Samson does not seem to be responding to PZI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, thanks again for all the info, I'll stick with 1.75 for a cycle or two more and see if he reacts to the food at all! And yes, that chart is AMAZING and the reason I switched his food :) Thanks!
 
Apologies here too, I passed out shortly after taking care of Maury. Thought it would just be a little power nap. At least I got a nice mid cycle data point at night though :rolleyes:.

I like Kris's suggestion too :)
 
Will you be able to grab a +4 , +5, or +6 today? That's a 50% drop already and you're pretty early in the cycle. I'd love to see if you hit a green by nadir.
 
Yes to what Kris said. Keep the dose and keep watching the cycles. His body is just adjusting to lower numbers. It takes some time and you get variation in the cycles while they get used to it. Whenever you can, grab a test during the PM cycle too. I know those are harder since you know...sleep. I just read on another thread that one way to do it if you can't stay up late is to drink a big glass of water right before bed. Then when the inevitable happens, you just grab a test at the same time. :joyful: For someone like me that simply cannot wake up during the night, I think that's kind of genius.
 
Thanks @Kris & Teasel. I'm at work tomorrow so I'll wait until Thurs. to increase. Is HC high-calorie, high-carb? What are some examples of this kind of food?
HC is high carb. Friskies or Fancy Feast chunks in gravy would be in this category. You can also just add honey, karo syrup, etc. in various amounts to regular low carb food to make it medium or high carb.
 
Thanks crew! I wasn't around yesterday to monitor, but I gave 2u this morning and Sam is doing well- 166 at nadir. Thanks for all the support/feedback!
 
Currently hanging on mama's lap :joyful: IMG_9492.JPG
 
Currently trying 2u with Samson and not liking how he's responding...his AMPS was 298 today and at +3 he went UP to 347...I'll get some more numbers today but considering he was doing well at 1.75u (please see chart) maybe I should keep him there? Advice much appreciated as always! @Kris & Teasel @Rachel @Yong @Djamila
 
Any chance of a Fur Shot? If not, the 347 kind of shows him staying flat from his AMPS of 298, they're within 20% variations. Let's see how he does and if possible, can you grab a before bed test? Apologies if you've mentioned before why not, I know someone needed sleeping meds and had to get to sleep immediately after, was that you? lol oh my memory :rolleyes:
 
Looks like bouncing to me. He might be dropping lower at night so some evening testing would help. Stay the course ...
 
I agree with sticking to 2u for now. If you could get some evening tests, that would be really helpful. It's hard to suggest an increase without knowing for sure that he'll be safe overnight. Many cats run lower at night than they do during the day.
 
Thanks @Kris & Teasel and @Djamila . @Djamila , I'm actually not looking to increase, more concerned that his dose is too high. I'll try a few more cycles at 2u.
I understood that. You only saw one green a while back on 1.75 u and the lows more recently have been blues. The 2 u dose numbers have been elevated by bouncing. The hope is that he'll settle more on this dose so he can drop to the low it's capable of giving.
 
Totally, it's just that Djamila said "It's hard to suggest an increase without knowing for sure that he'll be safe overnight." so I was clarifying that I'm not looking to do that! I'll let you all know how 2u goes...
 
Yep, dosing based on a bounce cycle isn't a good idea. Give him some time to settle in before you decide to decrease..I think he'll surprise you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top