Newly diagnosed in the UK

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Alexi, Apr 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alexi

Alexi Member

Hello everyone. I am chief servant to a newly diagnosed diabetic kitty aged nearly 12 (the cat not me). So far so good and she seems to be stabilising on 2iu Caninsulin twice daily. I am a doctor and deal with diabetes every day but it is a little different when it is your pet. I have a multicat household so monitoring her food intake is a challenge as she seems to be hungry all the time still. She is putting back some weight quite quickly and is off to the vet for a glucose curve later this week. Would love to hear from others in the UK as not sure what is the normal practice here. We have not discussed monitoring as yet but I would feel more comfortable doing it. So far I have ordered some keto-diastix on line as well as an alert tag with the vets details on it and am putting together a hypo kit as well as instructions for my regular cat sitters who I will be teaching to do the injections. I am also giving her lots of attention and playing with her ears.

She is a real sweetie in every sense of the word.

Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
    Critter Mom likes this.
  2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB!

We strongly advocate home testing with an inexpensive human glucometer due to the prohibitive cost of pet meters and strips. Anything by Abbott is likely to be good. All the reference guidelines here are using values for human glucometers, which read slightly lower than pet meters. Once you're able to home test successfully, you'll be able to do curves at home - basically serial glucose measurements from pre-shot to pre-shot, taken every 2 hours for a full curve.