? Snickers - pmps 418 - what is involved in switching to TR?

SingsToCats

Member Since 2020
I raised his dose by .25 this morning. His numbers are always so high I felt like I had to.

I am getting incredible push back from my parents. My mom wants me to test less (I want to test more). My dad wants me to stop increasing his dose. The vet said cats are hard to regulate, so my dad thinks his numbers will never get better.

I know I might not be able to do Tight Regulation when his numbers start getting low, because I can't test as much as I want to. But could I do it now? I feel like I need to raise his dose more often, we simply aren't getting anywhere.
 
It can be hard when there are others on the house who don’t agree with what you are doing. Try to just let it wash over you without affecting you. You know you are doing the right thing...and we think you are doing the right thing. Some cats can be hard to regulate and others can be easier. And when a cat gets to the best dose, he can suddenly become a more regulated cat. You just haven’t found the best dose. Snickers is still a newly diagnosed cat.
Doing TR will allow you to increase the dose more quickly which will hopefully get Snickers into better numbers quicker.

Yes you can switch to TR as long as you are only feeding wet food. If you are feeding any dry food, you are disqualified from TR.
Have a look at the yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus page for particulars.
With TR you can increase every 3 day (or 6 cycles) if needed.
You are testing enough for TR although I would try and get a few more in the PM cycle if you can.make sure you have a hypo kit that is properly stocked. That is important. If you get a very low number it is very hard to help you if you don’t have the necessary tools.

Because you are using an human meter, the take action BG number is 50. That is when you would give some high carb food to bring the number up over 50. And you would reduce the dose if you drop under 50.
If you decide to change to TR could you change your signature please and in the SS.Thanks.
Ask more questions if unsure.
Good luck.

ETA can you also put in the middle of that thick blue line in the SS in big letters that you have changed to a ReliOn meter please so that it is easy to see.please?
 
I understand how you're feeling with family. Giving their opinion on testing etc. My DH was upset with me with all the testing I did on Molly. Her poor ears he would say. He just didn't understand what I was doing. We would get upset with each other. Now he finally understands. He'll remind me when it's time to test her. Asks what her BG is or the signs that she maybe too low. It took little over a year for him to finally get it :) he loves her and so do I. It's been a stressful time for sure!
 
Back
Top