Total newbie: can I trust my meter?

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Matt & Marley, Feb 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Matt & Marley

Matt & Marley New Member

Our family cat (Marley, Female 7years) went to the vet Wednesday pretty sick, diagnosed with ketoacidosis and UTI. We brought her home Friday with instructions to give 1 unit vetsulin 2x per day and follow up in 7 days. Saturday morning she seemed a little less active than when we brought her home, and having been drilled by the vet to watch out for hypo, I was a little concerned...so i ran over to WalMart and got the ReliOn Confirm meter and some strips. Tested myself at 120mg/dl then started testing the cat. I'm getting numbers in 500s and 400s for her, but she seems to be feeling a bit better. Looking at the info on this site, I decided to test her every 2 hrs from when we got the meter and produced the following curve (so far):
    Note: feeding times are squares, skipped a couple of x'd readings

Based on the high numbers I was getting Saturday, I upped her vetsulin dose to 1.5 units this morning (our vet isn't open 'til Monday, but I felt this would be better than continuing at 1 unit). So far today's curve is a bit better, but still quite high.

At this point I'm not sure whether I should trust the meter readings, and increase the dose to 2 units, or not. Any thoughts would be helpful.

marley.png

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Not much of a curve. However, cats can tolerate high BGs like that and not show any symptoms for considerable amount of time

3. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

The meter is likely accurate. See my signature link Glucometer Notes.
    And good job on testing her! A lot of folks find that difficult.

Just a thought - what are you feeding her?

4. Matt & Marley

Matt & Marley New Member