Newbie - Marco - 3/20/20 - AMPS = 288; Dosing questions

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mnm, Mar 20, 2020.

1. Mnm

Mnm Member

Hi-

I am new to this. Marco had his first set of "reliable/consistent" numbers last night. He finally got down into the BG=145 stage. (Only ever time this happened was a few weeks ago on a barf after eating - don't have data logged).

I had him at 1.5 units of Lantus. I chickened out and only gave him 1.25 units this morning. I don't know how bad that is to change the dose like that. He was really going down rapidly (compared with anything I've seen on him) from 3/19 AM to 3/19 PM on the 1.5 units of Lantus, so I opted for the 1.25 units of Lantus 3/20 AM.

Again, is it bad to change the quickly? I'm scare of him going to low. At the same time, I just don't know how this works. I would love some input.

Thank you-

Wendy and Marco

2. Mnm

Mnm Member

Apologies. I forgot to put date in title. Not sure how to edit the title. This is a posting on 3/20.

3. Astexcat

Astexcat Member

At the top of your post on the upper right hand side should be an edit button, click on it and it says edit title

4. Mnm

Mnm Member

Thank you!

I don't understand his numbers. Yes, I gave 0.25 less in units this morning, and his numbers just go up up up instead of down. He was at 288 when I gave him insulin, now he's at 366.

5. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Wendy,
    When you are using Lantus, it is important to stay with the same dose unless Marco has earned a reduction (drops under 50) or needs an increase in dose. Lantus is a depot insulin which means that part of the dose is kept in the body for future use and that depot needs to fill and stay stable. If you chop and change the dose you will get wonky numbers. So you need to choose a dose and stay with it for at least 6 cycles (3 days) unless he drops under 50 (TR) or 90 (SLGS) ....more about that below.