Is so hard to get blood out of chewy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chefsamg19

Member Since 2014
I'm having a hard time getting blood out of chewies ear.. My name is sam btw. So last night chewies first bg test he was at 79... So instead of 4inits of lantas I only gave 1... I will try and get more blood now before he eats
 
Hi Sam and Chewy,

Congtas on your first test! 79 is a pretty low number - was that his preshot number? We generally advise new diabetics not to shoot under 200 until they have data, but to wait and retest, without feeding. Not only do you want to make sure the number is rising, not falling but to be sure it is over 200 before shooting. For reference, generally we consider a cat regulated if they range in the mid 200s at preshot and in double digits at mid cycle, but not below 50 which is approaching hypo territory. Your 79 is not far from our hypo range. I hope you can test today and if he gets below 50, come on for help.

To get the tests in today that you will need to keep him safe, try heating his ear until nice and warm before poking. You can use a pill bottle filled with very warm water or a lightweight sock filled with rice and then heated in the microwave. What gauge are your lancets? Usually 25-27 gauge work best at first.
 
Gage are untral thin.. Year that number last night was preshot... Today's number was 350... I gave him 3 units instead of the 4 I usually give him.. So ten it was a good thing last night I only gave him 1 unit
 
Your numbers are confusing; I hope as you get more data, it will become more clear. I wonder if the high/low difference is due to bouncing. Bouncing is when a cat's body recognizes a number that it considers too low and releases extra glucose. Then they bounce up to a higher number for the next preshot in response. Lantus works best with a constant dose and small increases, so moving from one unit to 3 is probably going to confuse things. It is VERY lucky that you got a number last night and didn't give 4 units. Your cat most likely would have hypoed.

Here is some info on Lantus:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

It's not my insulin so I'll see if I can get some Lantus users to respond and give you some tips.
 
Hi Sam nice to meet you just wanted to tell you that this is such a great place I first came here 4 years ago with my boy Trey he was only on insulin for 2 months and these wonderful people not my vet who fought me all the way got my Trey in remission. I followed what these angels told me to do and they were here round the clock even at 3 am while I kept poking the ear till it was safe to go off to bed.My vet wanted to give Trey 3 units 2st a day but here was start slow and I did. Sorry to say we are back and hoping only for a short spell but you know what I have a wonderful vet who saw what I did with the help of FDMB and this time she said ok lets start slow only wanted to start with 1/4 unit from cry from 3 units. Just putting that out there for you vets are awesome but not always up to date on all stuff. These angels work with this everyday. Hugs prayers and tons of healing green light (((Chewy)))) for low numbers.....Kath
 
Good call on reducing the dose! Generally, we suggest new users not shoot below 200 mg/dL, for safety. Once you have data showing it will be safe, that number is gradually lowered.

While you work on glucose testing, check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some other assessments you may wish to make, too.
 
Sam & Chewy's other post

Welcome Sam and Chewy!!

Just quickly, you are lucky that Chewy responded to the corn syrup! It sounds like he was having a hypoglycemic seizure (but since I wasn't there, I can't know for sure) but 4 units is a really high dose!

There are people who have been using lantus for quite some time that wouldn't shoot a 79...although with enough testing data to know how Chewy responds to both insulin and food, it can be safe..BUT right now you don't have that kind of data, so we wouldn't suggest shooting anything under 200 for now.

IF you get a number under 200, you'd want to "Stall", don't feed Chewy, and post and ask for help. Someone will help you through the first few times you shoot a lower number than you're used to..and gradually, that "no shot" number will come down.

You have the meter, so now it's just a matter of getting used to testing. There are 4 tests that are really needed each day.
AMPS (AM Pre-shot)....test given immediately before it's time to give insulin in the morning
A mid-cycle test...a test done sometime between +5 and +7 during the AM cycle (5 to 7 hours after the morning shot)
PMPS (PM Pre-shot)....test given immediately before it's time to give insulin in the evening
A "before bed" test...test done right before you go to bed at night to see if you should consider setting an alarm clock to get more tests overnight. Most cats go lower at night!

We can give you all kinds of tips on getting Chewy used to being tested. Finding a good low carb treat is valuable here! Cats love to be rewarded for putting up with our silliness!

Please drop your dose back to 1 unit and hold it. Don't worry if you see higher numbers right now. We need to see what kind of numbers he gets when the dose is kept consistent, as well as we want to keep Chewy SAFE!

Don't worry if you get a lot of information thrown at you quickly! We understand the learning curve here is steep, but we'll help you along the way! Don't be afraid to tell us to slow down and keep asking questions!
 
Hi Sam

I am a Lantus user and Lantus is a depot insulin so it needs time to build up under the skin. We recommend that you start with 1 unit and hold that dose for three days. I actually hold mine for a week to ten days because that is how long it takes for my sugarcat to settle into a new dose. We do not change the dose based on what the pre-shot number but rather on what the lowest number of the cycle trends to be. The dose must be consistent for several days so we can see how it is working and what kind of cycle your Chewy is having.

Congrats on getting your first test. I would not shoot insulin on that low 79 next time. It is safer for new users to not shoot below 200. It is better to be high the next day because of it than to have a hypo event that could happen with low numbers.

I am sure that I am just echoing all the great information you got from Chris already - but it is important info.

It's a dance and we will show you how to take the lead so that soon you will be teaching the dance steps to others.
 
Here are some tricks to make it easier to get blood from Chewy's ears:

1) Massage the ears before and while you are trying to get blood. Massage from the base of the ear towards the tip.
2) Warm the ear with a rice sock or warm wash cloth before you test.
3) Use a thicker lancet. The higher the number, the smaller the guage. You may need to start with a thicker gauage lancet until you get your technique down
4) Use neosporin or vaseline on the ear to help the blood drop pool up so you can get enough for a reading.

Lantus should be give at a consistant dose. We recommend that you start low and raise the dose slowly, with at least one week between increases. If an increase is needed, only raise the dose by 1/4 to 1/2 unit.
 
Hi Sam and Chewy,

Congrats on that first test!

Further to Lisa's test tips above here are a few more ideas to get enough blood for a sample:
Try two ear pricks very close together. Two can sometimes give enough blood where one alone may not.
Massaging immediately below the ear prick can 'milk' out a larger sample .
Putting pressure immediately behind where you're pricking helps a lot. The lancet needs something to resist otherwise it can push the ear away. (I put a fingertip on the inside of the ear (opposite to where I'm pricking the outside), but some folks use a piece of cotton wool or folded tissue.)

It will get easier, really!

Eliz
 
You are probably using 31 or 33 gauge lancets (those are the ones that usually come with the lancet device/meter)

If you look for "alternate site testing" lancets, they are usually 26 or 28 gauge and will make a bigger "hole". In needles and lancets, the smaller the gauge, the bigger the needle/lancet.

For new testers, using the smaller gauge lancets will help since they make a bigger hole. After awhile, Chewy's ears will "learn to bleed" and then you can go back to the higher gauge lancets.

Heating the ear before poking will help a lot! Some people prefer using a sock with a little rice inside that's warmed up in the microwave, while others prefer using a small pill bottle or film canister filled with warm water. You want to test the temperature of whatever you use on your wrist like you would a baby's bottle to make sure it's not too hot

Here are a bunch of Ear testing tips that might help too!

Getting the spreadsheet up and running is another very valuable tool to help learn how Chewy responds. Yes, it's a Google Doc, but you don't HAVE to have a Google (gmail) account to use it. The nice thing is once it's set up, it does most of the "work"....you just type in the numbers and it color codes them automatically..and also saves it on it's own so you don't have to worry about losing it. If you need help getting it set up, please just ask. We have several people who would be happy to help get it set up for you if you have problems! Here's How to get a spreadsheet again just so all these links are in one place for you.

Over the next several days (and ONLY if you're testing), transition Chewy over to one of the Low carb foods under 10%. You don't want to do this too quickly since you're giving insulin! Changing to a low carb food can drop the numbers up to 100 points, so it's something you want to do gradually

To go over what was said earlier, what probably happened when you got the 350 this morning was what's called a "bounce". Chewy's liver is used to living in high numbers, so when the 4 units sent him low, his liver panicked and sent lots of stored sugar and hormones into his bloodstream to bring him back up. It's a leftover survival mechanism from back when kitties might not be able to eat every few hours (like they can now) and faced starvation. When their blood glucose got low, the liver kicked in to keep them alive.

It will be helpful if you'd go ahead and fill in your signature too! You put your name, your cats name, date of diagnoses(if you know it), the kind of insulin you're using, the type of meter, any other health issues Chewy might have....that way we don't have to keep asking you the same questions. When you have your spreadsheet going, you'd put the link to that there too.

To do the signature, just look along the top left side for the "User Control Panel". Go there and click on "Profile". Go to "Edit Signature". A box will pop up for you to add that information, and then you just "Submit"

You'll find lots of people here willing to help, so don't ever feel alone! We were all new to this sugardance at one point and had others help us, so everyone is just "paying it forward"!
 
housecats4 said:
Hi Sam nice to meet you just wanted to tell you that this is such a great place I first came here 4 years ago with my boy Trey he was only on insulin for 2 months and these wonderful people not my vet who fought me all the way got my Trey in remission. I followed what these angels told me to do and they were here round the clock even at 3 am while I kept poking the ear till it was safe to go off to bed.My vet wanted to give Trey 3 units 2st a day but here was start slow and I did. Sorry to say we are back and hoping only for a short spell but you know what I have a wonderful vet who saw what I did with the help of FDMB and this time she said ok lets start slow only wanted to start with 1/4 unit from cry from 3 units. Just putting that out there for you vets are awesome but not always up to date on all stuff. These angels work with this everyday. Hugs prayers and tons of healing green light (((Chewy)))) for low numbers.....Kath
Great post thank u... Tonight I tested him and it was 144 how much do I give? 1 unit?
 
RobinCot said:
Hi Sam

I am a Lantus user and Lantus is a depot insulin so it needs time to build up under the skin. We recommend that you start with 1 unit and hold that dose for three days. I actually hold mine for a week to ten days because that is how long it takes for my sugarcat to settle into a new dose. We do not change the dose based on what the pre-shot number but rather on what the lowest number of the cycle trends to be. The dose must be consistent for several days so we can see how it is working and what kind of cycle your Chewy is having.

Congrats on getting your first test. I would not shoot insulin on that low 79 next time. It is safer for new users to not shoot below 200. It is better to be high the next day because of it than to have a hypo event that could happen with low numbers.

I am sure that I am just echoing all the great information you got from Chris already - but it is important info.

It's a dance and we will show you how to take the lead so that soon you will be teaching the dance steps to others.
U guys are great so I'm only giving chewy 1 unit twice a day now???? He has been on 4 units twice a day for a year and a half
 
Elizabeth and Bertie said:
Hi Sam and Chewy,

Congrats on that first test!

Further to Lisa's test tips above here are a few more ideas to get enough blood for a sample:
Try two ear pricks very close together. Two can sometimes give enough blood where one alone may not.
Massaging immediately below the ear prick can 'milk' out a larger sample .
Putting pressure immediately behind where you're pricking helps a lot. The lancet needs something to resist otherwise it can push the ear away. (I put a fingertip on the inside of the ear (opposite to where I'm pricking the outside), but some folks use a piece of cotton wool or folded tissue.)

It will get easier, really!

Eliz
Thanks liz
 
Lisa and Witn (GA) said:
Here are some tricks to make it easier to get blood from Chewy's ears:

1) Massage the ears before and while you are trying to get blood. Massage from the base of the ear towards the tip.
2) Warm the ear with a rice sock or warm wash cloth before you test.
3) Use a thicker lancet. The higher the number, the smaller the guage. You may need to start with a thicker gauage lancet until you get your technique down
4) Use neosporin or vaseline on the ear to help the blood drop pool up so you can get enough for a reading.

Lantus should be give at a consistant dose. We recommend that you start low and raise the dose slowly, with at least one week between increases. If an increase is needed, only raise the dose by 1/4 to 1/2 unit.
Chewy has been on lantas for a year and a half , so after giving him 4 units twice a day for that time and getting a 144 tonight, I'm going to giv him 1 unit?
 
Elizabeth and Bertie said:
Hi Sam and Chewy,

Congrats on that first test!

Further to Lisa's test tips above here are a few more ideas to get enough blood for a sample:
Try two ear pricks very close together. Two can sometimes give enough blood where one alone may not.
Massaging immediately below the ear prick can 'milk' out a larger sample .
Putting pressure immediately behind where you're pricking helps a lot. The lancet needs something to resist otherwise it can push the ear away. (I put a fingertip on the inside of the ear (opposite to where I'm pricking the outside), but some folks use a piece of cotton wool or folded tissue.)

It will get easier, really!
I noticed tonight that we did 2 pricks and it works pretty good
Eliz
 
I don't know, Sam. I don't use Lantus but giving even one unit on a number under 200 seems a little scary to me. Can you wait until we get an Lantus user to weigh in on your dose?
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I don't know, Sam. I don't use Lantus but giving even one unit on a number under 200 seems a little scary to me. Can you wait until we get an Lantus user to weigh in on your dose?
Yes, u pmed me but I can't open it.. It's quit frustrating on this site ... There has to b a easier way, unless it's my cells fault?
 
I sent a copy to your home email. See if you can open it from that email. I don't know if it will work on your phone; some phones don't support goggle docs.
 
HI there, on this board we recommend people don't shoot until the numbers are 200 or higher. We do shoot lower than that on the Tight Regulation forum, but only after we have the data to do so. Can you stall one hour without feeding and test again? if above 200 at that time you can shoot 1U. To get back on time you can move your shot time up 15 minutes a shot or 1/2 hour once a day.
 
Hi Sam,

I'm a Lantus user, and I'm going to disagree with one point that is being suggested. If you've been giving him 4u twice a day for the past year and a half, i don't think it's wise to simply drop to 1unit as his new dose.

Some cats need more insulin. We so often see cats come here overdosed, that people almost always suggest dropping to 1unit and starting over, but having had a high dose cat (15.5u) with acromegaly, it can really be a disservice to have him dropped to 1/4 of the insulin he's been getting without us knowing more information.

I agree about delaying the shot until you've got over 200 tonight. You can drop back to 1unit tonight while we figure things out, but let's get some more information before you just stay there.

Before we can give you good advice on dosing, however, we really need some more data. can you get a spreadsheet going? if we can see numbers laid out on the chart, then we can tell more about what is going on in Chewy's body.
 
Thanks guys and gals.. I'm not trying to get another blood sample tonight? I already did one..I will give 1.5 units .. For the last 2 days he has much below his normal level. After the seizure , I only gave him 1.5 units then at night only 1 units when I first gave the bg test.. When he had a 79 reading. Today he had 350 so I gave 3 units tonight he had 144 so I'm going to give 1 or 1.5 units to him and test in the am.. Guys remember he has been on 4 units twice a day for almost 1.5 yrs so in my mind I'm continuing to go above and beyond for this cat.. I can't prick him in the ear more then twice a day at this point, I'm trying and doing the best I can. Thanks all for all ur support
 
Also a friend for this board is telling me I'm using the wrong needles? I'm using the same ones as from day one? He says a unit or cc is differnt from one needle to the other?? That doesn't make sense
 
Sam, I see your other thread going too. it's super confusing to have more than one thread going - can you stick with this one? we're all the same people giving you advice whether it's in that thread or this one, and Sue linked this one to the Lantus/Lev TR forum so experienced people could come and help you.

If you're having trouble getting a spreadsheet set up, there are people who can help you. They are essential tools for us here, because blood sugar numbers are important in their context, ie, how many hours after the shot, and what the other numbers are around it. Single numbers alone are just really hard to make sense of. Just say so if you want someone to help you with it, but somehow we need to get one going for Chewy. They're really important.

Whenever you shoot tonight, when he passes 200, would you get another test 2 hrs later? So test him, if over 200 give the shot and feed him, then get another test in 2 hrs. Post that test so we can see if he's going to head into low numbers tonight. We look at the +2 (2 hrs after a shot) and it can help us see what's going to happen next. Given that you think he had a symptomatic hypo earlier you want to be extra careful in monitoring him.

I just saw your last post.

You want Neosporin with Pain Relief OINTMENT for his ears. You'll be amazed - it will take out the sting. I've done as many as 22 tests in a day and punkin's ears handled it with that ointment. it'll heal Chewy's ears.

Also always give him a treat after you test him.

after a symptomatic hypo cats can be more sensitive to the effects of insulin, so honestly, i think tonight 1u is probably ok. but let's talk about the "new" dose tomorrow.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
what syringes are you using? you want u-100 syringes, ideally with 1/2 unit markings. how many ml does yours hold?
My are 3/10 cc.. 8mm 5/16 short needle..31 half unit markings. I'm unable to test any more tonight as I have a double tomorrow and a 2 ur old son... I will give chewy 1.5 tonight and hope for the best... I will let u know big level tom. I have to get neosporin... Thank u sooooo much and I will stick to this thread
 
I've been trying to post this for a half hour while the board has been down. grrrr. what i mean is that syringes are either u-100 or u-40. that's really important in knowing how much insulin you're actually giving. are you using u-40 syringes? did you start with Lantus from the beginning?

I'm confused about your comment here:

Today he had 350 so I gave 3 units tonight he had 144 so I'm going to give 1 or 1.5 units to him and test in the am..

Lantus is given every 12 hours, not more often than that. did you give him 3u already tonight? it sounds like you're thinking of giving him another shot tonight? i think i must be misreading that though. can you explain?

others have mentioned that we don't change doses based upon preshot numbers. Lantus is what is called a "depot" insulin - it works by building up in the body and slow-releasing. When the dose is changed, the precipitate in the body adjusts to the new dose. when you have a dose, say 4u, the depot in the body is built up in relation to that dose.

When you reduce the dose, the depot is still at the size it was for 4units, and it will keep on "giving" at that size for a while - as much as 3 days. It has to equalize with the new dose. Same thing when you increase a dose - it takes a day or so for the depot to now increase, so you can have a delay in seeing what a new larger dose will do for the numbers.

It's kinda confusing, so don't worry if you don't get it. This all takes a while, but people here will teach you what you need to know. The take-away point is that you can't tell what a dose is doing when you change too often. Except when we reduce for safety, which was suggested you do tonight, we typically don't adjust a dose more than every 3 days REGARDLESS of how high the blood sugar goes.

Changing doses too often creates wonky numbers - like the ones you're seeing.
 
Lantus is a depot insulin. It builds up in the system. The build up is called the shed.
There's a little bit left over from each shot. This adds together each cycle.
It takes at least 6 cycles (and sometimes 14) for the insulin coming in to be balanced at a new level by the insulin being used.

Visualize it like this: You are pouring water through a funnel, at first fast enough that it builds up a bit of a pool. Then slowing just enough to keep that pool at a specific level. To increase the pool size, you have to speed up then steady the rate to keep the pool at the new level. To drain the pool, you slow down the pour, then steady it at the new pool size.
 
Ok guys I'm back.. I'm a executive chef and we just had a busy busy weekend.. So here is the number I have to share...so 5-1, nighttime shot-79.. I gave 1 unit... 5-2, am shot 328 I gave 3units.. 5-2 pm shot 144bg do I gave 1.25.. 5-3 pm 307 I gave 1.75 units..5-4am 407 I gave 2.5 units...I will test shortly for his pm shot
 
Were you able to get the spreadsheet I sent? It would help so much if people could see your numbers graphed.

Lantus is a depot insulin so a dose should be held for several cycles. (unless it is too low to shoot which I would argue the 79 was. Remember, we don't want you to dose under 200 yet. Likely the one unit at the 79 took him really low and he bounced for the next shot). Changing the dose with every shot doesn't work.

And the dose is based on the number 5-7 hours after the shot, not the preshot. So getting those numbers will really help you figure out what is happening.

As for tonight's shot, how about starting a new thread and specifically asking for Lantus dose advice?
 
PS. You are not screwing up. This stuff is HARD to figure out at first. Start by reading the info Lantus users have given you and ask lots of questions.
 
Definitely don't beat yourself up! It took us all time to get it. It's not simple! Give yourself time. You'll get it.
 
No I didn't get the spreadsheet.... U sure u have correct email? Chefsamg@hotmail.com... If I start a new thread no way am I going to explain all this over in a new post? Can someone suggest a amount of lantas since the numbers don't matter right now except if he is below 200? But if he is 150 don't shoot? Then his 400 would b a 600 no? Plus he has had a shot every night for the last 15 months
 
I'll send it again.

Attach this thread to your new one. Go up to the address line, copy and paste it into a new thread. Once you get a new thread going, I'll go over to the Lantus forum and ask for help.

I think part of the issue is that he is bouncing from lows (the 70s) to highs.
 
Another prick within 20 mins? Ahhhh, idk.. He is pretty pissed I feel bad for him he has been through a lot for a cat. I know I'm trying to keep him well... I was thinking he was getting better but if he is more sensitive to insulin after he had that seizure then that explains the much lower dose age for him and his numbers being somewhat in line...he already are for the night... So I prob won't retest again... I'm just going to key this post maybe rename it ..
 
I linked this thread to people in the Lantus forum, but it's really quiet tonight.

I resent the spreadsheet. Both went to your address. Check your junk folder?
 
If you give one unit, can you set the alarm and get a number 5-7 hours after the shot? It would help so much to see how low the insulin takes him.
 
If you can, for Lantus, getting a test at about 2 hours after your shot can give you a really good idea as to whether your kitty's numbers are going to drop or whether you're going to be looking at a flatter cycle. Generally, 200 is the no-shoot cut off number until you're proficient in testing. If you did go ahead and dose at 140, getting a test in a +2 and posting the results will help us help you if Chewy's numbers are dropping. Getting mid-cycle tests in at around +5 - +7 (nadir) are really valuable data, as dosage is determined with Lantus based on nadir - not on the pre-shot number. The number at the time of the shot is really only half of the information you need.

Chewy will forgive you for the pokies. Just remember that the pokies are helping keep him safe. I've poked Eddie, my cat, 20 or more times over a 12 hour cycle when he's dropped into numbers that were too low, and after all was said and done, he snuggled up in my arms for cuddles.
 
it's critical that you know how low a dose is taking Chewy, otherwise he could easily have a hypoglycemic episode again. you can't know what it is without testing him more than just before his shots. Lantus' low point is usually somewhere in the middle of the 12 hr cycle, although many things can change that, including if the dose is too great. What Sue is telling you about retesting is so that you can make sure that his numbers aren't continuing to go down now.

always, always, always give him a treat after you poke him. cats learn to tolerate the poking - even cats whose people are convinced they never will. they like the treats. i've poked punkin more than 20 times in one day as well. their ears are not all that sensitive, and if you're putting neosporin with pain relief ointment on them after you test, they should heal up overnight. i used it every night and wiped it off in the morning.

Sue is giving you good advice. wait until you see his blood sugar is rising before you shoot.
 
Just wanted to add another 2 cents in, Sam

so 5-1, nighttime shot-79.. I gave 1 unit... 5-2, am shot 328 I gave 3units.. 5-2 pm shot 144bg do I gave 1.25.. 5-3 pm 307 I gave 1.75 units..5-4am 407 I gave 2.5 units...I will test shortly for his pm shot

The most important thing you can learn from this is that you DO NOT change the dose based on the Pre-shot numbers! You hold the same dose for at least 3 days (6 cycles) so you can really see how Chewy is going to do on that dose.

The ONLY time you wouldn't hold the same dose would be if he dropped below 50, but you are going to need to get at least 1 test in sometime mid-cycle...like from 5-7 hours after the morning shot. We need to know how low the dose is taking him.

I think part of the reason you keep getting these low pre-shots that you're uncomfortable shooting is because you keep changing the dose.

By constantly switching the dose, his body never has a chance to "settle".

I think at this point, you should be giving 1 unit in the AM and 1 unit 12 hours later for at least 3 days (6 cycles) so we can really get him settled into the dose and then decide where to go next.

Tomorrow you'll want to shoot 1 unit if his Pre-shot test is over 200, test again at +5 to +7 (5 hours to 7 hours after the morning shot)....For the PM cycle, you'd again test (if over 200) shoot 1 unit and get AT LEAST a "before bed" test...if you can stay awake long enough to get tests from +5 to +7 that's great!

Keep doing that for a full 6 cycle so we can see what consistent dosing will show.

Hang in there Sam! We know it's a lot to learn all at once, but we're here to help you!
 
Hey Sam you are doing a great job and if you follow the advice here in the next week or two it will be like clock work and when Chewy gets under control he will be such a happy cat. He knows you are helping him believe me. When Trey was Dx I was a basket case hate needles and was not sticking them in my cat so my hubby at the time lived with me and Trey was his rescue. He said he would do it well after I don`t know how many pokes and being sorry for hurting Trey.....was sad. I was here doing the reading and learning part. Best thing ever happen he got called away and I had to do it. Cried and shook but then took deep breaths this was my baby so had to do it....told him I was going to make him feel better told him what I was doing before I did it and you know what a complete turn around. Trey would get up on the table and wait for me to test him before meal time I am serious he came to me. He is my side kick ever since. I poked that cat for 8-10 times some days and in 2 months with the help of these wonderful angels he came off (OTJ) the insulin for almost 4 years. They stayed up to answer my questions till 3am my time ....always someone there to walked me through some pretty scary times. My vet told me to choice who`s help I wanted and I did today she respects my choice ......So just wanted to share how great these angels are .....yes we are back but hoping it just a short trip to the Falls again :roll: Tons of healing green light to your Chewy and to you too. Tell him why and what you are doing and stay calm they do take on our moods Hugssssssssssss Kath & Trey
 
Thank u what a touching story have me a limb on the back of my throat.... Ok I have to go to work .. So no shot this morning then test 6 hours later? Then what? What if he is 400? Give him the shot ?? In the middle of the day?
 
That would probably be safer than giving him insulin on the lower number and leaving. Are you sure giving doses 12 hours apart? I think you are in a different time zone than I am (I'm in Colorado) but it seems like you posted a pm number about 9pm my time last night and then one at 6 am this morning.

I know it is hard to get the midycle numbers, but they are how Lantus doses are determined. Basing doses on preshots doesn't work. If you give a shot for a 200 preshot (for example) and he drops down to 40 5 hours later and then bounces up for preshot, you need to give less insulin. But you wouldn't know that if you are just looking at the preshot number of 200, which seems high enough for a shot

The other concerning scenerio is that if he is at 144 12 hours after a shot, we wonder how low he was 6 hours before? He could have been quite low. And we also can't be sure if the 144 is a rising number or if he is still falling.

Do you ever get a day off when you could catch some numbers during the cycle? It would be so helful to see his pattern.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top