No Numbers - Meter just read "High"

Darwin H.

Member Since 2018
Vet took Simba off insulin to see where wide curve of numbers landed for a few days. Has not had a shot since 12/16/ AM. This AMPS meter with new control strip bottle read "High" versus a digital number. He seems fine and is eating well. Vet is not open yet to take calls. Should I worry? Might it be the test strips?
Thanks..
 
Hi usually means over 600
Dont understand why vet took him off insulin, my personal opinion is that cat needs insulin

I would think so too. Wondering if he needs to change insulin type also? I just gave him his AM shot of 1 unit. Will call the vet later.
 
Last edited:
Jamie's right. The HI value depends on the meter, but it usually means the BG number is over 600. Basically it's saying the number is higher than the meter can display. Looks like your kitty needs to get back on insulin.
 
Taking your kitty off insulin was a big mistake. In this forum, we do not drop the dose from 1u to none. Our dose adjustments are generally done in 0.25u increments for non high dose cats.
When the insulin was stopped, he got a double whammy: a bounce and no insulin to help him clear it.

Simba is very bouncy and you are missing half your data by not getting any nighttime tests at all. He could do so much better but you have to get some decent data so you know how low he’s going. The way to get to a good dose is knowing when to raise or lower the dose based on the nadir.

Under SLGS, he earned at 0.25u reduction when he dropped below 90. In reality, his dose should have been dropped to 0.75u on the evening of 12/12 and then again to 0.5u on the morning of 12/14.

I suggest you start him back at 0.5u and be sure you get preshot tests both cycles, at least 2-3 tests in the daytime cycle, and at least two tests in the evening cycle (e.g. +2 and before bed). After a week on the dose, do your weekly curve.

You can then make dose adjustments, if necessary, based on the weekly curve and SLGS.

Also, he doesn’t need an insulin change. You should give Lantus at least six months before you determine if he needs an insulin change.

What will help you put the puzzle together is some additional testing and trying to be as consistent as you can on dosing and shot times. While Lantus does allow for some flexibility, it’s most helpful to be consistent as you are trying to get him to a good dose and you gather some data.
 
Last edited:
Here’s the link to your previous post here. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/after-the-curve-down-to-1-shot-daily.208007/#post-2306097

Marje has nicely summed it all up. Simba needs insulin, but you need to do it safely and test. One unit is too high a dose.

I originally followed my vet’s advice on insulin dosing, but quickly found the people had way more diabetes experience than she did. I don’t blame here, I was the first client to home test, so she didn’t have experience with day to day numbers. Unlike some people here who have lived it for over five years. Marje was one of my mentors when I started almost seven years ago.
 
Darwin, so glad Simba is back on insulin. I respect my vet but with feline diabetes I found the years of day in, day out hands on experience found on this Board is unsurpassed. Those here have lived, are living this health situation and their knowledge is unsurpassed . My Elmo is alive and doing well because of the never ending help I found and continue to find here on FDMB. What a blessing! Hang in there and you and Simba will be amazed at your progress :bighug:
 
Stick with the board! I shot blind for 4 years with my first feline diabetic (Stu) and only found this great group of knowledgeable people after a new vet raised Stu's dose by so much and so quickly that we almost lost him. The protocols really work.
 
I wish the insulin would take hold... I've gone to .5 U shots 2x daily but his numbers have risen versus gone lower. Luckily he seems himself thus far. Will take another reading +3 later tonight.
 
He has been bouncing, which can take up to six cycles to resolve. And you also need the depot to build. Good to see some downward movement tonight.
 
He has been bouncing, which can take up to six cycles to resolve. And you also need the depot to build. Good to see some downward movement tonight.
He has had more "HIGH" readings since reducing dosage to .5 from 1.0 unit 2 daily. I am worried that he should be getting more insulin like this morning his reading is "High"...wondering if if I should give him a full 1 unit instead of .5? Is it normal to change dosage daily according to reading?
 
Last edited:
He has had more "HIGH" readings since reducing dosage to .5 from 1.0 unit 2 daily. I am worried that he should be getting more insulin like this morning his reading is "High"...wondering if if I should give him a full 1 unit instead of .5? Is it normal to change dosage daily according to reading?
No, it's not. Your signature says you're trying to follow SLGS. That means you keep a dose 5 to 7 days and then do a curve to assess its effect. If you want to be more aggressive and can monitor more TR (Tight Regulation) allows dose changes every 6 cycles (3 days) if numbers permit. Also you dropped your dose from 1 u to 0.5 u when a drop to 0.75 u (eyeballed as well as you can manage) would have been the recommendation.
 
Yes staying on same cycle for 5-7 days to see effect. I just get so worried when I see the numbers climbing... He seems "fine" other than the thirst for so much more water than usual.
 
Without getting mid cycle tests, it is hard to say if 0.5 units is too much or too little insulin. We have seen cats go from black preshots to green mid cycle, and back up to black again. My Neko earned her first reduction (below 50 on TR), starting the day at 473. Holding the dose will give you more time to assess what is happening mid cycle. Thankfully the weekend is coming.
 
Back
Top