Ramone 04/20 AMPS 284 (15.8) - +3 343 (19.1) Dosing advice plz

Jerica&ramone

Member Since 2019
So struggling a bit finding the new right dose for Ramone. Have not experinced #'s this low, especially yesterday.

I did not shoot the PM shot on the 17th - as he had dipped pretty low that day - was nervous about what would happen over night and I monitor as best I can at night but sometimes I don't wake up to my alarms.

So then we got back on track next day - High as to be expected. So I did the 6 units the next day AM & PM and then yesterday I don't know what I was thinking and I gave him 6.5 units instead of the 6 units and then yesterday was a bit nerve-racking as he had dropped to 2.8/ 50.4 the lowest yesterday at + 10... and after honey and hi carb food multiple times yesterday to try and get his sugars up - it did work and by PMPS he was at 5.2/ 93.6 which I have shot before but I just skipped as I feel like the 6 units or 6.5 Units is just TOO much for him right now and honestly I'd rather him be high for a day or two and then get back on track. I should have posted all this last night but I had other things going on.

And this morning his AMPS was higher as to be expected. I gave him only 5.5 units this AM.

I'll be able to monitor lots all this week being that I'm working from home, but this will not always be this way. I will have to try and get him regulated before I'm actually called to go back into the office which hopefully in mine and Ramone's case isn't TOO soon yet but we all want our lives to get back to normal.

Do you think 5.5 units was doing the right thing? I know he will be most likely high all day ... and we will get back on track tomorrow & next day. Just getting below or right at 50 is scary and eventually I won't be able to be home checking him all day & night....

I will get a curve done tomorrow and next day to see if 5.5 units is going good. I guess that's all I can do and see how it goes.
 
The link to your last post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ramone-04-16-pmps-88-advice-plz.228424/

In that last post I suggested going to 6.0 units. Nothing is changed. You only shot two cycles at 6.0 before increasing to a dose which is too high. We dose based on low points or nadirs, not the preshots. The depot needs to stabilize., so you need to be patient with the dose.




Yes I know, I thought that with Lantus and the 6.5 units I gave him yesterday AM, does not necessarily affect his #'s during that cycle bc it is a deopot, so wouldn't some of his #'s from yesterday be from the 6 units the day before??

The reason why I thought to give 5.5 units is because yesterday his Nadir was under 90.... which would mean reduction... OR did by me mistakenly giving him the 6.5 units mess it all up?


So go 6 units tonight and HOLD for minimum 3 cycles UNLESS he drops below 90 ? Or should I still hold it because I've been changing his dose so much...

I just do not want to drive him into a hypo situation...
 
Since you are following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days, unless he goes under 90, in which case you reduce.

Sometimes cats have an immediate reaction to an increase, so the 6.5 units could have taken him down yesterday.
 
Since you are following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days, unless he goes under 90, in which case you reduce.

Sometimes cats have an immediate reaction to an increase, so the 6.5 units could have taken him down yesterday.


Ok, gotcha. I totally screwed up his dosing...

I’ll go 6 tonight and hold until/ if he drops below 90 . I know these next few days might give some wonky #s ....
 
Back
Top