? Should I Be Worried? 06/29/18 Squallie AMBG 66, PMPS 190, +2/246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Well, I just dropped Squallie off at the vet specialty center. I am shaking like a leaf and feel a little queasy. I don’t like being away from him! They promised me they will take the very best care of him, and they will let him have the T-shirt. I am worried that they will overdose his insulin, though. I’m just worried in general!!!:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
We are all thinking of you and little Squallie. I know you are worried, I won't tell you not to be, that's impossible. We are all rooting for him and sending vines, healing energy, prayers and everything else we can think of. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Squallie will be okay. After all its Squallie. T-shirt???? They give you a t-shirt?

I dread July 10 for us, leaving Olive for hers. It's more because I don't know the vet and because like you she isn't with me. Take notes let me know how you do it. I will need instructions. I'm not taking her insulin in.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We are all thinking of you and little Squallie. I know you are worried, I won't tell you not to be, that's impossible. We are all rooting for him and sending vines, healing energy, prayers and everything else we can think of. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Lou, much appreciated! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Squallie will be okay. After all its Squallie. T-shirt???? They give you a t-shirt?

I dread July 10 for us, leaving Olive for hers. It's more because I don't know the vet and because like you she isn't with me. Take notes let me know how you do it. I will need instructions. I'm not taking her insulin in.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Paula! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

No, the T-shirt is one I sent with him because it smells like me and home. I don't know this vet, either, but the one time I met him I liked him. I am trusting him to take the best care possible of my sweet boy. He's never been away from me for this long, before. :(:nailbiting: They had me bring his insulin in, in case they need to give him some. He didn't get the half-dose he was supposed to this morning because his BG was only 66.
 
Lucy wanted to leave one of her shirts for Squallie and wasn't sure they would let her.
They kind of hesitated, and said they usually don't like to do it because sometimes things end up not going home with the pet it belongs to; I said I didn't care at all what happened to the T-shirt afterwards, as long as he got to use it while he was there, and that seemed to relieve her mind.
 
Oh Lucy ❤️ Never has a kitty and momma had more supporters sending any more love, thoughts, vines and prayers to them than you and Squallie :bighug: We are all there in spirit with Squallie and with you :bighug::bighug::bighug: May you sense and draw from this ❤️:bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️:bighug:
 
The vet called, Squallie is out of surgery and they say he did great! They said I can pick him up in about 4 hours (after 5 PM, Eastern). They took out everything except his incisors - those tiny little front teeth. The vet said his teeth were all affected - he must have been in a lot of pain from it. Cats are so good at hiding pain! Of course, they tried to get me to give him a shot of Convenia, which I politely refused, so we're doing another round of Clavamox, and he'll have bupe for pain. I forgot to ask whether or not they gave him any insulin, so I'll need to ask when I pick him up.

Thank you so much to everybody who has given us so much support and encouragement; it really has meant the world to us. I don't think I could have gone through with it if not for you all. :bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️:bighug:
 
The vet just called me again (I almost had a heart attack when I saw their name on the caller ID!) to ask about Squallie's insulin, so that's one less thing I'll have to remember when I pick him up, lol. They have not given him any insulin, they were going to but I suggested that I just go ahead and give it myself at his usual time tonight, and the vet thought that would be fine. :cat:
 
they were going to but I suggested that I just go ahead and give it myself at his usual time tonight,
See how he's eating first. I would take his BG when you get home, then again at PMPS. If he's dropping, and/or not eating because of the mouth ouchies, you might want a reduced dose.

So glad that dental is done and dusted! :bighug:
 
My sweet boy is home, and happy to be here. He was very hungry and ate about 1/2 his usual meal. His BG was quite high - he hadn't had any insulin today - so I gave him a slightly lower dose than usual. I'm hoping he will eat again later. I got him some tasty baby food, which he loves, because I figured it's nice and mushy-soft. He got a dose of bupe, and has settled in for a nap. :):):)
 
He was 190 at PMPS so I gave him a skinny 2 instead of his usual 2.25. Two hours later he's at 246 - should I be worried? He did have about 1/2 jar of baby food, which has cornstarch in it, so I figured that raised his BG a bit. The rest of the food he had was Fancy Feast Beef, the Classic stuff.
 
I don't think you need to be worried. He didn't have full doses today. Did they give dextrose IV? That's sugar. He might have some pain going.
It doesn't look like they gave him any glucose. I do think he was hurting a bit, I gave him a dose of bupe and, of course, now he's snoozing away. He didn't have any insulin at all today, until tonight.
 
Hey, Lucy. Sorry I’ve been out of the loop here. Spunky had surgery yesterday.

Great news that Squallie's oral surgery went well. And I’ll bet, grogginess and all, he is one happy fella to be back home.

Vines for you and for Squallie's steady recovery. And scritches for your sweet boy! ❤️
 
Hey, Lucy. Sorry I’ve been out of the loop here. Spunky had surgery yesterday.

Great news that Squallie's oral surgery went well. And I’ll bet, grogginess and all, he is one happy fella to be back home.

Vines for you and for Squallie's steady recovery. And scritches for your sweet boy! ❤️

Thanks, Sina! I hope Spunky's surgery went well! I've kind of been out of the loop, as well.

Yes, Squallie was very glad to be home, lol!

Hugs to you and gentle scritches to all the Tribe. :bighug:❤️
 
Two hours later he's at 246 - should I be worried?

After all the stress, pain, being off schedule and probably just feeling kind of cruddy from everything being out of whack, his numbers could be pretty wonky for awhile.

Just give him extra loving (like you could!!) and get some rest while you're able to!!

Yo Squallie, dude!!….Sounds like da toof fairy owes you big time!! Just think about all da good stuff you'll be able to get wif all dat money!! "Hello..Chewy?? I'll take a dozen of dis and a half dozen of dat" ~ China
 
After all the stress, pain, being off schedule and probably just feeling kind of cruddy from everything being out of whack, his numbers could be pretty wonky for awhile.

Just give him extra loving (like you could!!) and get some rest while you're able to!!

Yo Squallie, dude!!….Sounds like da toof fairy owes you big time!! Just think about all da good stuff you'll be able to get wif all dat money!! "Hello..Chewy?? I'll take a dozen of dis and a half dozen of dat" ~ China
Thanks, Chris! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hey China, I likes da way you fink. I gots lots of teef for da toof fairy!
Squallie
 
Some cats go lower after anesthesia, but being in pain and all the trauma of being at the vet, plus no insulin, could certainly send his numbers up. I'm glad he's eaten something and is resting. Now you rest and take care of you, too.

Loads of healing vines on the way for sweet Squallie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top