Taco 10/23.AMPS 256,+1 346,+4 307,+6 357,+8 356,+10 247,PMPS 274,+3 231,+5 238,+9 259,+11 283.

I see that the bouncing Tigger that Chris posted yesterday is still bouncing away. :rolleyes: I used to find with Neko that prolonged stretches of good numbers caused the worst bounces.

Down Taco! But gently please.
 
I see that the bouncing Tigger that Chris posted yesterday is still bouncing away. :rolleyes: I used to find with Neko that prolonged stretches of good numbers caused the worst bounces.

Down Taco! But gently please.
I have confidence that he will come down, he's already doing that :) It's Taco time. I am still convinced that he went so low from not eating for 12 hours the night before, making sure he likes what he gets at his last meal @ +5 is something he will eat.He had been offered 2 different foods, one snack earlier that he did not eat. The night he did not eat, he sniffed it and walked away, I thought he would get up and eat some,as he usually does, but, he did not, bowl was untouched at +10 when my daughter got up to start her routine.So, I guess I will have to stand there for a few minutes and see if it meets his approval . Anyways, I think he will get there eventually. I will hold the 2U for 6 complete cycles unless he decides to dive again, hopefully not on this 2U. Thanks :)
 
So, on a funny note, I went to bed this AM and crashed, I always remind my daughter ,Moriah, Tacos mother to wake me up and give me his +11 & Amps. She did, but I was very incoherant when she came in and gave me his AMPS and I must have been in deep sleep. She asked me when I wanted her to test him again after his shot, and she said i said "next year, and what are the other 2 cats(civies) numbers. I heard a loud laugh from her and realized I didnt say something right, and tried to correct myself. I finally did and told her to test him again in 1 hour, she wasnt too happy as she had stayed up all day for the Taco show and usually goes back to bed for 2 hours. Oh well , she got a good laugh and , well, me I feel bad. But, it's over for now.
 
Last edited:
Too funny Cindy. Oh what these cats do to us!
animated-garfield-image-0011.gif
 
That’s a funny story!!!! :joyful::joyful: Early on after a PJ party, I got up the next morning after about an hour’s sleep and, instead of the rice sock, I put the glucometer in the microwave :woot::confused::confused: That didn’t go well. It wasn’t funny then but it is now!

I like the green and blue that’s been on his SS lately. :):):)

I don’t want to be a Monday morning quarterback but I see a couple times recently (including last night) where the dose was reduced by 0.5u for a BCS and then taken back up the next cycle by 0.25u.

I read the condos and understand why it was suggested but the reality of it is that it’s not helping Taco. Any time we skip a shot, shoot a BCS dose, etc, it’s for us and not the kitty. And that is absolutely fine if you are exhausted or are not available or able to test.

The concern is that some, and I don’t mean you since you tested throughout the cycle, get a false sense of security that a BCS dose will mean the BG will be higher that cycle. However, due to the depot, the cycle will likely play out the same way as it would have with the new, non BCS dose. Sometimes that means the numbers stay low and sometimes the kitty bounces.

As you can see last night, he was going to bounce regardless of the dose. And you can see on 10/17 that shooting a 0.5u BCS dose didn’t result in higher numbers....the depot kept him low that day.

I’d suggest that next time he earns a reduction, unless you can’t test for whatever reason, that you just reduce the dose by 0.25u or, if he has started to bounce by shot time, shoot through the bounce with the dose that warranted the reduction and then reduce by 0.25u at the next shot time.

An example:
A 3u dose results in a BG below 50 during the cycle warranting a dose reduction.
Next PS after the low is 300 or more; it would be fine to shoot through the bounce with a 3u dose provided the CG can monitor.
Conversely, if the next PS after the low is in the 200 range or lower, reduce the dose by 0.25u.

Make sense?
 
That’s a funny story!!!! :joyful::joyful: Early on after a PJ party, I got up the next morning after about an hour’s sleep and, instead of the rice sock, I put the glucometer in the microwave :woot::confused::confused: That didn’t go well. It wasn’t funny then but it is now!

I like the green and blue that’s been on his SS lately. :):):)

I don’t want to be a Monday morning quarterback but I see a couple times recently (including last night) where the dose was reduced by 0.5u for a BCS and then taken back up the next cycle by 0.25u.

I read the condos and understand why it was suggested but the reality of it is that it’s not helping Taco. Any time we skip a shot, shoot a BCS dose, etc, it’s for us and not the kitty. And that is absolutely fine if you are exhausted or are not available or able to test.

The concern is that some, and I don’t mean you since you tested throughout the cycle, get a false sense of security that a BCS dose will mean the BG will be higher that cycle. However, due to the depot, the cycle will likely play out the same way as it would have with the new, non BCS dose. Sometimes that means the numbers stay low and sometimes the kitty bounces.

As you can see last night, he was going to bounce regardless of the dose. And you can see on 10/17 that shooting a 0.5u BCS dose didn’t result in higher numbers....the depot kept him low that day.

I’d suggest that next time he earns a reduction, unless you can’t test for whatever reason, that you just reduce the dose by 0.25u or, if he has started to bounce by shot time, shoot through the bounce with the dose that warranted the reduction and then reduce by 0.25u at the next shot time.

An example:
A 3u dose results in a BG below 50 during the cycle warranting a dose reduction.
Next PS after the low is 300 or more; it would be fine to shoot through the bounce with a 3u dose provided the CG can monitor.
Conversely, if the next PS after the low is in the 200 range or lower, reduce the dose by 0.25u.

Make sense?
Yes :) It makes more sense when it's over :) But, while it's happening,nothing makes sense, especially when you've got someone like Taco that can't get his numbers up,once he starts dipping :( on 10/22 the big drop day,Moriah woke me up at +11a and told me he was 128, I responded with, wow that's great! At Amps she woke me again and said he's 98, and again I said that's great!! She said,Mom are you sure,he's in double digits, I said Moriah you have to shoot the 2.25. She argued and I said go, we dont do anything unless he's under 90, then we'll worry about it. So she did, and went back to bed, like she always does till +2, that's when she hollered at me to get up and I said, we HAVE to steer with LC and we did, we tried everything we could remember to get it right this time, but, Taco had other plans, he worked us and members ALL day, never giving him honey and very very small amounts of mc,lc and 1 time 25 carb when he hit 44. By the end of 12 hours, everyone was whipped,and didnt know if we could monitor any longer, so I chose to shoot 1.75 and was happy with it and knew what he would give me after that. Even tho I did stay up for hours after that,I was mentally worn out as I had only had about 2 hours sleep when my daughter woke me for Tacos party :( I have a feeling he's going to show us some scary lows in the near future from this bounce, but, I'm an eagle :) We will deal with it.I still say he went low from not eating the previous night, so, I'm watching that too. Regardless, I feel everything was done the only way it could have been done, and am grateful to those that stepped in. Their could have been others to give advice as I saw them online, but, they didnt. Every time this happens I learn, I don't want Taco in danger and that's why I'm here is to get guidance and suggestions. There will be times I wont take someones suggestion if I feel it will put Taco in more danger than he already is. I like to err on the side of caution with lows, but, I do thank you for everything you do and suggest :) Just like I don't think I could shoot a 50,I dont know? right now it's too scary for me. Someday,I know I will change my mind. I am VERY honest with Tacos numbers and like everyone else I have fears, I just want people to remember where they were and were they are now. :) A good example is go back and read where I was in 2017 when Taco was diagnosed,it's embarrasing to me,that's all I knew,but, I leave it up as a reminder of where I was ;) I left because it was just too complicated at the time, and went and did things on my own, and then found another group, that seemed easier to follow. I did get some good info under my belt and can say I learned a lot there, but, once the going got tuff I was more or less abandoned, I don't want to feel that way here, and so far, I don't, but I can tell that some members forget where they once were. It's ok, I've learned to take what I want and leave the rest, and then maybe go back and pick up what I left, that now makes more sense to me. It's a lot to take in , even after learning the basics, and the not so basics. Sorry I was so long winded :) :bighug::bighug:
 
Yes :) It makes more sense when it's over :) But, while it's happening,nothing makes sense, especially when you've got someone like Taco that can't get his numbers up,once he starts dipping :( on 10/22 the big drop day,Moriah woke me up at +11a and told me he was 128, I responded with, wow that's great! At Amps she woke me again and said he's 98, and again I said that's great!! She said,Mom are you sure,he's in double digits, I said Moriah you have to shoot the 2.25. She argued and I said go, we dont do anything unless he's under 90, then we'll worry about it. So she did, and went back to bed, like she always does till +2, that's when she hollered at me to get up and I said, we HAVE to steer with LC and we did, we tried everything we could remember to get it right this time, but, Taco had other plans, he worked us and members ALL day, never giving him honey and very very small amounts of mc,lc and 1 time 25 carb when he hit 44. By the end of 12 hours, everyone was whipped,and didnt know if we could monitor any longer, so I chose to shoot 1.75 and was happy with it and knew what he would give me after that. Even tho I did stay up for hours after that,I was mentally worn out as I had only had about 2 hours sleep when my daughter woke me for Tacos party :( I have a feeling he's going to show us some scary lows in the near future from this bounce, but, I'm an eagle :) We will deal with it.I still say he went low from not eating the previous night, so, I'm watching that too. Regardless, I feel everything was done the only way it could have been done, and am grateful to those that stepped in. Their could have been others to give advice as I saw them online, but, they didnt. Every time this happens I learn, I don't want Taco in danger and that's why I'm here is to get guidance and suggestions. There will be times I wont take someones suggestion if I feel it will put Taco in more danger than he already is. I like to err on the side of caution with lows, but, I do thank you for everything you do and suggest :) Just like I don't think I could shoot a 50,I dont know? right now it's too scary for me. Someday,I know I will change my mind. I am VERY honest with Tacos numbers and like everyone else I have fears, I just want people to remember where they were and were they are now. :) A good example is go back and read where I was in 2017 when Taco was diagnosed,it's embarrasing to me,that's all I knew,but, I leave it up as a reminder of where I was ;) I left because it was just too complicated at the time, and went and did things on my own, and then found another group, that seemed easier to follow. I did get some good info under my belt and can say I learned a lot there, but, once the going got tuff I was more or less abandoned, I don't want to feel that way here, and so far, I don't, but I can tell that some members forget where they once were. It's ok, I've learned to take what I want and leave the rest, and then maybe go back and pick up what I left, that now makes more sense to me. It's a lot to take in , even after learning the basics, and the not so basics. Sorry I was so long winded :) :bighug::bighug:
I can only assure you that I have never forgotten what it’s like to be new and the fears at each new step.

I’ve also been giving advice and helping other members since 2011 and, I promise, my very first priority is always safety. Always. Safety, for me, means considering whether the CG is able and available to monitor.

I would have liked to have been along on your journey the last few weeks but I was gone and also then had family here working towards wrapping up my mom’s trust issues so I just wasn’t able to post. I’m glad he’s been doing better.
 
I can only assure you that I have never forgotten what it’s like to be new and the fears at each new step.

I’ve also been giving advice and helping other members since 2011 and, I promise, my very first priority is always safety. Always. Safety, for me, means considering whether the CG is able and available to monitor.

I would have liked to have been along on your journey the last few weeks but I was gone and also then had family here working towards wrapping up my mom’s trust issues so I just wasn’t able to post. I’m glad he’s been doing better.
I didn't mean you at all :) My post was not about you at all :bighug: It was a general post of my feelings and how it just is sometimes. It's very hard to convey feelings on the net most of the time unless you know that person personally and even then... I know you have had your share of doing "family" things,and you did tell me in advance and I appreciate it,you didn't have to, and those things are harder to deal with than probably anything else, I can relate. I'm happy you are back, I looked for you and missed you. Thanks for your care and your first priority in this crazy journey :bighug::bighug:
 
Just like I don't think I could shoot a 50,I dont know? right now it's too scary for me.

I remember the first time somebody told me that they'd shoot anything over 50.....My first thought was "What the heck have you been smoking"????…..LOL

But eventually, as I gained more experience and learned more about how China responded to both the insulin and food, I gradually shot lower and lower numbers.

It takes time and knowing your cat really well but you'll get there! I have faith in you!!
 
I didn't mean you at all :) My post was not about you at all :bighug: It was a general post of my feelings and how it just is sometimes. It's very hard to convey feelings on the net most of the time unless you know that person personally and even then... I know you have had your share of doing "family" things,and you did tell me in advance and I appreciate it,you didn't have to, and those things are harder to deal with than probably anything else, I can relate. I'm happy you are back, I looked for you and missed you. Thanks for your care and your first priority in this crazy journey :bighug::bighug:
I understand and I know you didn’t mean me specifically but I wanted to reassure you that I, personally, will never forget each step on our FD journey. I know you were just expressing your feelings and that is great as that’s part of what this board is all about.....sharing our stresses and fears of FD and life.

It’s great to be back home....I missed my husband and my babies.
 
I remember the first time somebody told me that they'd shoot anything over 50.....My first thought was "What the heck have you been smoking"????…..LOL

But eventually, as I gained more experience and learned more about how China responded to both the insulin and food, I gradually shot lower and lower numbers.

It takes time and knowing your cat really well but you'll get there! I have faith in you!!
Thank you Chris for your support and understanding AND having faith in me, that means a lot!!:bighug:
 
Back
Top