numbers are down!! please help

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tals, Jun 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tals

Tals Member

Hi guys,

Not sure what to do now. Gave Shimi 1 tea spoon of sugar water is that enough? please check my chart.
    When should I test again? He is eating and doesn't look like coma is next. but I checked twice, just to make sure I wasn't seeing a false reading. can someone please tell me what to do next? This is a first time his sugar is so low.

2. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

First breathe. It's a good idea to post the number in your subject line. Are you using a human or pet meter? If you got a 68 at +8 that isn't too low on a human depending on which protocol you are on and which insulin. This is my first time with you so can you fill me in a little?

3. Tals

Tals Member

@tiffmaxee hi and thank you for checking in. I'm not yet familiar with how everything works around here. Thank you for the advice.
    Using a One Touch human meter. He is getting 4.5 units of Lantus twice a day. Shimi always had high numbers. This is a first dive. I gave him 1 tea spoon of sugar water and some wet food. not sure whats next...I'll recheck in an hour?

4. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Every 30 minutes you can check his glucose until you are sure it is rising and in safe numbers.
    If he drops below 50 mg/dL on a human meter, you may give 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravy or a few drops of syrup, wait another 30 minutes or so and re-test.

5. Tals

Tals Member

@BJM, Merci! I'll post his numbers at 4 pm my time.

6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

This post will give you some guidelines for managing low numbers. A 68 isn't low to the point of panicking but since you're new to this, we all understand the nail-biting reaction! Basically, give some food and re-test in 20 min.