just stick with the dosing method (SLGS) and give the same dose.
     
  13. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Maybe you did comment, it's been a long couple of days. When Rufus was in for the dental work in Feb, they had bloodwork from Nov. They said they wanted to redo it because one of his liver numbers was high(er). I'll have to put that on my list of things to ask specialist about.

    Makes total sense. I'm throwing these wonky syringes away and buying a different brand. I'll stick with .5 for now and see where that brings us.
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.
  14. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Rufus ate 10ish pieces of fiber cat food and couple bites of Iams oral health around 3:30 or 4pm. That's why I assume high PMPS. New dry food came in today. I expect to higher BG's for a while.
     
  15. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    So, Rufus is doing the lip smacking and not eating. He had bupe at 7:15pm and Cerenia at 3pm. Is it safe to assume that with the bupe in play that he is not lip smacking from pain? Also, I can't remember timing, but I'm thinking of putting back on onda and pepcid too. That ok, right? Do I need to pill at seperate times?
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Because the lines were bad on so many syringes I used digital calipers. Worked well for me.
    And the days off for cerenia is definitely old school.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  17. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    I'll have to look into the calipers. Don't know much about them, but saw someone post about them the other day.

    I just don't know what to do with these meds. I day something works, the next day it doesn't. On a combo of meds and doesn't work.
     
  18. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    +2 96. Nice, but not nice if not eating well. Guess it's time for treats :(
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  20. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
  21. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You can add in ondansetron 2-3 times a day as needed. At one point Neko needed both Cerenia and ondansetron. I would pill the ondansetron 40 minutes or so before you want him to eat. Lip smacking is typically nausea, not pain.
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013

    It’s really easy to use calipers. Once I started I never stopped.

    I second what Wendy said about ondansetron and cerenia. They work in different ways and at times some cats need both. I hope you can figure out what exactly is causing the nausea so that at some point you won’t need them but until that time I wouldn’t hesitate to use whatever works.
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  23. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Thanks! I'll look at them today. I sure I can find it too. I'm pretty sure it's part of the food, but have no idea. Specialist next week perhaps biopsy.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page