1/14, Boomer, AMPS=166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traci and Boomer

Very Active Member
Questions From yesterday's Thread:

Cassandra- Boomer was diagnosed with a biopsy if I remember correctly. At the time I had another cat Biscuit (GA) who needed lots of tests too and sometimes I get them mixed up.

The vet told me I could try a food trial with vennison and duck I think it was - foods that he hadn't eaten before. They were VERY expensive vet foods (like $2.00 a can) and he didn't really eat them. So I "canned" the food trial - no pun intended. How did you do your food trial?

As far as his numbers - I am stumped. I was hoping he'd be a candidate to go OTJ soon. Last night his PMPS was a YELLOW!!! And his AMPS today was 166. Again, I am not around to do the mid-day checks, but I can this weekend. Do you guys think he's doing okay? Do you think he may ever not need insulin?
 
Re: 1/14, Boomer, AMPS=166 - Cassandra

Hello Tracy,
I can't really help you with your food question. However, I may be able to shine some light on some of your other questions.
For example... the yellow PMPS you got last night 'may' have been attributed to the snack you fed to Boomer at +10. The general rule of thumb with Lantus/Levemir is not to feed the 2 hours prior to shot time as to not 'fog' or 'cloud' the PS number. I suspect you fed him because he was crying. and was hungry... yeah, am guilty of that too....

If I may make a few more comments, I am thinking that Boomer has not outgrown his dose of insulin yet, so stick to the dose (0.25fat) for a while longer.

Also, it would be helpful if you could get a BG test before bedtime. I know that I am a pest with that, but that test (however early it may be) is very telling for most cats.

It's early to say whether Boomer will ever go OTJ. I am certain that it's everyone's dream, unfortunately, it's not a garantee. However... don't forget this.... you are giving his pancreas a chance to heal on his own and you are keeping Boomer healthy and happy... and THAT counts for a lot!

Hang in there!
 
I have to echo Helene on the before bed test every night. Many kitties run lower at night and by not getting them we are missing half the picture, especially if you are unable to test during the day.

For our food trials, I tried many different things....You do not have to use Rx diets for a food trial. Many people on the Yahoo IBD list like EVO 95% Venison (they also make a 95% Duck). I also did a trial with Nature's Variety Rabbit, both raw and canned, as well as other homemade raw diets. Out of all of them, Sasha preferred the rabbit (both NV raw, canned, and the homemade raw that I used). The EVO 95% flavors are a good place to start, though, as they only have meat and supplements and are therefore quite limited in ingredients. All of what we tried is low carb, too.

A full food trial needs at least 8-12 weeks to determine if it is working or not. The majority of people that have to give meds alongside a trial run into a problem with pill administration, as nothing but the trial food can be fed (so no pill pockets or anything else to stick the meds in). That was an issue for us, as Sasha was on so much oral medication at the time, but it can be worked around creatively if need be.

Boomer is just so young, and I would hate to see that other options hadn't been utilized before keeping him on steroids the rest of his life. Steroids will predispose him to diabetes, which you found out with the Pred. Although Budesonide is not as systemic as Pred, it still does have some impact on BGs and cortisol levels. If steroids are what is needed to help him, then by all means use them - I know Sasha will be on them now for the duration of her life, but if there are other options then it doesn't hurt to try.

More on food allergies/food trials:
http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm ... 32&aid=142
http://www.littlebigcat.com/index.php?a ... giesincats
http://www.sniksnak.com/cathealth/allergies.html

We also had some positive results with a holistic vet and Traditional Chinese Medicine herbals and acupuncture. They didn't full relieve Sasha's symptoms, but she also has many other things going on that contribute to her vomiting. I have known others with chronic vomiting kitties that have had success with both TCM herbs and acupuncture.
 
The food at +10 was in fact because he was hungry.
I stopped getting a before bedtime test because his PMPS is 8:30 and I go to bed at 11. I thought "why bother get a +2.5", but if it's imporant I'll do it. I was trying to be more frugal with my strips.
 
Traci and Boomer said:
I thought "why bother get a +2.5", but if it's imporant I'll do it. I was trying to be more frugal with my strips.

Very important test to have, every day if you can. Many cats run lower at night because the cortisol (and other hormone) levels in the body are lower at that time. The lower hormone levels can lead to lower night BGs, and that is often when many kitties earn decreases. If you are not testing before bed, you would have no idea if Boomer is 46 @ +2 and needs additional monitoring that night and earned a decrease - it can and does happen, often. The lower overnight numbers also lead to higher AMPS numbers.
 
Re: 1/14, Boomer, AMPS=166, PMPS=256

My gosh you really know your stuff Cassandra. Okay, I'm sold.

I'm getting the feeling that Boomer's dose may not be right again. Tonight he was 192 at +11 and I gave him a couple bites of freeze dried stuff and by PMPS he's up to 256! He was doing so well!

I know there's no guarantee that a cat will get off insulin, but I guess I always thought it would happen for him because he's so young, newly diagnosed, and steroid induced - but seeing the number creep up everyday is making me feel worried things aren't working. Part of the problem is that I don't have a mid-day number, but I'll get one this weekend.
 
When you have a chance, look at Lucy's (Libby) SS. It's a great example of how doses sometimes have to go up before they come down. There's not alway a steady downhill climb. Rather, it can be an up and down course. Boomer is doing things his way. He may know that his pancreas needs more tome to heal. All we can do is wait.

I'd be very judicious in the amount of treats given at +11. Even with something LC, you're giving a treat at a point when the amount of Lantus in Boomer's system is very low. It may be bumping his numbers up a little.
 
Come on down, Boomer!

He *could* be bouncing, or if not then we might have to add a touch to his dose. Spot checks will help when you can get them.
 
Re: 1/14, Boomer, AMPS=166, PMPS=256

Traci and Boomer said:
I know there's no guarantee that a cat will get off insulin, but I guess I always thought it would happen for him because he's so young, newly diagnosed, and steroid induced - but seeing the number creep up everyday is making me feel worried things aren't working. Part of the problem is that I don't have a mid-day number, but I'll get one this weekend.

He has a really good shot at remission - don't give up quite yet. ;-) Doesn't happen for all of them, but the conditions for Boomer are pretty great. Just test, test, test. The more you follow along with the protocol and catch the need for reductions and increases, the better.

(And no, I am not saying anyone has to have a SS like Sasha's, because I am clearly OCD when it comes to testing. :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top