1/14 Shadoe pmps 418 +2 374 +10 340- eating little

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo

This morning Shadoe seems a bit off; she did do a couple furball hurls yesterday eve but it was just bits of her wheat grass. From time to time in the past, she has done this, just not recently, so I did not think anything of it.

Now, this morning, she did a few more hurls, but no grass, just clear foamy bubbles. She did not eat all that much in the eve, and this morn, there was still the same food in her dish - I had left it down overnite because we are up 2hrs prior to amps.

Her numbers don't seem any different than the usual pink/red lousy ones, but that got me thinking to look closely at the cart - call me paranoid, but whatever. I took out the box of the other unopened carts from the frig, and the open and new did not look the same - nothing floating around but the black bottom did not look as nicely black, if that makes sense. You know how things look like something is coating the surface, like that.

It's only been 18 days, but I felt better cracking open a fresh one this morn. After the last time I changed when Shadoe's numbers started to edge up to the reds again, I would rather waste a bit in a cartridge than waste time shooting bad stuff in her.

What IS the effect of bad/spoiled/expired/crappy insulin anyways? People say look for floaties, but what if you look and see some? Does that mean the prior shots may have been harmful, or just useless? I think that's a question that many have.

Anyways, I will consider testing a +almost 1 before I leave for work because the last time I started a new cart, we saw better numbers right away.

Shadoe's sleeping right now, she did not have much interest in food, but I'll see if I can put some of her fave into a dish and bring it to her in the chair. Geez, maybe I should buff her nails and see if she needs any other special catering before I head out for the day.

Scratches for kitties and nice stress free numbers for the beans today.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe +11 380 amps 403

If anything, you would see numbers creep up, but that's hard to say if she's been in the pinks/reads anyway...If you think something is suspect in the vial - then I think you did the right thing to change it. I would of too. No sense beating yourself up wondering if it's any good, be gone yucky vial! You're done with it!

You're keeping the box away from the back of the fridge right? I mean not storing it at the back of the fridge.

Let's see what happens today/tonight with the new vial.
Have a good day :)
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe +11 380 amps 403 +1 394

OK the +1 is more like a +.80 or maybe about 50min; whatever, it's going down but not hugely, so I am off to work now.

The cart is kept in its own "special" glass jar with a rubber lid so it will not get jarred. The jar is kept in the middle of the top shelf, close to the front, and nothing is really allowed to touch the jar. I have always treated it like something like a bomb, not to be disturbed. I think it's pretty OK. The box with the other carts is on the door in a top bin that is beside the butter bin.

Shadoe's all stretched out, and Booboo's keeping her company, but Shadoe is ignoring her. Maybe Shadoe just has an upset stomach, but she's all spread out now and sleeping nicely. When she stretches out all her toes, and the tip of the tail is doing the lazy flick, flick back and forth, she is usually OK.

Off to work I go till about +11 or pmps.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe +11 380 amps 403

" Geez, maybe I should buff her nails and see if she needs any other special catering before I head out for the day."

" I have always treated it like something like a bomb, not to be disturbed."

Gayle, You crack me up....have you ever thought of writing comedy??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Shadoe is extremely lucky to have such an accomodating lady in waiting! Hope you see some better numbers for your troubles. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe +11 380 amps 403

They say that it is warmer on the refrigerator door than in the fridge itself. You could always get a fridge thermometer, if you want to be even more obsessive (like I did).
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe +11 380 amps 403

Ugh, Linda, now I will go and get a thermometer for the frig, but can you tell me what temp I need it to be for the Lantus? :roll: What's the temp range for this stuff anyways? Is it on the container and I missed it?

Brenda, on a serious note, I have found that worrying and stressing make for muddy minds and unclear decisions and logic, so I try to keep light and thereby avoid freaking right out!
And then along comes a fellow worrywart, talking about frig temps. Yikes, UP goes my worry meter! nailbite_smile

While I worry about Shadoe, I have to be careful because it's been really rough on Booboo; her buddy is getting all the attention and she is sick and not being buddies so much, and her dry is covered up, and ....
Whenever I pat Shadoe, Booboo runs over and tries to put herself in between me and Shadoe. If I stop patting Shadoe, Booboo leaves because she does not want pats, never has, but she just is so jealous of Shadoe now. I now make a conscious effort every day, to spend some time with Booboo, giving her my undivided attention so she does not feel left out.

It must be rough on the civvies; how about everyone give their civvies some special attention right now to let them know they are just as special. Even if they don't act left out, and even if we don't mean to give them less time, it happens from time to time, so we need to just do a little balancing adjustment.

Scratches to all kitties, and droolers, and any others in your menageries.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe +11 380 amps 403

The sticky on storage and handling says that the temperature should be between 2 degrees and 8 degrees Celcius.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

Shadoe is really not feeling very well, but not terrribly?

When I got home, she had eaten nothing and she was sleeping as usual in the bedroom. She came out as usual when called, but was not purring when I tested, and she had no interest in her food.

I got her to eat some ff medley and she also lapped up some fresh tuna water, but still no purring and about 1/2 hr later, it all came back up.

She went under the bed, but I convinced her to come out and lie in her chair. Some pats and talking seems to have relaxed her and she is lying in a comfy position, not hulked over, and seems to be breathing normal like usual when napping.

And now to my question. Do I just go ahead with her pmps and the regular dose if she is feeling under the weather? We are due to shoot at the top of the hour, 7pm EST.
 
bump

keep an eye on any litter action for her if u can.
do u hear tummy ache sounds?
try offering her a bit at shot time = hoping someone comes along to answer the shot question - when i was on the low doses, I still shot if he wasn't eating enough, but I'm concerned about your dose on her with an empty tummy.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

At this high preshot, I wouldn't worry about it. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Although I know you will? ;-)
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

Ugh, I come from a long line, 3 generations, of worriers; I have fine tuned it to an art! Of course, I will worry; it's ma job!

As for litter action, I don't think there was any at all from her today, but she did not eat or drink today, or very little. Everything is just coming out the wrong end for Shadoe today! :YMSIGH:

I will tempt her with some other food, and go with her regular shot.
She may be feeling crappy, but she is well enough to be kicking Booboo in the face to leave her alone and stop with the ear cleaning already!
Yeah, Booboo always "cleans" Shadoe after I have messed her up with tests and shots and stuff.

Thanks for the suggestions and advice. Hopefully, she will feel better later and tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

sometimes it just takes a few hours for it to pass, if she goes poop, it helps clear her yuckies.

dont stress too much, ok?
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 pmps 418

I swear that Shadoe knows she is going to feel better after her shot.
I tested and gave her shot, then she promptly jumped out of the chair and went over to have a bit of the leftover tuna water, and she gave a sniff to the other special kitty chicken&liver spoonful I offered. She lapped up some water, sniffed the food, then waddled off to the hall to stretch out on her rug.

I'll keep an eye on her to see what she does next.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

Shadoe has been having intermittent vomiting for about 24 hours? Does Shadoe look uncomfortable, like sitting in a meatloaf position? The not eating and hurling is worrisome. If this continues, I'd call the vet and get her in. It may be something as simple as an upset stomach that a course of Pepsid and maybe an appetite stimulant will take care of or it could be something like pancreatitis that will require more aggressive treatment. Shadoe needs to eat or there's the potential for additional problems so don't let this go on for too long.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

Thanks Sienne, I have been watching for that meatloaf position, but she has not done that at all. She lies on her side as usual, does some stretches and elongating her body, plus when Booboo was cleaning her, she did a bit of her "lie on the back in a chipmunk pose" thingie.

I'll keep watching her and offering bits of food to ensure she eats some.
The vet's office is just around the corner, so I can get her there quickly if needed.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

Hey Gayle
I typed up a whole note to you and I don't see it anywhere.
Strange.
I know how devoted you are to Shadow and I said the same thing as Sienne.
We are going into the weekend ... Oops I see vet is easy to get to.
I didn't want you to deal with the Emergency.
I hope she feels better and her tummy settles down.
Are you using the same food?
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

I'm with Cheryl, if she's still not eating very well tomorrow you might go ahead and get her to the vet. Might be worthwhile to test her for pancreatitis, many diabetic cats have chronic pancreatitis. The test is only accurate when they are having a flare, so if she has tummy issues it's a good time to test.

Jojo's pancreatitis post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... msg-876722
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm with Cheryl, if she's still not eating very well tomorrow you might go ahead and get her to the vet. Might be worthwhile to test her for pancreatitis, many diabetic cats have chronic pancreatitis. The test is only accurate when they are having a flare, so if she has tummy issues it's a good time to test.

Jojo's pancreatitis post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... msg-876722

and just want to add...
not sure if i missed talk of prezzies in the litter box, but constipation *could* be another reason for vomiting and lack of appetite...
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe amps 403 +11 400 - vomit question?

OK we are making a tiny bit of progress. After trying 5 different cans of food, Shadoe has decided she is willing to lap up some SophCat supreme sliced chicken, hearts & liver dinner. It's chunk in sauce that I smashed and mixed with a bunch of water to make a soup. Shadoe has not been hurling, has visited the tub for her drink from the faucet, and lapped up a bunch of the soupy dinner. She's now stretched out on her side in a chair, with Booboo right beside her.
Booboo has been hovering all around us, watching her buddy. She cleaned off Shadoe's chin from the splashes of soup which is very nice because Booboo eats only dry yet cleaned off the wet from Shadoe.

Anyways, I'll watch to see if it stays down which would be another good sign. I knew she was hungry and thirsty; she had gone over to the water earlier but did not drink, then she sniffed all the foods and nothing seemed good enough. Thank goodness, this latest slop was acceptable.

The vet where we go, just around the corner is also an animal hospital so it's open all the time, or accessible for entry. I'll watch her tonite and if she is the same, or worse in the morn, I can take her to the vets.

I have printed out her ss and the protocol sheets, then I'll look for some other info to print and take with me, along with the list of tests we should do as suggested here.

You know what I find ironic - before I worried about her BG numbers and getting them down, even though she was feeling and acting just fine. Now, it's completely switched where I have tested but those numbers are of minor importance now that Shadoe seems to be feeling sick and not eating. Now, I just want her to eat and drink, even if it's something with a little gravy.

Her pmps was 418 and +2 was 374; normal for Shadoe so nothing concerning there. And now that she has some soupy slop in her belly, she's curled lightly in the other chair and looking more relaxed.

I'll get a +4 at the top of the hour then head to bed. Either way, good or bad in the morn, I will go to the vets and arrange for tests and a checkup.

Hopefully, the morn will have some litter box action, and she will eat some more.
 
Re: 1/14 Shadoe pmps 418 +2 374 +10 335- eating little

Well, morning's not much better, a bit but not much.
Shadoe has had some of the tuna juice, I added water to it, but not much. She lapped at the soupy mix from last nite, but not really. I know she is on the hungry side, but nothing seems to smell good enough to try.

Nothing in the litter box, so I put her into the box and she did pee, without an effort. No ketones; at least something is good.

She has not hurled anymore, so that means the foods she ate stayed in her and off the floor and carpet, so that's another good thing.

I still don't like how she is acting, and I need to get those tests done anyways cuz she is guzzling down that insulin like a fat kid eating at McDonalds. She shifts around fairly often; she can be lying on her side, stretch onto her back like a chipmunk, then 10min later, she is changing positions, then 10min later, she jumps down and goes to lie in the hall on the rug. The other odd thing is she licks her lips alot. OK not lips, but you know what I mean.

I'll walk over to the vets later and have a talk with one of the vets there to see what we will do. Like I said, she may seem fine to others, but not me.
 
Licking her lips? Ive seen that when there's a hairball due or just a puke, sometimes even with dehydration,
hows her fur? spikey? does it spike back when you patt it down?
shifting every so often? something buggin her.. they're kinda restless, I do know what u mean.
i hope she's ok, please keep us posted.
 
Ronnie,
The lip licking is not like they do to clean after eating, with the tongue licking far to each side; this is more like try to touch your nose licking. Anyways, I will ask the vet HUH? what is she doing there?

OK here are my test type demands:
1. acromegaly
2. cushings
3. IAA
4. pancreatitis
5. arrange for dental if needed
6. refuse any convenia if suggested

I have printed out her ss and also a conversion chart for the vet - they don't understand the mmo and want the mg numbers.

And I spoke too soon about the hurling; it looks like some of the tuna juice cam up and was deposited on the hall rug.

If anyone has any other things I should request or question, let me know. I'll be doing the amps thing at the top of the hour, unless someone says no. I don't see a problem with going ahead though.
 
Ya, sorry, I forgot to put that in my list. Actually, that issue is more of a concern than the hurling.
Shadoe may not be an avid pooper, but I believe in regularity.

I will ask about her appetite, and maybe if we need something to keep her more regular. Neither of them are loose, so it could be they are not drinking enough.
 
Gayle,good luck at the vet. Hope that Shadow feels better after.
BTW,I'm using 'Miralax' for the Jake on regular basis (2xday) so he goes poo every day.
You have to start a new tread ( today is 1/15).
Keep us updated!
 
I have seen my cats lick their lips like that right before they vomit, so I'm assuming it is nausea.

I was also thinking chronic pancreatitis. Not only have I had pancreatitis myself (the pits!) but another dog of mine had it and she would act very restless when she wasn't feeling right. Low tolerance for fat and protein. From what I have heard, it is very hard to diagnose in cats. But if it were me, I would begin at least avoiding the higher-fat foods. I'm not sure how you avoid high fat AND high protein AND high carbs!

I'll have my fingers crossed for a quick diagnisis and resolution of this. Poor Shadoe!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top