Yoshi 10/27 am 290 +3.5 263 +5.5 302 +11 204 +12 447

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
well I did something stupid last night before his pm shot. I tested him at +11, mindlessly thought it was plus 12 and shot. He was red all day and +6 after pm shot 368. Now he’s 290 am preshot. I know shooting early acted like an increase, but I’m unsure if I should shoot the 4.25 with this low of a number. He is due at his normal shot time in a half hour.

For those awake on this Sunday, thoughts?

Update: I shot a tiny bit less than 4.25. Back to bed for a few hours
 
Last edited:
Although 290 might be low for Yoshi, I think it was high enough to give full dose. Shooting a little early or late, we have all done it, and even forgot to give shots. I once went to give Ollie her PM shot and found the AM shot already drawn up and in the fridge. It happens to all of us.

You were fine. Don't beat yourself up. Just go back to your regular time and dose now. We will be changing clocks soon and times will be adjusted again.
 
Although 290 might be low for Yoshi, I think it was high enough to give full dose. Shooting a little early or late, we have all done it, and even forgot to give shots. I once went to give Ollie her PM shot and found the AM shot already drawn up and in the fridge. It happens to all of us.

You were fine. Don't beat yourself up. Just go back to your regular time and dose now. We will be changing clocks soon and times will be adjusted again.
Thank you, Paula. I was freaking out. :bighug:
 
Thank you, Paula. I was freaking out. :bighug:

Yoshi is fine, that is what counts. It was at the end of the cycle. I have given shots early because I had to for some reason or other. One time I overslept and gave 1.5 hrs late. But Ollie was super high at those times so it didn't make a difference with her. You just adjust the times until you back to normal. As long as it's not all the time or becomes a habit, once or twice a year is not usually a problem. Maybe a test around +3 or +4 would be good.
 
Not necessarily. And just because. you think you know when nadir is, your cat will torture you by not being predictable. The first rule of FD: Keep your human guessing!

And yes, some cats do have a late nadir or occasionally have a late nadir.
Preshot is 477. Could he jump that high in an hour? This is bananas. Should I give 4.25 or 4 (was closer to 4 this am)
 
It's possible for the numbers to spike. Whenever I questioned a test number, I would retest. It's a way to make sure something isn't wonky. Sometimes you get a bad strip or a funky test. Of course, you're +10 could have been off which with the 477 sounds more than likely.

Keep the dose at 4.25u. You really didn't need to shoot a skinny dose at AMPS. It was a high enough number that it would have been safe.

It helps to always think about the depot. Any time you change a dose it has an effect on the depot. You want to limit the number of times you disturb the depot since it can take up to 3 days for the depot to settle back down.
 
It's possible for the numbers to spike. Whenever I questioned a test number, I would retest. It's a way to make sure something isn't wonky. Sometimes you get a bad strip or a funky test. Of course, you're +10 could have been off which with the 477 sounds more than likely.

Keep the dose at 4.25u. You really didn't need to shoot a skinny dose at AMPS. It was a high enough number that it would have been safe.

It helps to always think about the depot. Any time you change a dose it has an effect on the depot. You want to limit the number of times you disturb the depot since it can take up to 3 days for the depot to settle back down.
Thank you. I just gave 4.25. I just get worried about lower preshot numbers because his dose is high. I feel like 4u could plummet him sometimes... I used to shoot greens on prozinc before he went into remission, but the dose was tiny
 
With a larger dose, the one downfall is a larger depot. Although the Lantus cycle will look the same, it does mean a degree of caution when a cat earns a reduction. The larger depot will influence more cycles after a reduction. Having said that, Yoshi’s dose is not high enough to be considered a large dose yet.
 
Back
Top