Vetsulin adjustment and force feeding advice urgently needed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Tanya and Ducia, Feb 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tanya and Ducia

Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

Hello everybody,

my name is Tanya. I'm a newbie in this forum, and never heard about feline diabetes until now. I have human med background and hope to provide my girl with the best at home care possible.

I need help and advice for my beautiful 8 ½ YO girl named Ducia.

Yesterday Ducia was diagnosed with diabetes, DKA and possible pancreatitis. We give her 1st shut of 1unit Vetsulin earlier today without prior testing. We tested her about an hour after the shot and Relyon red 236. Four hours later tested again and it is up to 253. I just added 2 units shot.

We will monitor her blood sugar again in few hours. Ducia refuses to eat and I am afraid to overdose her. The syringe feeding Friskie diluted with Pediatric electrolyte was a fiasco twice today already. She hasn’t eaten in 2 or 3 days. Since Thu she received about 150 ml Ringer’s solution SC.

She is lethargic, motionless, refuses food and drink completely. She also avoids us petting her and turns her face away from food. Went to hiding in the closet.

Thank you for any advices and thoughts.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 26, 2017
    Reason for edit: Removed 911. Kitty has been vetted.
  2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Did your vet up the dose this evening or did you? It's dangerous to increase by whole units like that... And without eating vetsulin can really hit hard and fast. How long ago did you give the two units? Please recheck her 2 -3 hours past the shot to make sure she isn't dropping too fast. Vetsulin usually hits it's lowest point 4-6 hours post shot.

Other than the sub q's, is she getting any other medications? She needs something to get her eating like cerenia and possibly bupe pain meds.