Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 13

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Lisa and Smoky, Apr 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Hope you will get some answers from the Vet, Lisa :bighug:
     
    Rachel and Lisa and Smoky like this.
  2. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Smoky didn't want to eat last night. He acted really hungry but only ate a few bites. I gave him 0.5 units but was worried since he ate so little. He would not even eat his HC wet food. I ended up giving him HC kibble which he gobbled right up. As a result of that his BG jumped to 183 this morning. He is eating better in am but should I still give the same dose of 0.5U for am shot? I figure the 183 was a bit food influenced.
     
  3. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Aw, poor Smoky. His PSs are really good and his dose has come down a lot. I hope the vet is more helpful this week.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'd give the 0.5. If that HC kibble is OK with his allergies, I'd just feed him that to see if it helps. Many people here have to feed differently or dose around other conditions.
     
    Djamila likes this.
  5. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks Kris. I'll give him the 0.5 for am shot. I'm waiting for cat clinic to open in another half hour so I can talk to the vet.
     
  6. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I can get Smoky in today for exam and regular blood work. However, to have the test done that measures the digestive enzymes requires an 8 to 12 hour fast.
    They wanted to keep him overnight for that but it would stress him out too much.
    I asked the vet's office if I could just pick up his food the night before his test, it would still be the same time frame.
    They have to check with vet and call me back.
     
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I hope they'll agree to you keeping him at home.
     
    Djamila likes this.
  8. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I don't see why they wouldn't let you fast him at home. It's not like you want to risk throwing the test off so you'll sneak food during the fasting time :) We know how to listen to Vet directions... and follow most of the time :smuggrin:
     
  9. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I can fast him at home overnight. Of course there will be hell to pay tomorrow morning when I don't feed him.:eek:
    Plus I might want to take a nap before bedtime. I suspect I will lose sleep when he can't eat from midnight until after they draw blood. I'm sneaking a little bit of food in my bag for him to eat in his carrier after the blood sample and exam are done:rolleyes:. He is out more today than usual. He was sleeping in his kitty bed and hanging out in my windows in bedroom.
     

    Attached Files:

    Rachel and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  10. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Whispering... I think he knows about kitty visit tomorrow and is trying to act normal.:p
     
  11. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    He's like "It's cool it's cool...I'm fine!"
     
  12. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Smoky was 127 for PMPS so another no shot for tonight. He has to do his fast tonight so he can't have a shot in the morning either. I hope that doesn't mess up his BG too much.
     
  13. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Behave for your Mum, Smoky :bighug: Don't scare her with a wonky AMPS :cat:
     
    Lisa and Smoky likes this.
  14. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Let us know how things go!
     
  15. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good luck, Lisa! Keep us posted. :bighug:
     
  16. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I'm at the vet now.
     
  17. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    They are running multiple tests including an EPI, what they call a GI panel (Chem, CBC, B12, Folate, Spec fPl, and an FtLI test to check for digestive enzymes. Plus they are doing another ultrasound. Poor Smoky has to wait until 11 am to eat something.:oops: That would be 11 hours w/o food.:( it's $660 for all that. :nailbiting: I feel so bad for him, he just started growing his hair back from the last ultrasound they did in Oct.
     
  18. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Ouch for your wallet! I hope this gives useful information, Lisa. Didn't you say you were taking some food with you to give as soon as you leave there?
     
  19. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Time to start a new thread soon. I almost feel like I shld wait to eat until he can.o_O
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  20. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I have some food to give him but have to wait until ultrasound is done first.
     
  21. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    They are done with the ultrasound and blood work. He shld be out in a few minutes. I'll have to wait a few days for the results.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  22. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Fingers crossed.
     
  23. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    How are you feeling since the vet visit, Lisa? I know there won't be results for a few days.
     
  24. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I'm kind of worried actually. What if they say he needs a lot of expensive treatments? I just can't do that to him Kris. He has been through so much already.
     
  25. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I gave him his can of food and he jumped out of the carrier onto the floor to get it.
    One of their clients who came in the door asked me if he was a rescue kitty. That made me realize just how skinny he is and I keep thinking could I have done more for him to help him.:confused:
     
  26. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Aw Lisa, I think you've done a GREAT job with him! I know it's worrying to wait for the results, but try not to let it worry you too much. The results will at least let you know more information that can maybe help you. And until you get them, it's useless to worry about it (which I know doesn't help...I'm the worst at that. I'm like, "no reason to worry until there is a reason" and then I proceed to worry...). :bighug:
     
  27. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Don't think about that for now. :bighug:
     
    Lisa and Smoky likes this.
  28. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Smoky was 176 for PMPS, 36 hours w/o insulin.:eek: I thought it might be a wonky strip so tested again and cane up with the same number. Should I give him 0.5 units as I've been doing the last few times?
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  29. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow!!!!! Go Smoky! Yeah I think 0.5 would be fine.
     
  30. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks for cheering me up Rachel. :)I'm trying not to worry as he picks up on that pretty quickly.
     
  31. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks Kris for the hug. :)Smoky gets nervous when I get nervous.:facepalm:
     
  32. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Very nice, Smoky! *paws crossed for good results* Lisa! I'm in the same boat as Rachel, worry regardless :)
     
    Lisa and Smoky likes this.
  33. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Now instead of hiding in the closet Smoky has decided to hide in his carrier. He does have a soft fluffy blanket in there. He likes it in there as long as the door is open on it.
     
  34. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Not a bad thing. I have a carrier sitting out with door open in plain view all the time. It's just part of the furniture to my three so if one needs to go to the vet I pick up kitty and go to that "thing" that's always there. ;)
     
  35. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Numbers look good, Lisa. How is he doing?
     
  36. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I'm a little bummed. He is staying in his carrier a lot.
     
  37. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I'm hoping to hear back from the vet tomorrow.
     
  38. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Let us know :bighug:
     
  39. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Thinking of you guys...he might just actually be comfy in the carrier. Mine have done that before. :bighug:
     
    Lisa and Smoky likes this.
  40. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sending positive energy your way. :bighug:
     
    Lisa and Smoky likes this.
  41. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    It's onward to the bend in the road... Part 14 of our adventure.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page