PM+5=58 Girlie | PM+6=148 | +7=169

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow another big drop today!!

You are at +5 hours so should be getting closer to the nadir. If you gave HC test again in about 20 minutes and post the next reading.
 
She just looked at the pink bib, looked at me and - if I'm reading her mind correctly - the answer is "NO way, mom!"
 
it usually takes 30 minutes for the food to make an impact but with gravy it should be more in the 15 minute zone.
You are sitting right there with her.
It's not like you are out of the house.....
 
It's just a pink towel I put around her neck when I give her the liquid glucose syrup in case it spills down her front; saves washing her up afterwards. She doesn't have an association with it - just trying to joke to pass the time. She's calm and wondering why we're not cuddling in bed right now. It's because you're a drama queen, I told her... :eek:
 
dramatic+cat.jpg
 
Okay - she's 110


Good stuff. Looks like the HC brought her up. Don't feed anything right now and retest in 30 minutes


ETA She should be pretty close to nadir, so hopefully if she drops back a nit it won't be as dramatic, but do another test in 1/2 hour to keep track
 
So it's just after midnight now; would give her next shot at 7:00 am (in 7 hours). What do you advise for the rest of tonight? Will this hold, or should I keep testing frequently? I am super wide awake from the adrenaline rush, so staying up for the rest of the night is no problem...:eek::woot::)
 
Ok, retest in 30 minutes

I can't tell you how grateful I am that you all just jumped in like that! I feel very safe in your hands. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! :bighug:
 
So it's just after midnight now; would give her next shot at 7:00 am (in 7 hours). What do you advise for the rest of tonight? Will this hold, or should I keep testing frequently? I am super wide awake from the adrenaline rush, so staying up for the rest of the night is no problem...:eek::woot::)


With any luck Girlie will stay in the safer numbers. Post the nest reading you get in 1/2 hour.

You are getting far too much practise with diving numbers the last 2 days :bighug::bighug:
 
Took down the 911.

Any ideas on why the dramatic fall? I actually thought she'd go low tonight, but not this low... This is only day 2 of the 1 unit and LLC food.
Still, today was the longest run of greens I've ever seen her do: 7 hours straight.
 
With any luck Girlie will stay in the safer numbers. Post the nest reading you get in 1/2 hour.

You are getting far too much practise with diving numbers the last 2 days :bighug::bighug:

She has been diving off the high dive for a long time now...sigh... she keeps me on my toes...

When she crawled out from under the blankets at +5 and went straight for the food bowl, I knew she was going down fast: she has a certain approach to food when she's diving - a big tell. So I let her have two bites, saw it was the "dive" eating, took the food away, tested, went "eek! eek!" inside :eek::eek:, got the hypo basket out, gave her the HC food, drew the glucose syrup, and jumped on to fdmb...

I think my heart is going back to normal... I panic too easily, I know!
 
Whew! Great job! My adrenaline was pumpin' can't imagine how you felt:woot:

She's had low numbers before - I don't know why this one made me panic so much! I was expecting it, actually, tonight, for some reason...
What I wouldn't give for a glass of wine, but I don't drink anymore...I'll have to settle for chocolate instead.
 
Did you just change to LC food in the last 2 days?

I just changed to LLC food as a trial. I had thought that really made her dive and the suggestion was to test that out and see if it really made her dive or not. I think she dives less deeply on higher LC food (6 - 9 carbs). Still, she seemed to do well the past two days, so I thought maybe my analysis of her SS and food was incorrect...
 
I just changed to LLC food as a trial. I had thought that really made her dive and the suggestion was to test that out and see if it really made her dive or not. I think she dives less deeply on higher LC food (6 - 9 carbs). Still, she seemed to do well the past two days, so I thought maybe my analysis of her SS and food was incorrect...


It could be a combination of changing to the lower carb food and opening a new insulin. I don't know what HC you gave Girlie but she is obviously very carb sensitive to go up that much so quickly with the HC. It would be a good idea to notate the type of HC you used on her spreadsheet...it certainly worked well.

Normally a HC food will stay in the system for about 1-2 hours, but still a good idea to do a retest 1/2 hour after the last one.

All in all (except for the heart stopping drops) Girlie is showing MUCH better numbers now. Those black numbers are always distressing especially when they go on for days.
 
It could be a combination of changing to the lower carb food and opening a new insulin. I don't know what HC you gave Girlie but she is obviously very carb sensitive to go up that much so quickly with the HC. It would be a good idea to notate the type of HC you used on her spreadsheet...it certainly worked well.

Normally a HC food will stay in the system for about 1-2 hours, but still a good idea to do a retest 1/2 hour after the last one.

All in all (except for the heart stopping drops) Girlie is showing MUCH better numbers now. Those black numbers are always distressing especially when they go on for days.

I also might have jinxed myself earlier when I asked why Girlie doesn't drop to low numbers at night - Hah! :woot:

In my panic, I double-dosed her on food: 1 tsp of 16 carb ProPlan chicken and rice and then I thought - is that high enough? panicked, and gave her 1 tsp of 20 carb FF Tuscan turkey and rice. So that's a lot of food and carbs. But I didn't give her the glucose syrup. I wonder if the 16 would have been enough?

I wonder if I should still try to go with the LLC food (0-4 carbs). What do you all think? I don't want to bounce around too much as I want to try to get an accurate idea of what food actually does to her - whether LLC (0-4) will send her diving and/or whether I should use the LC (6 - 9) to keep her a little steadier. But I don't want to mess her body up with too much experimentation... any thoughts?
 
Ok, blue 148 now. Hope she doesn't do an almight bounce now! No more high black numbers allowed...
So only 2 days on the 1 Unit - so we go back to 0.75 for the next shot. This is nothing if not entertaining, I tell you! :nailbiting::eek::D:p
 
I also might have jinxed myself earlier when I asked why Girlie doesn't drop to low numbers at night - Hah! :woot:

In my panic, I double-dosed her on food: 1 tsp of 16 carb ProPlan chicken and rice and then I thought - is that high enough? panicked, and gave her 1 tsp of 20 carb FF Tuscan turkey and rice. So that's a lot of food and carbs. But I didn't give her the glucose syrup. I wonder if the 16 would have been enough?

I wonder if I should still try to go with the LLC food (0-4 carbs). What do you all think? I don't want to bounce around too much as I want to try to get an accurate idea of what food actually does to her - whether LLC (0-4) will send her diving and/or whether I should use the LC (6 - 9) to keep her a little steadier. But I don't want to mess her body up with too much experimentation... any thoughts?

When you need to give HC it is suggested to only give small amounts or even just the gravy portion. If you need to repeat the process you want to make sure your kitty is not getting filled up. In any case it certainly worked for Girlie.

Since she is having a good response to the LLC food it may be a good idea to continue with it and give several smaller portions after her shot. If she continues to have huge drops then going to the 6-9% at shot time may work better. Unfortunately experimenting is what we all have to do to see what foods work best with our kitties.
 
Glad you were able to get her to come back up. I think you need to keep testing for 2 hour s after HC food to make sure she stays up. :bighug:

I'm too awake to sleep, anyway. She can crawl under the covers and get cozy (still pretending to be winter at night here in Oz) while I watch a movie and practise deep, calm breaths...
 
Ok, blue 148 now. Hope she doesn't do an almight bounce now! No more high black numbers allowed...
So only 2 days on the 1 Unit - so we go back to 0.75 for the next shot. This is nothing if not entertaining, I tell you! :nailbiting::eek::D:p


She seems to be holding her numbers now. How many hours after the shot is the 148? She should be at nadir now and "should" stay up and most liely continue to rise.

Yes Girlie has earned a reduction to 0.75 units.

I think maybe a little TOO much entertainment for you the last few days. ;)
 
When you need to give HC it is suggested to only give small amounts or even just the gravy portion. If you need to re[eat the process you want to make sure your kitty is not getting filled up. In any case it certainly worked for Girlie.

Since she is having a good response to the LLC food it may be a good idea to continue with it and give several smaller portions after her shot. If she continues to have huge drops then going to the 6-9% at shot time may work better. Unfortunately experimenting is what we all have to do to see what foods work best with our kitties.

Oh, good to know re HC! Next time I'll be more conservative with the HC; she just snarfed it right up and licked the bowl clean. Max (my civvie) can have her HC leftovers for breakfast tomorrow - lucky boy!

I've been giving her 1 tsp pre-shot and 1 tsp post-shot and then 1/2 tsp after that: I've really been trying to strictly control her rather than just let her graze when she wants as I've been trying to monitor how she's been going with the food, so I've doled out the food after I've done her test. I've really liked where she's been with her numbers for the past two days, I have to say, and she hasn't really been deep diving until tonight. It helps that she's been starting from much better pre-shot numbers, though, I think.

I'll be curious to see where she is at AMPS and whether she bounces high from this; I certainly hope she doesn't, but out of my hands.
 
Girlie really didn't do much of a bounce from the greens in the morning cycle so she may surprise with the AMPS test tomorrow.

With my Maxie girl I have to let her free feed since she is a nibbler and will only eat small amounts at a time. She has always been like that and she is not likely to change after almost 17 years.:rolleyes: The only thing I do is remove the food about 3-4 hours before shot time to give a good reading and make sure she will have some appetite at shot time.
 
She seems to be holding her numbers now. How many hours after the shot is the 148? She should be at nadir now and "should" stay up and most liely continue to rise.

Yes Girlie has earned a reduction to 0.75 units.

I think maybe a little TOO much entertainment for you the last few days. ;)

The 148 is PM +6 exactly. Yesterday she had LLC 1 food; today she had LC 3 but then didn't want that tonight, but she did want the LLC 1 (FF Savoury Salmon). She was looking for food pre-shot, but then wasn't that interested - not sure why.

Just looking at her numbers carefully now, I can see that I wasn't paying close enough attention; she dropped 56 points from +1 to +2 and another 48 by +3. That's too steep a dive, isn't it? But I've been trying to just see how low she goes with just the LLC food, so I didn't try to address that with a LC food. That was the right thing, wasn't it? I'm a bit too tired to think straight right now...

I'm not a crazy testing lady - I just had this feeling that she was going to drop tonight, so I kept testing as I was still awake. I swear! :-)

PMPS: 227
+1=265
+2=209
+3=151
+4=115
+5=58 Gave HC 16 and HC 20 (1 tsp each; will give less next time!)
+6=148
 
Girlie really didn't do much of a bounce from the greens in the morning cycle so she may surprise with the AMPS test tomorrow.

With my Maxie girl I have to let her free feed since she is a nibbler and will only eat small amounts at a time. She has always been like that and she is not likely to change after almost 17 years.:rolleyes: The only thing I do is remove the food about 3-4 hours before shot time to give a good reading and make sure she will have some appetite at shot time.

Girlie nibbles as well; she wouldn't eat more than 1/2 tsp to a tsp at a time. That's why I can tell so easily when she's diving: she absolutely inhales her food and licks the bowl clean and looks around for more - that's not normal for her unless she's dropping. If she's not dropping and she doesn't see food, she'll just walk away, no worries.
 
she dropped 56 points from +1 to +2


The drop is not really that dramatic. She was 12.6 at preshot and then 11.6 at +2. The higher +1 would have been due to her having eaten after the shot. However the drop from 11.6 at +2 to 6.4 at +4 is almost 50%. When I see a 50% drop in a short period of time in the early part of the cycle it may show more dropping to come. This would have been a good point to give some 6% LC food to slow it down. Again it is all trial and error. Sigh....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top