? Snickers - 4-17-20 - dropped to 65 yesterday, need advice

SingsToCats

Member Since 2020
Snickers was at 65 yesterday when it was time for his morning shot. I gave him a little honey and dry food, and it gradually went back up.

I think this happened because we've been replacing more of his dry food with wet food.

First, I wanted to ask if pancake syrup can be used instead of plain karo syrup. I didn't realize the honey was old and starting to crystallize.

Second, I need advice on his dose. I only lowered it .25, I felt safe doing that for his PM shot because his reading was "Hi." Also I'm staying up with him to test him.

Is lowering it by .25 enough? Should I consider lowering it further?

4-16-20
AMPS 65 - no shot - +20 minutes = 86, + 45 minutes = 126, +2 hours - 191, PMPS = "Hi", +2 = 568
 
Honey that has crystallised is ok still if you get stuck.
I’m not sure about the pancake syrup as I don’t know what it has on it.
I would get a fresh bottle of either honey or karo and have it put aside just for Snickers.

Yes you reduce the dose by 0.25 units when you get a reduction.
It’s looking like the change over of food is making a big difference. At the moment he is bouncing from the low preshot this morning.

If you get a low preshot like you did this morning and you want to give some food to bring the BG up.....if it is at shot time, try low carb food first because the insulin is wearing off at +12 and if you feed a high carb food, you might send the BG up higher than needed. Does that make sense.?
If you had got the BG of 65 in the middle of the cycle I would have given some high carb food as the insulin was still strong then.
 
Thanks for the help. What you said about giving low carb food makes sense. We got scared when he was at 65, we've never seen him that low.

For high carb wet food we have some Friskies pate with gravy. I'll have to try and find out how many carbs it has. We have to be careful because he won't eat food chunks or shreds, if we give him that kind of food he just drinks the gravy.

Right now I give him 1/8 cup of Purina DM dry before each shot. I may have reduced the amount of dry food too fast, he was free feeding on it, and I don't even know how much he was eating.
 
Thanks for the help. What you said about giving low carb food makes sense. We got scared when he was at 65, we've never seen him that low.

For high carb wet food we have some Friskies pate with gravy. I'll have to try and find out how many carbs it has. We have to be careful because he won't eat food chunks or shreds, if we give him that kind of food he just drinks the gravy.

Right now I give him 1/8 cup of Purina DM dry before each shot. I may have reduced the amount of dry food too fast, he was free feeding on it, and I don't even know how much he was eating.
It’s quite normal to be scared the first few times you see green numbers. You didnt do anything wrong by giving the higher carb food, it’s just better at the end of the cycle to try low carb first as long as the BG is not too low.

Fancy feast gravy lovers are high carb, you can find out the carb content below. Always mark the top of the times with the carb content so when you need them in a hurry you don’t have to try and find out how many carbs
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
Back
Top