? Stalling: need advice on Vetsulin dosing

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lisa and Smoky, Sep 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I am not sure about giving smoky his AM dose. BG at 76 at 11:15pm last night, +3 after his shot, jumped to 322 by 2:15am, + 6 after PM shot. Checking his PSAM BG in 5 minutes. First time he ever had low BG, has always been around 350-380 since his dx on Sept 1st, 2016. Just checked smoky, PSAM 288.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
    Reason for edit: New info
  2. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
  3. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Hi Lisa, do you have the AM preshot number?

    Eliz
     
  4. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Just posted it, it was 288
     
  5. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    It was 288
     
  6. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Still can't figure out how to copy a link from yesterday, not very PC savvy. Maybe it's just my phone, will try it on my pc
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
    Reason for edit: New info
  7. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Lisa, I can't stay to watch you this morning so I'm just going to tell you what I think (remember, I've never used Vetsulin)

    Are you going to be home today to test as much as necessary? If so, the 1 unit dose last night actually did OK...he dropped to 76 (which is a safe number), but we don't know what might have happened if you hadn't given the Karo/food....he could have kept dropping or that might have been as low as he was going to go....that's what we mean when we say that Vetsulin usually hits "hard and fast" and then wears off long before the next shot

    That being said, I also don't see any reason why you couldn't give .5 this morning if it would make you more comfortable while you're getting used to testing and posting

    Might let you "ease into it" a little slower while you're learning
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  8. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Okey dokey,
    That 288 should be shootable in principle (will you be able to monitor if you give the shot?)

    But I would strongly suggest that you reduce the dose. I agree with Chris's suggestion of half a unit.
    For newcomers to Vetsulin/Caninsulin we suggest that it is best not to 'aim' for a nadir (lowest number) of less than 90 to 100 (5 - 5.6). That is to give some buffer of safety if the cat's blood glucose actually drops lower than that.
    That 76 that you got yesterday was a bit too low, and also a bit too early in the cycle (he may have dropped even further without intervention from you).

    Eliz
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  9. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks for the info and all your help. One quick question, .5 is how much, I have U40 syringes
     
  10. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I will be home the next three days so can hone test. Never mind about the .5 duh, I shld have known it was half a unit.
     
  11. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Hi Lisa,

    Here, for a bit of light reading (;)) is the link to the Vetsulin/Caninsulin user guide. It has some basic info on handling and using this insulin.
    Vetsulin/Caninsulin user guide

    It's good that you are able to test today.
    Do shout out if you need help, or if you are concerned in any way. :bighug:

    Eliz
     
  12. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thank you for your advice and Chris too has been very helpful. I will be home the next three days so can watch my boy
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  13. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks Eliz
    I was just looking over the vetsulin guide when you posted. Slept about 4 hours so going to try and get a catnap in.:cat:
     
  14. Callie & Patches

    Callie & Patches Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    I give Callie Vetsulin and I have had times when we get numbers lower then what I feel comfortable with. I keep slowly reducing her dose to match what her numbers are going and where they might be going. Callie's numbers are always lower in the middle of the night. I have to give her a smaller dose for her PM shot.
     
  15. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I gave smoky half a unit of vetsulin in the am, his BG was 288 but it was 76 at +3 after his pm shot. I had some good advice from others on this board. I don't know what I wld do if I didn't have all of you.
     
  16. Alexi

    Alexi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
  17. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
    Reason for edit: New info
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page