Spreadsheet feedback please 2/9 Cleo AMPS=445 +1=395 +2=458 PMPS=568 +1=457

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
02/08 recap
AMPS=400
+2=497
+4=439
+6=371
+9=377
PMPS=378
+1=392
+3=293
+5=386
+7=475

Good Morning to all!
Yesterday I've increased Cleo's dose from 2.25u to 2.50. Yesterday's cycle was quite flat, except for a yellow at +3 in the evening. At +3 she ate, so I think the drop was interrupted.
I'm a little worried about this dose, because it's the first time I increased on Sunday. Usually I increase on days that allow me to monitor her.

I can't stop to think that she is bouncing too much with these high doses. When she was on a lower dose, she spent more time on yellows and blues. See please 11/1 - 12/6 - 12/14 - 12/24... It seems that yellows didn't make her bouncing as now.

My fear is that I increase, increase, increase... and I don't notice that I've exceeded the right dose. If what I say doesn't make sense, please tell me. I only want Cleo to be safe, I can't be concentrated at work, if I think Cleo is in danger at home (more than 30 km from me).

Any advice will be very appreciated. Thank you very much.

Have a good day and many vines to all in need.

Delia
 
Is there anyone that could look at Cleo's spreadsheet and tell me what is going on?
 
Sorry, I don't want to be annoying, but Cleo seems to go worst every time I increase the dose. I don't see any sign of improvement. I know this is a marathon, but she seems to worsen.
 
New Dose Wonkiness also called NDW can affect the first couple of cycles after an increase. It's a temporary increase in the numbers. Neko sometimes gets NDW. It's very annoying, nothing you can do but wait.
 
Hi Delia,

Cleo's spreadsheet is a bit complicated for me to comment on, but it looks like you have done your increases according to the protocol. It looks like Cleo had (has?) some health issues that could be impeding her progress. The steriods that you gave for the ear infection could still be influencing her blood glucose (steroids increase blood glucose). Is the food you are feeding low in carbohydrates? I am not familiar with Italian brands. Is this food canned or dry? If dry kibble, one reason why you are seeing high numbers may be the kibble. Try switching to an all-wet food diet (but do it gradually so the transition will not disrupt Cleo's body).

I hope that one of the more experienced people will be along to take a look at Cleo's spreadsheet. In any event, I think you should give this dose a chance to settle in.

Good luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thank you Wendy and Ella for having stopped and taken the time to reply to me.
I've read about NDW, Cleo seems to got it every time I increased.

Cleo has stopped taking steroids a month ago. They can still influence blood glucose?

The food I'm feeding is completely wet and low in carbohydrates. On 1/21 I switched from Purina DM (7% carbs) to a lower carbs food (max 4% carbs).
Cleo has been visited from vet a week ago and she doesn't appear to have health issues anymore.

I have done increases according to the protocol, but since in the morning I can't monitor I can't know if she went low and earned a reduction. However her numbers are in average higher than they was in December and I don't undestand why.
 
I'm willing to offer a theory (and happy for people to tell me why I've got it wrong if I have).

View the dance as a battle between the liver and the insulin. At first the liver was surprised to get an insulin attack so that the insulin had the upper hand. However, with a lot of skips and stalls and reduced doses the insulin didn't have a chance to continue its charge and the liver had a chance to hone it's fighting skills. Therefore the liver is fighting harder now and you need to throw more insulin at it to try and beat it back into submission.

Please don't take this in any way shape or form as a criticism of your treatment of Cleo, it's definitely not meant that way, just my theory on her spreadsheet :)

Can you leave a timed feeder for Cleo when you're at work? Most cats will feed themselves when low.
 
So, according with your theory if I hold on with insulin, it will win on liver? Thank you for having shared this with me, I think it is an interesting and possible theory.

I leave a timed feeder for Cleo, but she eats all just right it opens. She should be covered, but I'm always a little worried about her alone at home.
 
That's my theory - increase with the protocol and try to be as consistent as you can in order to beat the liver into submission :) someone may come along with a different theory - or offer a more scientific explanation of why they agree in principle. I know that it's hard to look back and see better numbers. I saw that with Purrdy, although he's comparatively low and flat 1.5units saw better numbers than 1.75 or 2 (liver must have developed a better battle plan in those doses) but then at 2.25 the insulin got more traction. And at 2.50 - who knows off to test now, this was Vyktors break through dose so hopefully it runs in the family!

You wouldn't be a good bean if you didn't worry ;)
 
Thank you Vyktors Mum, I will go on following the protocol, hoping to see soon some results. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top