1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46 +5 53 +6 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Very Active Member
Good morning, Lantus Land & Furbaby Friends cat_pet_icon
Yikes, I don't like this # & naturally I get this when I am working from home today & nothing to worry about.
These kitties sure do what they want, when they want dancing_cat
WCR, has eaten breakfast & is bringing me toys to play with her with (very normal - Baby carries toys in her mouth - even fetches too, if you can belive that!)
Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3053&view=unread#unread
I hope everyone has a Beautiful, Blessed Day!!
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291

Good morning,Nicole!
ya,lil rebound! Hope it clears out soon. Ears can have a little break from poking.
( my Jake is at 293 this AMPS too,not happy but can't change).
I like that 'blessed'every morning from Your condo!
Hope we see a better the end of the day!
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291

yup kitties will do what they want, when they want :lol: cuz they have no rules!
Hope u see those pretty blues today - nice and steady thou Baby kitty cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291

Bo & Jake... maybe are furbabies wanted to be in the same club today, here's hoping they realize what fun it is to see Blues even Greens sometime soon!! :mrgreen:

Ronnie & Luna.. that's right! No rules.. in my next life.. you heard it here first.. I want to come back as the kitty cat & let Sadi & Baby take care of me!! cat_pet_icon
That's right... thank you for reminding Baby.. she needs low & slow.. no Drama Momma today!

Giving the ears a break feels sooo good! I am going to get a +6 & then a PMPS #
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248 Liver Training School QUESTION

+6 was unfortunately within an hour of eating, but she was hungry.

**I dont understand why other Kitties can surf good #s, but whenever Baby & I have a good day - we pay for it the next day with yellows?

I know about the Liver & ECID, but generally speaking.. when does this usually level out?
Is there somewhere I can read about Liver Training School? I cannot find it in the notes about Lantus
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248 Liver Training School QUESTION

Nicole & Baby said:
+6 was unfortunately within an hour of eating, but she was hungry.

**I dont understand why other Kitties can surf good #s, but whenever Baby & I have a good day - we pay for it the next day with yellows?

I know about the Liver & ECID, but generally speaking.. when does this usually level out?
Is there somewhere I can read about Liver Training School? I cannot find it in the notes about Lantus


As you said, it is an ECID is different. Some cats are in and out of LTS in a few weeks, others can be months or even years. My Jasper took a year and a half before he stopped bouncing :roll:

Take some time to look at other SS and you'll see that we've all done it, and all for different amounts of time. The only way to get them to stop bouncing is to keep showing the green to where they don't bounce from it
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248 Liver Training School QUESTION

I was trying to dig up old posts on LTS, but came back with nada' lol

Nicole, what Heather said, is what I've always heard too. For us it was a short stay in school, and as u said, ECID, and indeed they are :shock: lol
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248 Liver Training School QUESTION

O geez.. sounds like Baby's Liver may be in school for a bit.. will try to be patient since it has not even been that long of regular shots, we are beginning our 8th consecutive day
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248

Hello Nicole! Hello Baby!!

Wonder if the HC food you fed yesterday is still effecting her numbers?

So cute that Baby carries toys in her mouth!! My cats will only occassionally bat a ball down the hall. They are l-a-z-y.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248

Linda and Fluffy said:
Wonder if the HC food you fed yesterday is still effecting her numbers?

HC canned food is in and out of the system quickly - usually within a few hours. HC dry food can last for days.

This is normal bounce. Rebound hormones can last up to 72 hours. Baby's liver will learn and will start clearing these bounces faster and faster as she goes along. Everyone has to go through this in the beginning, though. Sasha may be a great surfer of green now, but she went through months of liver training while on PZI to get here. Just hang in there - Baby will pass LTS when she is ready.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248

Nicole, are u still looking for a pic of .75u?

You posted in Health - u might want to post the type of syringes u are using.
I cant find a pic of that dose.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248 NEED pic of .75 Dose Please

Thanks, Ronnie!!

I use Reli On Insulin Syringes 3/10cc 31 Gauge 8mm Length short needle with 1/2 unit markings

I do still need a pic of .75 dose. I think I am getting it right.. but want to check myself. Our PMPS time is in an hour & a half
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248 NEED pic of .75 Dose Please

3quartersunit.jpg
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248

CD and BigMac as always... to the rescue with pics!!

THANK YOU!!! :thumbup

I dont think I have been giving quite .75 by looking at this
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248

As long as the dose is between the .50 and the 1.00 unit, you should be good. Just do it the same way every time and that will be YOUR .75u dose. Know what I mean? I had to use magnifying glass and just eyeballed the best I could midway between the two marks. That is the best anyone can do. Every brand of syringe is slightly different too so the rubber plunger may take up more space next to the marks than that photo shows.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby AMPS 291 +6 248

Cool! Glad u got the pic!
Remember to twist the plunger gently, left to right, instead of pushing it.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230

Will do, thank you! I think I was looking at the top of the plunger & seeing the thick black "head" on the 1 unit marking & thinking to myself Geez.. I don't need 1 unit yet!
But, I see now.. that is correct... the top of the plunger is actually on the 1 unit line, allowing for the Insulin to be up to the .75
Hopefully I am making sense!! Thanks again!!
** I like this preshot #, that means we will see blue tonight! Yay! :RAHCAT

I had a 1st tonight.. I actually poked myself with the syringe.. thankfully I did not inject LOL
Just moved the needle a little to the right & injected her... gosh.. what an idiot I am!
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230

Thanks, Bo & Jake!
I am going to go check out your thread now too!

Geez.. I wish she woudve went to green today when I was home to watch her!!

Also.. I am trying out some new lower fat versions of the high protein/low carb choices. We are on Wellness & Raw Rabbit now. But her sister Sadi is feels like she has really gained in a months time of Wellness (she refuses to eat Raw) Anyway.. I am going to try & keep Sadi on track too.

I read that switching food on Insulin should be carefully done? Any thoughts? Wellness & Raw will be the main ones, but I need to start giving some lower fat ones a few times a day for Sadi.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230

Hi Nicole! Glad you asked about the picture for the .75 dose - I downloaded a copy to my hard drive. My vet called today and said to increase Mally's dose from .5 to 1 unit, but everyone here is advising that I go with .75 first. My concern is being consistent.

The other day when I shot all of the insulin out of the syringe trying to get the dosage right, Sienne made the same suggestion that Ronnie just made about turning the plunger rather than pushing, and that helped a great deal.

You're doing a great job with Baby. It seems the cats just take everything in stride and it's us beans that need a Xanax by the end of the day. :mrgreen:

PS I have a daughter named Nicole. :smile:
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230

ChrisH, excellent!! I do always turn the plunger, versus just pulling it back... I don't know about pushing.. I have never done that.. because if I were to push.. it would push air in... I put the needle in the pen & then turn back until my dose is right!

So have you decided what you are going to do? .75 or 1? I personally always go with the suggestion of the board!! :-D

I could not have said it any better...... absolutely right.. the kittys take it in stride & we need the xanax by the end of the day! For now, I am having a glass of wine in the evenings drinking09

We all love our furbabies sooooo much & they are blessed to have us!!

I saw a bumper sticketer the other day & I LOVED it. It was: a paw & read "who saved who" cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230

Hi Nicole,

I'm sorry that you took my comment the wrong way yesterday. Yay to the green!

Wih respect to the 0.75 U dose. Another helpful tip is to fill the syringe with coloured water and use it as a reference.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135

Okay.... yay! I have reviewed Baby's data enough to bang my head against a wall. She eats constantly between pre shot # & her +2/+3 yet this is generally her nadair in my opinion! Very happy to have data as to what makes my Baby Girl tick....

WCR.. ALWAYS busy.. nearly 9 & acts like a kitten with her busy ness (hey, I am not complaining) this was true before Lantus.. but tonight... she is flying around & hunting her toys & carrying them to me in her mouth...... ahhhhhhhh cuteness!! Sister Sadi wonders what the heck happened.. but is busy enough herself!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135

Awesome number Baby!!! I know mommy is happy flip_cat flip_cat
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135

Hi NIcole: Glad Baby is doing so well. As for LTS, some move faster than others. Tuffy passed and then returned to LTS. ECID and eventually they get the message. Hang in there you are making great progress.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46

Have learned not to freak out...
Plenty of LC out...
Offered HC... was not interested & acting fine...

Suggestions?

I will test again in 30 minutes
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46 any Suggestions?

Believe it or not....this is good for Baby isn't it? Maybe you have hit that dose? Shh, I didn't say that too loud I hope. Baby cover your ears.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46

Nicole & Baby said:
Have learned not to freak out...
Plenty of LC out...
Offered HC... was not interested & acting fine...

Suggestions?

I will test again in 30 minutes


Good job not freaking out. :-D

Can you offer just a bit of the gravy from the HC, if she isn't hungry? It isn't critical, I'm sure she is fine with the LC, but she doesn't really need to be surfing the 40's because she has earned her dose reduction tonight. :-D And I agree with testing in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46 any Suggestions?

You are truly getting the hang of this without worrying that Baby is going to hypo. I'm so happy to see you are getting comfortable with managing Baby's numbers!! You should be very proud of yourself.
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46 +5 53

Thanks everyone.. for keeping me & most importantly Baby under your wings!!
Fed HC gravy & really anything she would eat LC, am going to test again +6, to see what's up.. I am just letting her do her thing... & will step in if need be. I have to wonder now.. how many times she has reached this low # with me being gone? I have always thought.. shooting 200s & leaving.. no worries.. but she has shown me.. things can happen fast. Momma is Ok... just need to know Baby is too, before I go to bed.. will test at 10pm CST (about an hour)

In the am....... shoot normal.. or go back down to .50?
 
Re: 1/19 Baby PMPS 230 +2 135 +4 47 +4.5 46 +5 53

looking good. :smile:

Yes, I would reduce to 0.5 tomorrow, congrats! If she is very high (which seems unlikely), you can shoot 0.75 one last time to help with the rebound, but since you have to work then I would probably just go ahead and reduce in the morning.
 
(((Thank you))) to each & everyone of you! :thumbup:

I apologize for not being more talkative.. just tired.. I am leavin LC out & we are going to bed.. will shoot .50 at our AMPS in 6 hours... but why not keep .75? Newbie wanting to learn.
 
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Thank you))) to each & everyone of you! :thumbup:

I apologize for not being more talkative.. just tired.. I am leavin LC out & we are going to bed.. will shoot .50 at our AMPS in 6 hours... but why not keep .75? Newbie wanting to learn.

new diabetics earn a dose reduction for going under 50.

ni-ni Nicole, great job tonight. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top