Tonka 2/27 Update - This morning might have been a rebound: PMPS 94, +3 61, +4 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...11-25-early-pmps-90-4-74.133791/#post-1379690

Had a day of working from home so we got a few mid-day tests. Looks like it's either the depot clearing out or replacing a 1/4 can of his usual low carb food with 1/4 can of the Friskies chicken pate (which seems to be about 8% carb) for his morning meal, but something made him go up after eating today. He even raised out of the normal range - though just by a tiny bit. Guess the extra carbs aren't triggering his pancreas to work harder just yet - unless it was a delayed response. By +9 he was already down to good levels and he seems to be sticking there.

Think we'll stick with this dose for at least another day and see what happens on his usual low carb DM food. For one reading over 130, increasing his does back to 0.5 doesn't seem like something I should be worrying about just yet, unless he creeps more consistently up to that level. Is that about right?
 
One number is just one number, I wouldn't worry about it. I like the plan of sticking to the dose for another day. TGIF!
 
I wouldn't increase his dose yet. Not sure what caused the
slightly high tests this morning but I wouldn't worry. He was back in green this afternoon.

Looking great!
 
It could even have just been that last night's PM shot was about 45 minutes earlier than usual, since I had to run out for the night. This morning's was about 15 minutes later than usual, so about an hour difference from the p.m., but still, I expect that it could have contributed too. I'm just nervous that I reduced him to 0.25 too early, but the way he was coming down in dose so fast, I didn't want to take any chances when I had to be away during the day.
 
So now I'm thinking that maybe he just dropped low very early and was rebounding when he was up a touch this morning. Although he had more carbs this morning. And he was already up at +2. No idea.

In any case, 50 at +4. Just gave him a teaspoon of gravy and he ate that up, plus most of his leftover low carb food from the evening meal. Guess I'll be reducing him in the morning. Any suggestions on how much? I've been giving him a "fat" 0.25 the last four cycles.
 
Theoretically you'd take .25U off the dose. There are pictures of a .1 unit dose in the New to the Group sticky note - give that a try. Congrats on the reduction. :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top