? Tinker 10/04/2019 AMPS 200 +4 196

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tinker's Mom, Oct 4, 2019.

  1. Tinker's Mom

    Tinker's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    I think I might have gone too shallow with his shot this morning.

    I am thinking of changing his dose to .8 or .9 (as best I can measure... less than 1). He has been at .75 for 7 days. Does that sound like a plan?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Tinker's Mom

    Tinker's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    P.s. it is still 90 degrees here in Tennessee :joyful:
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  3. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I hope that's the magic dose amount for Tinker! They say the heat will break soon...it's all gone from up north...getting too cold here...soon it'll be there too :)
     
    Tinker's Mom likes this.
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    SLGS says to go up by 0.25 units, which would be much easier to measure. It’s been a week, might be a better dose now. Insulin needs can change.

    Here is the link to your previous post here. We include those links for continuity. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tinker-10-01-2019-amps-220-3-218-6-193.219924/

    I hope you have heard this before, but it’s very important to get night time tests, such as just before bed. We dose based on lows and many kitties go lower at night.
     
    Tinker's Mom likes this.
  5. Tinker's Mom

    Tinker's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Thank you! You all are so helpful. I will do a skinny 1 unit.

    I keep forgetting about night time tests. I will try to do that more! Does it help even to get +2 or +3 at night?
     
  6. Tinker's Mom

    Tinker's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    I updated his sheet. We are going to bed. :)

    20191004_230850.jpg
     
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, a +2 or +3 can really help. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot, it means an active cycle that will require more monitoring. Ornif you cannot monitor, make sure you leave lots of food out for him to eat to keep himself safe.
     
    Tinker's Mom likes this.

Share This Page