Newbie Needing Advice

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by AngelaMiao, Jan 25, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AngelaMiao

AngelaMiao Member

Hello! Newbie here looking for advice for my 10yr old cat named Jack. Jack currently lives with his two cat brothers at my parents house so I'm trying to find a way to keep him in his home without overstressing my parents or ending up with a hypoglycemic cat.

His story started about 5 weeks ago when he started peeing next to the litter box. Last week I noticed that he lost 4 pounds (he used to weigh 21lbs, he now weighs 17lbs) so I took him to the vet and he had a glucose reading of 25 (450) and a urine sugar reading of 56. We haven't started him on insulin yet since his bladder was empty when I took him in so we couldn't do the urinalysis until the next day when his vet wasn't in. He should be calling me today to set up an appointment to make a plan for insulin and diet (will probably go next Wednesday).

His diet is pretty terrible, my cats mostly eat dry food (free feeding) with a can of Friskies pate shared between the 3 cats in the morning. He never had problems with his weight until I brought home my 3rd cat who begs for food until he sees a full bowl, eats a few bites and then leaves the rest for Jack to binge on his own. My other cat is big too (20 pounds) but he's a ragamuffin so he's much more lean being a bigger cat. My oldest cat is a 8lb Abyssinian/Burmese mix who free feeds perfectly and is much more active (he eats on the counter by himself and prefers soft food and real meat so he's not an issue).