? Tiger's 4/30 PMPs 179, 144, 130, AMPS 125, 120+13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacque- Tiger & Jazz Man

Member Since 2014
Previous Thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...now-why-what-is-he-doing.228822/#post-2563027
Today's AMPS is 157, after yesterdays "N.S." and a reduction to 4.75U
His Pre-Shots have been high since his diagnosis. So, I've had to keep the unit doses in the 5 range. Now his Pre-shots are a lot lower. The ONLY change that I've made is I took him off the Prednisolone on March 20th. He was on it to help with his breathing when he had fluid in his chest cavity, he is still on Lasix. Starting to think that the excessive fluid in his Chest cavity was causing him stress. Prednisolone is what kept him so high in the beginning. We've gone for a heck of ride. BLACK and RED for soooo long. No idea how long he was HI prior to me(on a whim) checking his glucose. He is happier being in the Higher numbers(colors)
It's LOVE seeing the lower numbers, but he doesn't seem to like them this low.
If you want to follow his journey or get caught up take a look see at his SS.
And ALL the posts here: Links are provided at the beginning and end of the Post Threads.
 
I totally get where you are coming from! I was ok then I really wasn’t ok... lol but oh my goodness now I’m a changed person! I can do things now I never thought possible! And genuinely the diabetic journey and the help and support on here have changed me. Giving my cat fluids for the first time was fine! I can genuinely say that, I had no panic, a little normal anxiety but that was all.. that’s a major thing for me - I have a diagnosed needle phobia.
You are more amazing than you ever knew you were! And one day you (like me) will realise that. ;)
I'm not new to much of anything when it comes to cat care. I've pretty much have to deal with all kinds of sicknesses and diseases on a daily basis.
It's this darn diabetes...Jazz Man never and still doesn't have insane readings for his diabetes..so, this is new to me..the insanity of Tiger's bounces.
 
20200428_172509.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200428_172509.jpg
    20200428_172509.jpg
    79.5 KB · Views: 302
Done some reading. I've read Tilly, Fdmb Sticky Notes and Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin.
Kinda confused on the dosing.
Tilly says:
Phase 1: Starting dose
In many cases, the starting dose of Lantus or Levemir has been 0.25 IU per kg of the cat's ideal weight and is always dosed BID (two times a day, 12 hours apart). If the cat received another kind of insulin previously, the starting dose should be raised or lowered by taking this information into account.
If we go by weight then he'd get 6.8kg's 2x a day because he weighs 15lbs. Which would be how much insulin?
If we go by him already being ON another kind of insulin..it doesn't say how much to give him. HUH??

Read up on SLGS and the Tight Regulation. It sounds like what I've been doing with the Prozinc is what would be considered Tight Regulation with the Levemir...right? Definitely not been doing the SLGS. Which in hindsight would have been easier for me, might have gotten more sleep then lol.
So which should I do for Tiger?

No refrigeration needed? Read discrepancies as to how long after open and refrigeration. And what is "room" temperature? lol.
No twirling with my fingers either? Doesn't need to be "shaken or stirred" lol
 
The Levimir has arrived!

Now what Jacque?
I'd suggest waiting until a cycle where you are more awake, your AM cycle, to start the Levemir.
Be sure to make that big bold "splash" on Tiger's SS when you make the change of insulins, plus your signature, plus at the very top of the SS.

It will take about 3 days or 6 cycles to fill the "depot" or storage area that the L insulins (lantus/levemir) have.

It's this darn diabetes...Jazz Man never and still doesn't have insane readings for his diabetes..so, this is new to me..the insanity of Tiger's bounces.

Well, Jazz Man never had the fluid buildup around his lungs, or the kidney disease that Tiger has, did he? So he never needed the prednisolone or the lasix.
You are more amazing than you ever knew you were! And one day you (like me) will realise that.
Could not agree more with this statement.

Jacque, you may want to "Graduate" and move to the Lantus/Levemir forum, where there are a few more experienced Levemir people to help you.

p.s. TempestsMum has horses and has a fun thread going on over in the Community & Off Topic forum.
Bringing a wee bit of Ireland to you
 
The Levimir has arrived!

Now what Jacque?
I'd suggest waiting until a cycle where you are more awake, your AM cycle, to start the Levemir.
Be sure to make that big bold "splash" on Tiger's SS when you make the change of insulins, plus your signature, plus at the very top of the SS.

It will take about 3 days or 6 cycles to fill the "depot" or storage area that the L insulins (lantus/levemir) have.



Well, Jazz Man never had the fluid buildup around his lungs, or the kidney disease that Tiger has, did he? So he never needed the prednisolone or the lasix.
Could not agree more with this statement.

Jacque, you may want to "Graduate" and move to the Lantus/Levemir forum, where there are a few more experienced Levemir people to help you.

p.s. TempestsMum has horses and has a fun thread going on over in the Community & Off Topic forum.
Bringing a wee bit of Ireland to you
Thinking I'll start him on it May 1st
 
Tiger cleared THAT bounce in one cycle. Back to the blues today for him.

No refrigeration needed? Read discrepancies as to how long after open and refrigeration. And what is "room" temperature? lol.
No twirling with my fingers either? Doesn't need to be "shaken or stirred" lol
Nope, no James Bond martinis treatment needed when using the L insulins. There are equal amounts of insulin distributed throughout the liquid, unlike the Prozinc and Vetsulin you are used to. Nothing to mix up.

Keep it in the fridge Jacque. Extend the life of the insulin as long as possible. Warmer temps are coming, and it can get plenty warm in the mid-west where you live.

Use the insulin syringes to withdraw from the mini-vial, not the dial a dose feature.
How to Draw Insulin from a Pen or Vial With a Syringe (Video from Julie & Punkin)

If we go by him already being ON another kind of insulin..it doesn't say how much to give him. HUH??
Usually the dose of another insulin is pretty darn close to the dose you are already using. But with Tiger getting off the prednisolone, he may not need that much levemir. Certainly not an amount based on his weight, since I think that would be too little. But not sure, so want a second opinion.

@Wendy&Neko is the most experienced person I know, on using levemir and what the starting dose for Tiger should be.

Read up on SLGS and the Tight Regulation. It sounds like what I've been doing with the Prozinc is what would be considered Tight Regulation with the Levemir...right? Definitely not been doing the SLGS. Which in hindsight would have been easier for me, might have gotten more sleep then lol.
So which should I do for Tiger?
I think TR (Tight Regulation) since you are already used to monitoring Tiger, and those "sleepless in Seattle" nights. ;)
 
Tiger cleared THAT bounce in one cycle. Back to the blues today for him.


Nope, no James Bond martinis treatment needed when using the L insulins. There are equal amounts of insulin distributed throughout the liquid, unlike the Prozinc and Vetsulin you are used to. Nothing to mix up.

Keep it in the fridge Jacque. Extend the life of the insulin as long as possible. Warmer temps are coming, and it can get plenty warm in the mid-west where you live.

Use the insulin syringes to withdraw from the mini-vial, not the dial a dose feature.
How to Draw Insulin from a Pen or Vial With a Syringe (Video from Julie & Punkin)


Usually the dose of another insulin is pretty darn close to the dose you are already using. But with Tiger getting off the prednisolone, he may not need that much levemir. Certainly not an amount based on his weight, since I think that would be too little. But not sure, so want a second opinion.

@Wendy&Neko is the most experienced person I know, on using levemir and what the starting dose for Tiger should be.


I think TR (Tight Regulation) since you are already used to monitoring Tiger, and those "sleepless in Seattle" nights. ;)
I'm so proud of him coming back after his latest bounce. Ok, will refrig. Amy also sent a bunch of bags of u100 syringes.
 
Typically we start at a similar Levemir dose as Prozinc, shaving off a little bit if you think you want a safety margin. Hopefully tomorrow will give you a better idea how 4.75 units is doing.

I may be "out of pocket" tomorrow. Worst Covid nightmare - elderly parents who live on an island, my DF fell and broke his leg and is currently in a hospital where there are Covid patients. I can't visit but have a few errands to do. Tagging @Marje and Gracie who used Lev long before I did.
 
Typically we start at a similar Levemir dose as Prozinc, shaving off a little bit if you think you want a safety margin. Hopefully tomorrow will give you a better idea how 4.75 units is doing.

I may be "out of pocket" tomorrow. Worst Covid nightmare - elderly parents who live on an island, my DF fell and broke his leg and is currently in a hospital where there are Covid patients. I can't visit but have a few errands to do. Tagging @Marje and Gracie who used Lev long before I did.
Prayers Wendy!
 
Previous Thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...now-why-what-is-he-doing.228822/#post-2563027
The ONLY change that I've made is I took him off the Prednisolone on March 20th.
Hey Jacque - was this a typo? I thought you took Tiger off Prednisolone this month - April 20th?
(I know I can't keep track of days and weeks lately with everything going on in the world right now - I literally have to look at the calendar every morning to see what day we're at)
 
Typically we start at a similar Levemir dose as Prozinc, shaving off a little bit if you think you want a safety margin. Hopefully tomorrow will give you a better idea how 4.75 units is doing.

I may be "out of pocket" tomorrow. Worst Covid nightmare - elderly parents who live on an island, my DF fell and broke his leg and is currently in a hospital where there are Covid patients. I can't visit but have a few errands to do. Tagging @Marje and Gracie who used Lev long before I did.
Oh no
 
AMPS 475 YIKES!!! But thats ok, we know he'll drop. Man..
@Chris & China (GA) @Deb & Wink we had talked about whether I do "slow go" or "tightened". It seems that from what I've read in Sticky Notes that one of the differences is that you don't do as much testing. See now here's my dilemma: Kevin is going back to work(2nd shift) on Mon. so I will get no help in testing. I am EXHAUSTED!! Between Tiger, Jazz testing other kids needing syringe feeding, subq ing, medication...I am SPENT. So I'm thinking that the "slow go" would be the way to go. From my understanding..Once a week he would need to be tested like every 2hrs, I can do that. But I can't continue the 24hr close monitoring of him. And I don't mean just the testing, but waking up just to make sure he isn't lethargic because of too high or too low.
Would like your input because YOU and @Deb & Wink know me best.
Also, if I do the "slow go" can that be changed at a later date to "tight"? Or do you have to stick with that forever?
 
AMPS 475 YIKES!!! But thats ok, we know he'll drop. Man..
@Chris & China (GA) @Deb & Wink we had talked about whether I do "slow go" or "tightened". It seems that from what I've read in Sticky Notes that one of the differences is that you don't do as much testing. See now here's my dilemma: Kevin is going back to work(2nd shift) on Mon. so I will get no help in testing. I am EXHAUSTED!! Between Tiger, Jazz testing other kids needing syringe feeding, subq ing, medication...I am SPENT. So I'm thinking that the "slow go" would be the way to go. From my understanding..Once a week he would need to be tested like every 2hrs, I can do that. But I can't continue the 24hr close monitoring of him. And I don't mean just the testing, but waking up just to make sure he isn't lethargic because of too high or too low.
Would like your input because YOU and @Deb & Wink know me best.
Also, if I do the "slow go" can that be changed at a later date to "tight"? Or do you have to stick with that forever?
I just don't want to let him down. I know that his shot HAS to be the exact time, no more no less with the Levemir. Prozinc I had some leeway.
 
4/20 off the pred. So prednisolone has only been out of the picture for 9 days (18 cycles) or so. That may be enough time for the effects to have cleared his system. Not 5 weeks like Wendy thought.

So I'm thinking that the "slow go" would be the way to go. From my understanding..Once a week he would need to be tested like every 2hrs, I can do that. But I can't continue the 24hr close monitoring of him. And I don't mean just the testing, but waking up just to make sure he isn't lethargic because of too high or too low.
Yes Jacque, you are the caregiver and you should select whichever dosing method meets your needs. You can switch from SLGS to TR and back if you want. There is no reason you have to stick with one dosing protocol forever.

It does get confusing if you are switching dosing protocols too often. So pick the SLGS method and get some shut eye once in a while.

I just don't want to let him down. I know that his shot HAS to be the exact time, no more no less with the Levemir. Prozinc I had some leeway.
There is a tiny bit of leeway with the L insulins. 15 minutes or so.
But you don't want to get too far off those 12/12 hour dosing cycles with the L insulins.
Because it will mess up the entire dosing schedule.

Tiger will probably drop low, and then you will need to stall and hold the food.
Or, you skip the shot or give a reduced dose, just like you learned to do with Prozinc.
The thing is, the nadir with Levemir is usually later than with Prozinc.
You will want to do a curve at least once a week, to see how Tiger is doing on his dose and find out what his nadir is on this new insulin.

You'll probably end up shooting some low pre-shots, because if I remember correctly, the onset of Levemir is later than with Lantus (or Prozinc).

Waiting for Marje to chime in on the dose. Let's not "count any chickens before they hatch" and try to guess what the dose should be for 5/1, when you said you would start the Levemir.

Kevin is going back to work(2nd shift) on Mon.
Yeah! Glad to hear your husband Kevin is going back to work. That was a financial and emotional strain with him being unemployed for a while.

p.s. Wendy, that is horrible about your DF. Sending healing vines and good thoughts his and your way.
 
4/20 off the pred. So prednisolone has only been out of the picture for 9 days (18 cycles) or so. That may be enough time for the effects to have cleared his system. Not 5 weeks like Wendy thought.


Yes Jacque, you are the caregiver and you should select whichever dosing method meets your needs. You can switch from SLGS to TR and back if you want. There is no reason you have to stick with one dosing protocol forever.

It does get confusing if you are switching dosing protocols too often. So pick the SLGS method and get some shut eye once in a while.


There is a tiny bit of leeway with the L insulins. 15 minutes or so.
But you don't want to get too far off those 12/12 hour dosing cycles with the L insulins.
Because it will mess up the entire dosing schedule.

Tiger will probably drop low, and then you will need to stall and hold the food.
Or, you skip the shot or give a reduced dose, just like you learned to do with Prozinc.
The thing is, the nadir with Levemir is usually later than with Prozinc.
You will want to do a curve at least once a week, to see how Tiger is doing on his dose and find out what his nadir is on this new insulin.

You'll probably end up shooting some low pre-shots, because if I remember correctly, the onset of Levemir is later than with Lantus (or Prozinc).

Waiting for Marje to chime in on the dose. Let's not "count any chickens before they hatch" and try to guess what the dose should be for 5/1, when you said you would start the Levemir.


Yeah! Glad to hear your husband Kevin is going back to work. That was a financial and emotional strain with him being unemployed for a while.

p.s. Wendy, that is horrible about your DF. Sending healing vines and good thoughts his and your way.
Slow go it is...I'll post in the Lantus/Levemir group later today and get some possible dose suggestions. @Wendy&Neko is going through a tough time right now and needs to focus on her loved one.
 
You'll probably end up shooting some low pre-shots, because if I remember correctly, the onset of Levemir is later than with Lantus (or Prozinc).
You will shoot low preshots because the nadir is later. It is not unusual to nadir around preshot. The up side is the onset is also later, so you have 3-5 hours before the next shot kicks in and you don’t have to worry so much about them eating right away,

When you consider starting dose of Lev, ability to monitor closely the first couple cycles is important.

Glad we got the 3/20 vs 4/20 cleared up on the pred.
 
Had to catch up on this.

If you are going to be home to monitor the first few cycles you start on Levemir, I’d start the dose at 4.75u. But, if you can’t be there to monitor fairly closely, I’d start at 4.5u. It’s easy enough to fast track a dose. Just be absolutely sure you have the U100 syringes.

Also, yes, we’d like to get the shots as close to a 12/12 schedule as possible but, really, Lantus and Levemir are more forgiving than most people think. No, you don’t want to pop the shot time around every cycle but I’ve found that shooting within 30 minutes really is no issue. My recommendation is that you not change the shot time by more than 30 minutes more than once a day until you build data and understand Tiger’s onset, nadir, and duration with Levemir. That might take some time so be patient. When I switched Gracie from Lantus to Levemir, it took her a couple months to really settle in and start doing much better where I could see what her cycles would really be like.

Insofar as SLGS vs TR, before you decide, you might want to read this post on doing TR with a full-time job. And even if you do SLGS, you’ll need to get a very minimum of four tests a day every day including the preshots. Lastly, we do things pretty differently in the LBL group than the PZ group so please be sure you read the stickys that explain all of that. I think you will love Levemir. I wish I had started with it instead of Lantus.

Let me know if you have questions.
 
Lastly, we do things pretty differently in the LBL group than the PZ group so please be sure you read the stickys that explain all of that.
Maybe look at @Patty & Teal'c threads in the Lantus forum. She switched from Prozinc to Lantus. At least it will give you a basic idea of how the switch may go for Tiger.
4/29 Teal'c amps 446 pmps 128

He's kind of a bouncy kitty too, and Patty works nights (mostly) and some very long workdays up to 12 hours or more.
 
Had to catch up on this.

If you are going to be home to monitor the first few cycles you start on Levemir, I’d start the dose at 4.75u. But, if you can’t be there to monitor fairly closely, I’d start at 4.5u. It’s easy enough to fast track a dose. Just be absolutely sure you have the U100 syringes.

Also, yes, we’d like to get the shots as close to a 12/12 schedule as possible but, really, Lantus and Levemir are more forgiving than most people think. No, you don’t want to pop the shot time around every cycle but I’ve found that shooting within 30 minutes really is no issue. My recommendation is that you not change the shot time by more than 30 minutes more than once a day until you build data and understand Tiger’s onset, nadir, and duration with Levemir. That might take some time so be patient. When I switched Gracie from Lantus to Levemir, it took her a couple months to really settle in and start doing much better where I could see what her cycles would really be like.

Insofar as SLGS vs TR, before you decide, you might want to read this post on doing TR with a full-time job. And even if you do SLGS, you’ll need to get a very minimum of four tests a day every day including the preshots. Lastly, we do things pretty differently in the LBL group than the PZ group so please be sure you read the stickys that explain all of that. I think you will love Levemir. I wish I had started with it instead of Lantus.

Let me know if you have questions.
Oh my, I just looked at your ss. There is no way I can do the dosing that you did. Not in my insane house and schedule..I would end up neglecting my other sick kids.
Had to catch up on this.

If you are going to be home to monitor the first few cycles you start on Levemir, I’d start the dose at 4.75u. But, if you can’t be there to monitor fairly closely, I’d start at 4.5u. It’s easy enough to fast track a dose. Just be absolutely sure you have the U100 syringes.

Also, yes, we’d like to get the shots as close to a 12/12 schedule as possible but, really, Lantus and Levemir are more forgiving than most people think. No, you don’t want to pop the shot time around every cycle but I’ve found that shooting within 30 minutes really is no issue. My recommendation is that you not change the shot time by more than 30 minutes more than once a day until you build data and understand Tiger’s onset, nadir, and duration with Levemir. That might take some time so be patient. When I switched Gracie from Lantus to Levemir, it took her a couple months to really settle in and start doing much better where I could see what her cycles would really be like.

Insofar as SLGS vs TR, before you decide, you might want to read this post on doing TR with a full-time job. And even if you do SLGS, you’ll need to get a very minimum of four tests a day every day including the preshots. Lastly, we do things pretty differently in the LBL group than the PZ group so please be sure you read the stickys that explain all of that. I think you will love Levemir. I wish I had started with it instead of Lantus.

Let me know if you have questions.
I looked through that post and the only member that I could even possibly do at this time because of my exhaustion is this one: Michelangelo's 2015 tab https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...BDs8FixcomxySUqPUJfA0e16Cgg0/pub?output=html# but it's not as tight as other ss's that I've looked at, pretty similar to what I'm doing now with Tiger on the Prozinc. I'm sure Tiger will likely be all over the place unless the Levemir works miracles. I think I would be more comfortable to do the SLGS right now. In part because I've worked with Prozinc for so long on Jazz Man..and Levemir works so much differently example the Nadir.
Might help if I fill you in on my "awake" hours..meaning after I've had coffee and taken the dog out.
Up at 10-11am
Bed at 3- 4am
 
Maybe look at @Patty & Teal'c threads in the Lantus forum. She switched from Prozinc to Lantus. At least it will give you a basic idea of how the switch may go for Tiger.
4/29 Teal'c amps 446 pmps 128

He's kind of a bouncy kitty too, and Patty works nights (mostly) and some very long workdays up to 12 hours or more.
Oh my just like Tiger on Prozinc and she just started Teal on the Lantus a month ago. She is doing the SLGS I see.
But I should be able to get in at least one test after the PM shot, maybe 2 depends on my exhaustion level.
 
I'm still confused on the BIG differences between the TR and the SLGS.
TR is alot of testing yes? And adjusting dosing in tiny amounts yes?
SLGS is not as much testing and .25 adjustments in doses after a week. Yes?
 
TR is a minimum of 4 tests a day, the preshot, plus one other each cycle. The main differences are how fast you can increase (after 3-5 days, depending on the nadir values) and the reduction point. 50 for TR, 90 for SLGS. The dose adjustments for both are typically 0.25 units, unless you get to higher doses or are seeing nothing below 300. Some cats are sensitive to micro adjustments. Gracie was special, and she knew it. :kiss:
 
TR is a minimum of 4 tests a day, the preshot, plus one other each cycle. The main differences are how fast you can increase (after 3-5 days, depending on the nadir values) and the reduction point. 50 for TR, 90 for SLGS. The dose adjustments for both are typically 0.25 units, unless you get to higher doses or are seeing nothing below 300. Some cats are sensitive to micro adjustments. Gracie was special, and she knew it. :kiss:
IC..so when we decide the dose on Friday(if he is ready to start) we hold that dose for a week and then go from there, yes?
Not sure if you've had a chance to take a look at his ss. But is seems like his body reacts when he goes blue, so 90 would definitely be better for him than 50..or if we make small adjustments in his dose..then we bounce and then we go high and the cycle just continues which is why we all decided Levemir should be a good fit for him.
 
Oh my, I just looked at your ss. There is no way I can do the dosing that you did. Not in my insane house and schedule..I would end up neglecting my other sick kids.
Hmmmmm.....I didn’t suggest that you test like I did :) I’d never expect that of anyone. There were two of us and no kids.

TR is alot of testing yes?
No. That was the point of the post I linked. Dose adjustments are still in 0.25u, generally, just like SLGS. As Wendy said, Gracie responded to tiny dose changes but most cats don’t.

There’s no pressure to do TR. start with SLGS, hold the dose a week unless he drops below 90, then do a curve. See how he does and how it works with your schedule.
 
Hmmmmm.....I didn’t suggest that you test like I did :) I’d never expect that of anyone. There were two of us and no kids.


No. That was the point of the post I linked. Dose adjustments are still in 0.25u, generally, just like SLGS. As Wendy said, Gracie responded to tiny dose changes but most cats don’t.

There’s no pressure to do TR. start with SLGS, hold the dose a week unless he drops below 90, then do a curve. See how he does and how it works with your schedule.
Oh no, thats not what I was saying at all. Just was using it as an example in my little pea brain lol. And trying to get a feel for the readings and doses of Levemir. Yes, that's also what I was thinking..slgs and go from there.
Next thing to decide is how much should he start on
 
Oh no, thats not what I was saying at all. Just was using it as an example in my little pea brain lol. And trying to get a feel for the readings and doses of Levemir. Yes, that's also what I was thinking..slgs and go from there.
Next thing to decide is how much should he start on
Oh and when I said kids..I meant my furkids have 20ish. I keep forgetting that I'm not posting on fb that most of you don't know me. Sorry for any misunderstanding. I don't write well either lol.
 
Oh no, thats not what I was saying at all. Just was using it as an example in my little pea brain lol. And trying to get a feel for the readings and doses of Levemir. Yes, that's also what I was thinking..slgs and go from there.
Next thing to decide is how much should he start on
Thank you! I left you a suggestion in post 29 just based on my experience not only with Lev but also helping others switch.
 
Glad we got the 3/20 vs 4/20 cleared up on the pred.

Yeah, I guess it would help to explain that since Jacque is a client of DCIN, we've chatted quite often so I knew it hadn't been that long since she cut the pred out.

When I requested the Levemir for her, I had to ask for a certain number of pens to be sent and I told them to send 3 pens since he'd been on 5.5 of ProZinc so we wouldn't want to drop her back too much (that's where the 4U starting dose came from...we usually don't send that much insulin to a one time help client) The "higher ups" at DCIN suggested starting him at 2U and fast-tracking but I knew that was dropping too much.
 
That's the problem with back channel information. And why it's really helpful if starting/stopping meds is included in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet.
I deleted the pred from the signature section..thats what I was told all I had to do. So that anyone that didn't follow the post would see right away what he wasn currently on it. That's on me..I should have added it in the Remarks section. I'm sorry, I've only been doing a ss for a couple months..not sure most of time on what or how to enter or change anything..just winging it.
 
Last edited:
No worries, it was good to remove from the signature. Other handy things to note are if you make major changes to carbs in foods or feeding. I used to even note when I changed insulin cartridges - so I could count back and see how long I'd been on a particular one. Basically anything that might impact blood sugars is good to note.
 
No worries, it was good to remove from the signature. Other handy things to note are if you make major changes to carbs in foods or feeding. I used to even note when I changed insulin cartridges - so I could count back and see how long I'd been on a particular one. Basically anything that might impact blood sugars is good to note.
Thanks I'll do that from now on. Nothing really changes with him, so it will be mostly blank like it is now.
 
If you are going to be home to monitor the first few cycles you start on Levemir, I’d start the dose at 4.75u.
So are you home to monitor the first few days Jacque? Is so, than 4.75U.

But, if you can’t be there to monitor fairly closely, I’d start at 4.5u. It’s easy enough to fast track a dose. Just be absolutely sure you have the U100 syringes.
If not home to monitor, or just a bit worn out and too many "sleepless in Seattle" nights lately, than 4.5U dose for the Levemir.

Personally, I'm thinking/voting for the 4.5U dose.

Starting Friday May 1st?

May Day, Beltane, Batman Day, International Space Day, and TUBA DAY!
http://www.holidays-and-observances.com/may-1.html
 
So are you home to monitor the first few days Jacque? Is so, than 4.75U.


If not home to monitor, or just a bit worn out and too many "sleepless in Seattle" nights lately, than 4.5U dose for the Levemir.

Personally, I'm thinking/voting for the 4.5U dose.

Starting Friday May 1st?

May Day, Beltane, Batman Day, International Space Day, and TUBA DAY!
http://www.holidays-and-observances.com/may-1.html
Yes, home and yes very tired. Are you sure 4.5 isn't too high? We know how he freaks which makes me freak.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top