? Post DKA Millie PMPS 142, reduction earned but how much?AMPS 340, +5 90, +5.5 61.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like bouncing to me. I think you could try 1.75 u now. She's been on 1.5 u several days and you haven't seen anything below low blue.
I thought it was bouncing. Just want to make sure I had enough info to increase. I had raised the dose in the past and Jill (the moderator) had told me I had increased without having enough info and that the dose was probably too high; don't want to make that mistake again. I'll increase tonight.

Thanks, Kris!
 
I thought it was bouncing. Just want to make sure I had enough info to increase. I had raised the dose in the past and Jill (the moderator) had told me I had increased without having enough info and that the dose was probably too high; don't want to make that mistake again. I'll increase tonight.

Thanks, Kris!
I gave you advice based on what I'd do if Millie was my kitty, Sylvia. I don't know if others here will agree.
 
Sylvia -- when did Jill provide you with that feedback? I'd like to take a look at Millie's SS from that time.

I agree -- if it were me, I'd raise Millie's dose.
It was a while back; not recently. I'll try to find when it was and get back to you. I really wasn't testing enough (esp at night) and that's what she was explaining to me.
 
We are leaving in 20 minutes and I decided to test Millie before heading out; her +5 was 90!!!! I was going to increase her dose tonight but I guess I shouldn't???? So confused!
 
I will leave Millie some HC food. We will be back when it's time to test and shoot. Just want a better idea as to whether I should just leave the current dose of 1.5 and NOT increase? I'm sure I should not raise the dose just looking for feedback.

Millie always keeps me guessing!!!
 
Sorry I'm just seeing this. HC is more than enough for a 90 @ +5 . If you would have been staying put I would have just said LC and retest. But, always better me safe than sorry.

This was the 9th cycle and finally a green. I would hold the dose for now. See what others think.
 
Decided to test again, bg is 61. We are holding off leaving right now. Fed HC food, will test in 15 minutes. If she starts to go up, will test again to make sure she is OK. At that time we may have to leave but will keep our afternoon engagement short.
 
Sorry I'm just seeing this. HC is more than enough for a 90 @ +5 . If you would have been staying put I would have just said LC and retest. But, always better me safe than sorry.

This was the 9th cycle and finally a green. I would hold the dose for now. See what others think.
Millie's number tend to flute quite easily. Nice to see green but now she's lower (61). Glad I tested before heading out!
 
Glad you retested! If you haven't all ready , give some more HC food. And now this changes the dose. She just earned a reduction.
 
I just got home and saw the tag.

It certainly looks like the bounce broke! Don't you love the way our kitties hand us a surprise? Did you get any tests beyond the 61?

@Bobbie And Bubba - I believe she's following TR. So unless there's a test with numbers below 50, a reduction isn't in earned yet.
 
I just got home and saw the tag.

It certainly looks like the bounce broke! Don't you love the way our kitties hand us a surprise? Did you get any tests beyond the 61?

@Bobbie And Bubba - I believe she's following TR. So unless there's a test with numbers below 50, a reduction isn't in earned yet.
She is using a AT 2 meter so her reduction is below 68 . Sylvia please confirm.
 
I just got home and saw the tag.

It certainly looks like the bounce broke! Don't you love the way our kitties hand us a surprise? Did you get any tests beyond the 61?

@Bobbie And Bubba - I believe she's following TR. So unless there's a test with numbers below 50, a reduction isn't in earned yet.
Sorry, just saw this, didn't read far enough behind! OK, a reduction it is!

Thanks everyone!
 
You have shot 129 with 1.5 unit. on 7. 31. I think you could shoot 1.25 if you can monitor her tonight. My guess is she might start to soar upwards. But please check her at +2 and that will be your guide as to how much more you need to test her tonight.


ETA: I can't stay with you tonight. If you have any concerns please 911 your thread.
 
You have shot 129 with 1.5 unit. on 7. 31. I think you could shoot 1.25 if you can monitor her tonight. My guess is she might start to soar upwards. But please check her at +2 and that will be your guide as to how much more you need to test her tonight.
Sorry, I was writing and only just saw your post. Millie's major plunges makes me nervous....that said, yes, you're right she'll probably bounce due to today's low numbers. If I didn't hear from anyone, I probably would have played it safe & given her just 1u. I'll test at +2.
 
You have shot 129 with 1.5 unit. on 7. 31. I think you could shoot 1.25 if you can monitor her tonight. My guess is she might start to soar upwards. But please check her at +2 and that will be your guide as to how much more you need to test her tonight.


ETA: I can't stay with you tonight. If you have any concerns please 911 your thread.
PK, will do the 911 if needed.
 
Sorry, I was writing and only just saw your post. Millie's major plunges makes me nervous....that said, yes, you're right she'll probably bounce due to today's low numbers. If I didn't hear from anyone, I probably would have played it safe & given her just 1u. I'll test at +2.
I understand that the plunges make you nervous. As long as you are monitoring her, you know what to do. And if you need help., you just yell. :bighug:

I love this cycle even though it makes you nervous.....:cat: Progress........
 
How did Millie do last night. Your SS isn't updated and inquiring minds what to know. :cat:
GM, her +2 was 310. I caught up on sleep (esp after the night before, where there was little of it), so that was the only testing I did. She's been very busy this morning purring, playing & meowing. Guess she's feeling good!

Thanks for asking. If she follows her usual pattern (and this is the only thing that has been consistent) she will be bouncing today and tomorrow.
 
Glad you shot last night as it's important for Post DKA kitties to get enough insulin. I had suspected that she would soar up. Glad you got some much needed sleep. Bounces are good for that at least .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top