New to the forums!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by tigertail, Nov 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tigertail

tigertail New Member

Hi there!

I have a cat that has been diabetic for a little while now and I am struggling to get his blood glucose/insulin dosage regulated. After becoming frustrated with my vet and various resources, I was directed to these forums. Any support is really appreciated!

I have 2 cats, but the oldest is diabetic. (I am also trying to improve both their diets so my second cat isn't next). I am a recent graduate, and I have had these cats since I was little, so the diabetes has stressed me out a lot. I studied Wildlife Biology & Conservation, had previously wanted to be a vet but now working in wildlife rehabilitation. Basically, I love animals which I'm sure is something in common with the lot of you!

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Welcome.
    Good insulin are the human Lantus and Levemir and the pet insulins ProZinc and BCP PZI. For those two human insulin it is best to get the 5 pack of 3 ml disposable pens via a 10 ml vial. Although per ml the vial is less expensive most cats will not use up a 10 ml vial before the insulin goes bad/becomes ineffective. The human insulin N/NPH is sometimes prescribed but only lasts 8-10 hours. Same for the pet insulin Vetsulin/Caninisulin.
    Most of us here test or cats blood glucose at home using a human meter. We test before each shot and periodically between shots. We record our reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/
    What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb cannedhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/