Pig 4/28 amps 70; +3 106; 7 70 ; +10 74; pmps 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

Well, he is feeling much better today. He has no tenderness or irritability. I am still convinced much has to do with the medications. I am sincerely hoping some of these things will resolve themselves after SRT. I also know that SRT is not a fix all solution. However, with the US and exam I am hoping to walk away with some answers and at the very least, something to temper my anxiety over the situation.

Altogether though, he is doing very well today and he has been riding those greens like a champ! Most of his 'supplies' have come in and I think that we are so very close to being entirely ready to do this whole SRT thing.
 
Lol... Funny poop story here:

So, per my vet's recommendation I upped his Cisapride dose just a smidge. Not very much at all, but apparently he is on an incredibly small dose. So I moved him to .3ml. With some kitties getting close to 7.5ml I am feeling alright with this. Well, I also gave the Prazo last night with this increased Cisapride dose. It worked quite well. Maybe a bit too well.. :oops:

There is a stool in my kitchen that the boys sit on to watch me prepare food. It is the only way to keep them happy until I have put it on the floor for their eating pleasure. Well, Pig went to jump up on the stool and I am guessing the force of his abdominal muscles in conjunction with the medications... Let us just say that it was sort of like a jet propelled engine and his poo was his propulsion.. :woot: The look on his face was... Oh my. :p:joyful::p
 
I started him on the Bethanechol at the recommendation of my vet. She prescribed 5mg, but only gave 2.5mg. I always want to see how he will react. I just hate how many pharmaceuticals he is on... It really makes me nervous. However, I know there is a reason for them. The Bethanechol is used to stimulate the cholinergic receptors, thus increasing not only bladder wall contraction but possibly increasing gut motility as well. This is basically a super charged EZ egg product. My concern is this, and I voiced it to my vet, he is already on Cisapride and the EZ Egg which all do basically the same thing. This seems like a lot of GI stimulation. She assured me it was fine and that some cats just needed a little more help. Even the specialists that I was wanting to go to said the same thing. So, fingers crossed and a leap of faith taken. She has never steered me wrong before...
 
Ooooo I am so excited... I stumbled across a great article about colectomies in cats and some of the causes of megacolon. It is dates in 2010 so I imagine that things have changed a bit, such as the use of pumpkin. However, it is still very accurate. I particularly like this one as it makes note that a congenital form of the disease is seen in Manx cats. In particular, it is seen in Manx cats with sacral spinal deformities such as Pig has. The fact that he literally has no tail is probably a large part of the cause with Pig. So my thoughts about his megacolon being congenital were correct. He is actually missing quite a large section of spine when you stop to consider that a cats spinal chord goes all the way to the tip of their tail. Pig's spinal chord actually ends right at the hip junction...
 

Attachments

  • 67f3.jpg
    67f3.jpg
    85.9 KB · Views: 105
Continuing back on yesterday's question on a reduction. What you see now is all 52 units, no depot. He's getting to low 60's, so I'd go ahead and reduce again. Again, just a cautionary move to get him into safer numbers for the trip.

My cousin's son in his 20's adopted a manx and then a japanese bobtail. Now he's got two kitties with stumpty tail syndrome. :p He's learned a lot. Sounds like you have too.
 
What you see now is all 52 units, no depot. He's getting to low 60's, so I'd go ahead and reduce again.
Okay. I sort of figured this was the route we needed to take, so I will cut him back to 49 tonight. Unless you think a 48 would be better. He seems to be unfazed by any of it, though!

My cousin's son in his 20's adopted a manx and then a japanese bobtail. Now he's got two kitties with stumpty tail syndrome. :p He's learned a lot. Sounds like you have too.
Oh my! I can only imagine having two to deal with! He has his hands full, for sure! However, I will say they are way worth the struggle. Pig has taught me more about he physical health and functioning of a cat than any other kitty I have ever had. He teaches me a lot more besides. Like how there will always be people to love you unconditionally, regardless of how full of s**t you are... :p Omg.. Sorry, I could not help myself with that one...
 
Well, I do not think I like the thing we tried. Of course, it was one time and only half a dose, but his reaction told me a lot. The Bethanechol has to be given on an empty stomach. I gave the Prazo an hour early and allowed his tummy to empty for 2hours per directions. I gave the Bethanechol. 30 minutes later he was huddling on the carpet and protecting his belly. He was also very sensitive around it as well. He did NOT want me touching it and was not nearly as compliant as he usually is. This is a massive thing because this is the boy that will allow me to do anything I want to him. He will placidly lay there while I gently massage his bladder and run a back massager over his abdomen. For him to be this fussy tells me that the Bethanechol, at least for now, is a no go.

In fact, I actually saw less urinary and fecal output with the Bethanechol than I do with the Prazo alone. So, back to the regime. I am thinking that with the addition of the Betha we had one to many stimulators in effect, which has got to be quite uncomfortable. I do not blame him. Maybe I need to try the gold thing for digestion, but for the life of me I cannot remember the name of it... :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top