Pig 8/15 amps 64 *And Reducing Again!*

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Very Active Member
Yesterday's

Well, looks like I am going to need to commission the development of a proper rowing spot for @Wendy&Neko since I cannot control my worrisome nature... :p I could just hear you chiding me as I dosed today.. :woot: Hey... We do not have rowing spots, but there is a Red Neck Yacht Club west of here... Although, I can't promise what goes on there.

He recovered the last bounce very fast and then he just went to dropping and I was smiling the whole way. Until I came home and got a +11 of 69! :eek: Its a good thing, but of course he would pick the only day out of the week that neither myself nor Michael could be home to regularly check on him. :rolleyes: His timing is impeccable.

I know, I know... He will most likely bounce to the moon, but I am fingers crossed that he will not. Either way, there was no way I was going to full shoot a dropping number as low as 64 @ amps and then walk out the door for several hours with no guarantee if Michael could come and check him... No way. Keep Pig safe (@JeffJ). I just hope he recovers this coming bounce as fast as he did the last one.

Clearly, the lamb is good and clearly our dose is working out. Now we will have to recover the BCS... I chickened out. He must have heard me telling Wendy that I did not want to have to do that anymore. This is because I did not get out of bed and feed him his 4,000000000nth meal for the night. :p

More when I get back from work!

Have a wonderful day all the beans and kitties!
 
I sometimes got the high before the low. An unexpected high meant put on the coffee (or equivalent) ormget a nap before hand.

Bouncing or lack of insulin? No matter, he will recover.:bighug:
 
Keep Pig safe (@JeffJ)
That is a good motto, as borrowed directly from my cat-only vet.

I'm glad you gave a 1/2 dose. Theresa is glad too:)

Would you have even imagined that a 1/2 dose was 4.0 units just a few months ago. That is the true sign of progress with Pig.

Little Dude:
Here, we are dealing with Little Dude. Runny poops. Won't use litter box. So outside at 2:30am, 4:30am, then during the day. Poor kitteh. I'm giving him FortiFlora to fix it. Other suggestions welcome. He looks so downtrodden - the food is running through him.

We think he just started drinking out of the bird bath. So I bleached the birdbath and covered it. Then refilled it after 3 hours. Good for the birds now. And I moved it so LD can't get to it easily.

When we started feeding feral LD in 2016, he was drinking out of the front bird bath. I looked. It had a ball of small white worms wriggling in the water, just nasty looking. From a bird or from deer. So I bleached that bath in 2016 for all the critters. Nature is a harsh beast.
 
Other suggestions welcome. He looks so downtrodden - the food is running through him.

Jeff... I just spent like an hour typing out all of the information I am about to link. Then a glitch and I lost it ALL!!

Below are the articles and links I used to get Pig on the straight and arrow. I recommend starting with the "Emergency Stop Diarrhea" protocol. This is what I did for Pig, save the S. Boullardi and it worked miracles. The limited Poached Pork diet really does the trick. Let me know if the links do not work and I will attach the files.

Now, for Pig I use a human grade probiotic as the animal grade probiotics are no better than appetite stimulants in cats. They typically do not have the strength, count, or variation of strands needed to survive the feline gut. I use these here for Pig and Tail both. 1 capsule a day split into morning and night doses. However, here is an excellent read on probiotic use and why in felines.

But, if you really wanna go off the deep end like I did and get very crazy about diet and poop... Here is the master link to all the diet and poop information you will EVER need! The prior link and info was compiled by the ladies who created our lovely FoodFurLife products. They are very, very knowledgeable. My only thought here is that this info and their group is very, very aversive to modern (or should we say outdated) vet knowledge and care protocols for the feline gut. Which in some cases is good... Others not so much. You have to balance what you are comfortable with. So, the opposite side of that website is the amazing site that Wendy shared with me and the link is right here. So, the first is very holistic and the later is based heavily with clinical science. Some work some do not. Play with it and see what makes sense to you and more importantly, what works for LD.

I would suggest to start with the poached pork, though. Really. I have cleared up 3 of my friends kitties with just the very simple thing. It can't hurt and both the boys will love it and since yours are accustomed to cooked foods, you do not necessarily run the risk of pancreatic flares like we did...

Also... To help him digest you could try these Animal Essentials. @LizzieInTexas suggested them to me and they have been miracle workers in Pig and Tail both.

I know there is more.... Let me think and I will continue this response. Right now I am running off 2 hours of sleep in 3 days. I am worn tf out.
 
@JeffJ sorry for the hijack Sarah, but some people have reported that Fortiflora changed their formula and is now more likely to cause than prevent the runs. Other broader spectrum probiotics that Sarah linked, may be helpful.
No worries at all... I actually had not heard that FortiFlora changed their formula... This is good information!! Thank you!

Bouncing or lack of insulin? No matter, he will recover.:bighug:
Ugh... I think both. He jumped 60 points 30 minutes after shot... But, it certainly is lack of insulin as well... I sure am glad Pig is good at this, because me? Not so much... :p
 
SARAH - get some sleep. Sleep is a lot more important than catching up here. ...I mean, unless we throw you under the bus. Whahahahaha:eek:

Thanks Sarah and Wendy. I will read up and get LD fixed up. It could just be bacteria from the bird bath. There are no observable worms in his poop. I flattened out a small load in a clear plastic bag (outside). Since Sarah is the poop expert, she can let me know if this is the proper examination protocol. :eek::joyful:

I will avoid FortiFlora for now. And now I will read.
40d9d5e6db3bb9abe117352c391d9000--hair-quotes-grey-hair.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top