Using Both Levemir and Humalin R

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Gurkan&Raffy, Jan 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
  2. Girlie's mom

    Girlie's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Hi Gurkan - we have a number of experienced R users here. I did, Marje, Paul (@Bronx's dad ), @Dyana all used R with Lev. As did Wes with his Jack, now passed. :( We also have people who used R with Lantus. There isn't much difference in how you use R between the two, other than the timing of when you give it because Lantus has an earlier onset and nadir. Both Lantus and Lev users start with using it at preshot.
     
    Stacy & Asia and Gill & George like this.
  4. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Hello there :cool:

    I don’t believe we have met. As you can see in Black Kittys ss, I am quite familiar with using R along with Lantus. Don’t hesitate to tag me if needed.
    I hope it helps your kitty.

    :cool:
     
    Wendy&Neko and Stacy & Asia like this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Gurkan - post here when you get the AMPS number. You can shoot the Levemir, but wait for our response before shooting the R, in case it's not a good time to do so.
     
    Kathy and TiTi and Stacy & Asia like this.
  6. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Good morning/afternoon to all :) 04:46 AM at Istanbul.
    Mr. RAFFY is 426. :(
    My opinion; he is ready for R operation....
     
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, time for the first R experiment. Give 0.25 U R. Test and report back here in an hour. See you then.
     
  8. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Good luck with the R experiment!!!! You are in great hands.
     
  9. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Now is a good time to mention the importance of to documenting your use of R on the ss, so those able and willing to help you can best do so.

    Attached are examples of what worked for us back in 2008/2009...
    for both PS time shots as well as shots given other times
    documenting R shots on ss.jpg documenting  mid cycle R shots on ss.jpg
     
  10. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Hi Gurkan,

    You are in good hands with Wendy & Sandy. They "coached" me with R and have been using it over a year now with Levemir. As Sandy said, make sure you notate when you use it and how much. If you have a minute, check out Bronx's SS for 2017 to give you an idea how R worked for Bronx. It was the reason we finally got into lower numbers. Start low, as Wendy said, with 0.25u and go from there. Good luck!
     
  11. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Thank you very much to all.
    AMPS 426, +1 440....
     
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Nothing yet, maybe next hour. See you at +2.
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Do we have a +2 yet?
     
  14. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    :( I am so sorry, but my phone was out of battery so i missed the wake up call.
    +4,5 430.....
     
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Looks like he was flat. Sometimes R can help keep numbers flat instead of going up. That still allows the Levemir to work with a lower number than it might have been.

    You will have to try the same experiment again, when you will be awake to gather the hourly data. What day/time will work for you?
     
  16. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    It is going to be much more easier at pm cycle. But right now between 9:00-17:00 i am Home Standby which is my company can call me for a flight, but if they don’ t , next PM cycle i ll create a BG curve.
    The next PMshot will be .25U or more?
     
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Try 0.25 units again, as long as he is still high and not breaking a bounce. We need to gather data on the R onset, nadir and duration first. Gill @Gill & George or Sandy @Sandy and Black Kitty might be awake and able to check in for your PMPS.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  18. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    I’ll be looking for you :cool:
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  19. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'm about too.
     
  20. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    PMPS 380, i gave .25U and 22U levemir....
    Nice 2 see experts here:)
     
  21. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Hi Gurkan,
    remember to get that +1.
    will be watching for you. I am sure Sandy and BK will too.
     
  22. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Let the data collecting begin! :cool:
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  23. MyTitan (GA)

    MyTitan (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Good morning/evening Gurkan, Titan and I are watching with crossed paws for you and Raffy :cat:. Remember what my dad used to yell at us kids many years ago ( he was a pilot for Eastern Airlines) , when the phone rang and he was on Standby alert " if that's crew scheduling I'm NOT home ! "
     
    Gurkan&Raffy likes this.
  24. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Last 11 minutes Ed :) but i am still standby for Raffy
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  25. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    +1 375 , so flat...
     
  26. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
  27. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    See you at +2
    Work the R Raffy!
     
  28. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    +2 360:) going down....
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  29. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Next stop +3:)
     
  30. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    heading in the right direction :cool:
    see you at +3
     
  31. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    +3,15 375 :(
     
  32. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
  33. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    +4.10 370
     
  34. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    +7 345.....
     
  35. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Looks like the R just kept Raffy flat today. Which is not a bad thing, normally he might have been rising from preshot to onset so R prevented that rise, and gave the Lev a lower number to work with. It'll be interesting to see what he gives you for PMPS.

    Could you put the +2 and +3 data in the spreadsheet? It makes us easier for us to look at the data that way. Thanks.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  36. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    I ve updated SS, AMPS , which is 5 hours later, should i give the same doses for both?
    Also , until sunday afternoon i won’t be at home, that is why my wife will make the shots; and she won’t be able to make each hour tests.
    Is it better to stay with these doses?
     
  37. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    So you won't be around tomorrow morning after shot?
     
  38. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    I ll give the shot at 04:30AM, and my flight is at
    6AM :(. Till sunday AMPS my wife will be at controls. Two cats (one of them is so sweet) one
    dog and a 4 years old kid is a very high dose for her, so i think she won’t be able to make each hour tests :)
     
  39. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That's a lot on her plate. We have 3 indoor cats, 3 outdoor cats, 2 dogs and 5 hens:), I can relate.

    I'm not sure about shooting R if you/your wife is not able to monitor, as it's early days with R so you haven't got much data yet.
    It just seemed to keep him flat today, but that may influence the up coming cycles as LEV now has a lower number to try and get hold of.
    In some instances (eg if it looked like he was clearing a bounce) it might not be safe to shoot the R, and that would be a call your wife would have to make, not sure that would be very fair to her, with the limited testing she is able to do.

    I'd wait and see what Wendy thinks, she's used R and had a high dose kitty too, so I will defer to her.
     
    Gurkan&Raffy likes this.
  40. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I agree with Gill. I think I would have your wife skip doing the R until you are back. We don't have enough data yet to shoot it and not monitor. Sunday's not far away, Raffy will be fine without R. If you wanted, you could probably increase his Lev dose tonight.
     
    Gurkan&Raffy and Gill & George like this.
  41. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    I too agree with Gill-more data needs to be gathered so that you develop a feel for which size doses of R work under which circumstances. It takes time and close attention until you ‘know thy cat’ with R in the picture.
     
    Gurkan&Raffy likes this.
  42. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Good morning/evening.
    AMPS 340; i only gave 22U Lev...
    See you on sunday, have a nice weekend.
     
    Squeaky and KT (GA) likes this.
  43. Gurkan&Raffy

    Gurkan&Raffy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    :(
    PMPS 473.?
    He has started the cycle at 340.
    I think, it is time to make all blood , urine etc. tests and a dental check as well.
    Dose and BG are going up together.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page