Pig 8/11 amps +8 261; pmps 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Very Active Member
Yesterday's

I really do not know. Nothing I do is seeming to keep him in lower numbers, but then we sporadically get a hypo cycle after lactulose.

Something derailed shortly after SRT and it is narrowed down to the Raw and to the Babysitter.

The RadCat has psyllium husk in it (a factor I somehow missed) and he is very sensitive to fibers, but when we went to the vet his colon was empty. Even now he does not seem constipated. Maybe it is a matter of consistency, but nothing has changed lately save for the proteins. Maybe he is just a one protein sort of kitty. Maybe its the bladder. I have no clue. I could use some ideas or advice with this one.. Everything seemed to change when we started to hit reductions and introduced the RadCat. Of course, we also have someone living here as well. That is totally new.

@Wendy&Neko … What do you think??? Any ideas?
 
Time for patience pants. It can take six cycles after a BCS for the depot to stabilize. Tonight isncycle six.
And you are right, as always... I think I am looking at the past few months. It just does not seem that we have been able to achieve any stabilization since SRT. Maybe it just seems so erratic.

Didn't you mention that numbers can possibly be more erratic following SRT?
 
I have seen people say numbers are bouncier after SRT. I didn't see that. Neko was bouncy before SRT. :p However, rapid reductions, inconsistent dosing can make for unstable depot and odd numbers. Not blaming, just saying that's what some people have to do to keep kitty safe. First time around, I never did a BCS, cause Neko was guaranteed to bounce and the larger depot wasn't much of an issue. I was also still on Lantus.
 
Not blaming, just saying that's what some people have to do to keep kitty safe.
Oh, I would never think that. You are right, though. That is one thing that has been bothering me a little. I know that SRT was the right thing to do, but when we are taking reductions so often and then I am doing these BCS doses... Well, I totally understand that part. Really, that was where my head went the first time I was trying to ponder this out.

First time around, I never did a BCS, cause Neko was guaranteed to bounce and the larger depot wasn't much of an issue.
And this, I think, is where we are heading. I think the last hypo was owed to the fact that the protein changed masked a reduction period, but he has been so bouncy that when I moved him from 10u to 9u, he handled it just fine. There are a lot of kitties that will just surf a reduction, am I correct? I honestly think so much has to do with so many changes. We have the reductions, the unstable depot, then there was the colitis, the dirt, and I have added in some supplements. The fact that the company I order food from has all of sudden been seeing shortages on protein types does not help either.

But. We are where we need to be as far as everything but numbers go. I do not plan to add anyting else and I have him adjusted to 2 proteins. I said it earlier tonight. NO more changes unless absolutely necessary.

Can medications set off gi irritations? Like, maybe what it is compounded with or the sudden addition of Lactulose? Have you ever heard of this?
 
Leo was definitely bouncy before and after. I worked too many hours to regulate him better (then).

The last 3 days have not been amazing for Pig. But the past month has been great. If you open Pig's chart full screen, and stand back - most of the past month has a lot of blue and green in it. That is success. Pig is enjoying a mostly regulated BG, which is great.:bighug:

I updated Leo's SS - see tab 3 "SRT Summary", with chart.

Here is what you get 2 years after SRT. For everybody watching - I made sure to rub LD's velvet gut after the picture for you.:joyful:
Little Dude and Leo - best buds 08-12-2018c.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top