1/2 mocha pmps 444 +3 243 +4.5 171

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Very Active Member
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=714

WCR: was quiet all night and just finished eating up breakfast. Didn't seem interested in breakfast, but once I put the bowl on the carpet and not the cold linoleum she started eating.

This is mochas 4th cycle at a (F)3.0, but she's been high(er) the last day. I thought we might see lower numbers this morning because she was so consistently flat yesterday but instead she is up in the pinks. Do we give her a full 6 cycles at this dose before we up her? I want to say I don't think she can handle a (F)3.0. We love seeing the blues and greens, but I will admit we are waiting for that "one day" when something just clicks and she is consistently blue and green. It just hasn't happened yet.
 
Re: 1/2 mocha amps 322

Mocha, it's a new year and a new you. Time to make a resolution to come on down!
 
Re: 1/2 mocha amps 322

First, see how this cycle plays out. You know from experience that a lot can happen between AMPS and PMPS. Cassandra always reminds me that those flat yellow cycles like Mocha had yesterday can be a signal for some action.

To recap:
12/25 Reduced from 3.75 to 3.5(F)
12/27 Reduced from 3.5(F) to 3.5(S)
12/31 Reduced from 3.5(S) to 3.0(F)

That's a good number of earned dose reductions over a short period of time. It may be that it was too many reductions too close together. (Of course, now that you've posed the question about increasing her dose, Mocha, having read your condo, will do something "interesting" -- and I don't mean having skyrocketing numbers.)

That's my 2 cents.
 
Re: 1/2 mocha amps 322 +4 83

I swear, if you mention going out or going anywhere, and mocha is in earshot, she drops her numbers! :lol: I just asked peter if he wanted to go to the store and so we grabbed a +4 before leaving only to find her dropping roughly 250 points in four hours. She's eating another snack right now, she just ate about an hour ago.
 
Re: 1/2 mocha +5 49

So in the last hour after eating some LC turkey and giblets mocha dropped another 34 points. NORMALLY her nadir is around +6 but that has been varying lately with these lower numbers, anywhere from +6-+8. We would like to know what we should feed her now? Should we HC her this low on the + checks?
 
Re: 1/2 mocha +5 49

PeterDevonMocha said:
So in the last hour after eating some LC turkey and giblets mocha dropped another 34 points. NORMALLY her nadir is around +6 but that has been varying lately with these lower numbers, anywhere from +6-+8. We would like to know what we should feed her now? Should we HC her this low on the + checks?

I would stay with LC as long as she is in the high 40's/50's, to see if she'll hold it here and surf or keep dropping. Knowing Mocha she will probably drop, but one of the things that can tell us how badly she needs a reduction is how easy or hard it is to bring the number back up. I know 49 is less than 50 so is technically a dose reduction earning number, but for some cats 49 is pretty borderline and I think we need to make Mocha work just a little harder for her reductions, if you know what I mean. Let's see where she goes on LC food.
 
Re: 1/2 mocha +4 83 +5 49 +5.5 70

Ok, well she did have about 10 seconds worth of licking up HC before we saw this message. That got taken away and she was given 1/4 can of Turkey and giblets, which she almost ate all of it. Then she laid in the sun with twix and we tested her at +5.5. Tried a few times before getting any blood, which she wasn't happy about, and then when we did get blood, the meter ran out of time so we had to poke all over again and while we were trying to do that, she got really mad and started hissing and grabbing our hands and trying to bite them. We finally got her tested and it read 70, so she brought herself back up either with the HC and LC food, or with being really angry at us.
 
Re: 1/2 mocha +4 83 +5 49 +5.5 70

Our guys are running pretty much in sync today.

You might want to consider not feeding a whole can of LC just in case you need to give HC at some point (or because of the drop in #s, scarf-n-barf happens).
 
Re: 1/2 mocha +4 83 +5 49 +5.5 70 +6 75

Mocha didn't eat a whole can, not even a 1/4 can. She seems to be on her way up again anyways. I have some questions, did mocha earn a dose reduction? I know she hit 49, but is that enough of a dip into the 40's to earn her one? Also libby, you said one of the things that can tell us how badly she needs a reduction is how easy or hard it is to bring the number back up. Well she hasn't ate since her +5 and she has gone back up 26 points in one hour so what does that tell us? Would it be better for her to take a longer time getting numbers up, or is this the right pace for bringing numbers back up on her own? Thanks for all the help again!
 
Re: 1/2 mocha +4 83 +5 49 +5.5 70 +6 75

PeterDevonMocha said:
Mocha didn't eat a whole can, not even a 1/4 can. She seems to be on her way up again anyways. I have some questions, did mocha earn a dose reduction? I know she hit 49, but is that enough of a dip into the 40's to earn her one? Also libby, you said one of the things that can tell us how badly she needs a reduction is how easy or hard it is to bring the number back up. Well she hasn't ate since her +5 and she has gone back up 26 points in one hour so what does that tell us? Would it be better for her to take a longer time getting numbers up, or is this the right pace for bringing numbers back up on her own? Thanks for all the help again!

I think what Libby meant was if she came up easily, which she did, then the 49 did not necessarily signal a reduction. She is close to getting one again probably, but the longer you can hold onto this dose then the more likely it will be for the next reduction to hold.
 
She had turkey and giblets at +3 spot check and now shes eating some more Turkey and giblets. heading off to bed but will grab a +6 tonight. Has a fresh can and a frozen puck for the night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top