? PMPS 368, diarrhea, increased dose

tackeee

Member Since 2019
So overall, Little one’s numbers have gotten MUCH BETTER after his FME. However he was going steady at 4.5, but sometimes his pre/post shots were lower than his nadirs. Two days ago he had a AMPS of 99, and instead of holding his shot, I just gave 3.5 for that day and then 4 twice and now again back to 4.5 because his numbers were higher. I noticed after a day in the 400s, he had diarrhea again this evening when it was finally solidifying again.

Thoughts on his diarrhea? His numbers creeping back up/ what dosage he should be at? He’s eating, although he seems to have a bit of an upset tummy though no puking.
 
I think you are getting the higher numbers because you reduced the dose to 3.5 units when you got the green Preshot, and gave 4 units for the next 3 preshots. That drained the depot so now that you are back to 4.5 units you will have to wait for 6 cycles for the depot to fill and stablise again. Try and get a before bed test in the evenings if you can.
 
Elizabeth --

Is there a reason you're decreasing the dose by 0.5u? You want to decrease more slowly -- by 0.25u. I'm wondering if there was some confusion in that when nadirs are above 400, we suggest increasing the dose by 0.5u and then as numbers improve, both increases and decreases are by 0.25u.
 
Thanks for the info! His dose had been decreasing from his FME and since I’m not around consistently because of work, I decreased by .5 to make sure he didn’t get hypo quickly. I should have given 4.5 immediately again when he’d come back up that night, but I was worried it might have been a bounce. I’ll just have to wait out for a few days while he gets back to normal I guess. His AMPS was back in the 400s again today, :/. I’m gonna wait the cycles to see if 4.5 is a good dose to let that wonkiness wait out before I increase again. He was finally somewhat stable with blues and yellows after going four months of bonkers numbers so I guess I’m a bit sensitive to fluctuations now too!
 
Hi Elizabeth,

As far as the diarrhea goes, there is a probiotic called S. Boularddi. I use the brand Florastor that you can get at a CVS. There are other brands that are cheaper and that you can get online. I am familiar with the Florastor brand. It can be sprinkled into the food without detection from the kitty.

For a therpuetic dose, the instructions are give 1/2 the capsule twice a day. Do until the diarrhea stops then do a maintenance dose of 1/4 of the capsule twice a day for 3 more days.

If diarrhea is really bad, more than once a day the below is an Emergency Stop Diarrhea:

Give one-quarter of the 250mg / 5 billion CFU capsule every two hours or so. Many cats accept it when mixed into finely ground poached chicken breast / turkey breast / pork loin or meat-only baby food. (Beech Nut, Goya, and Gerber list “meat” and broth or gravy as ingredients. These are fine, they are referring to the water used to cook the meat, and they contain no spices). If your cat does not like the taste of the probiotic, you can syringe after mixing with water. If you are not experienced syringing liquids into your cat, you can use empty #3 gel capsules. Simply fill 10 to 20 of these by transferring the S boulardii from the larger capsules into the smaller ones. These are a size easy to pill your cat. Pill your cat with one #3 capsule filled with S boulardii every two hours or so.

The above information is from wwwfoodfurlife website. There is tons of cat health information on their site. They also on the below link talk about the use of Slippery Elm Bark which is helpful too for diarrhea, constipation, and nausea.

http://www.foodfurlife.com/my-cat-has-diarrhea---what-do-i-do.html
 
Thank you all for the advice! He’s always had a bit of a sensitive stomach, and is on probiotics regularly from the vet (nearly every day). It’s firmed up a bit, and he must have just had a sensitive stomach that day or reacted to the higher BG spike. His numbers seemed to drop a tiny bit today, so I’ll cotinue to monitor.
 
Back
Top