1/20 Logan AMPS 336, PMPS 245, +9 327

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Very Active Member
mYesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=9&t=3216

Happy that his AMPS is down from yesterday! Not sure why he was in the 400s yesterday. He finally stopped trying to vomit about 3 hours after we gave him his food with the colostrum last night. He will never again get that! Poor thing, he never threw up any food, just foam.

He has a vet visit this morning so they can check his tube and his incision. I'm not looking forward to taking him in. We started the prednisolone this morning. Hoping it makes him feel better soon.
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

((Kelly)) sending good positive vet vibes and vines for ((Logan))
keep us posted when u get back!!
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

Hi Kelly
Sorry that Logan was throwing up but nice to see some better numbers.
Hope the vet visit goes well and Logan is on a good path to recovery.

Let us know how the visit goes later.
Sending good luck and feel better vince for all of you.
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

Hope the prednisone starts doing its magic on Logan soon.....better AMPS this morning. That is good!!
Good vet vibes to you both today...it's one of those things you don't really want to do but have to....sigh...
good luck Kelly....((hugs))
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

Thanks for all of the well wishes. Logan did really well in the car today. We've learned that it's best for me to sit in the backseat and hold him versus putting him in the carrier. I used to sit with the carrier in my lap with the door open - I would pet him and talk to him. He does much better in my lap...still not happy, but no vomiting!!!

Incision looks great. They want us to start rotating the base of the tube and put some gauze underneath it since it's rubbing his little belly raw. I can't wait to get that thing out of him!!!
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

(((Kelly)))) Hope the Pred kick in quickly and brings lots of relief. It took only about one and a half days for me to see a noticeable difference in Sasha when I started her on the Budesonide. I was so shocked by the change that I emailed Jojo and called my vet and said "Could it really be working this fast?". It was really a dramatic change!

Sending Logan lots of healing and eating vines.
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336, PMPS 245

Cassandra and Sasha said:
(((Kelly)))) Hope the Pred kick in quickly and brings lots of relief. It took only about one and a half days for me to see a noticeable difference in Sasha when I started her on the Budesonide. I was so shocked by the change that I emailed Jojo and called my vet and said "Could it really be working this fast?". It was really a dramatic change!

Sending Logan lots of healing and eating vines.

I think it did kick in that fast! I'm hoping that the 245 PMPS isn't just a fluke! I fought the urge to test him again - it was a good sample and no issues getting the meter to read so it should be a good number. It's just hard to believe. I was expecting a much higher BG b/c of the pred, but maybe the inflammation decreased enough to let the insulin do its thing?! He also ate about 5/8 can of FF! That is a huge improvement. This afternoon, after the vet visit, he ate about 1/4 can.

I'm trying to not get my hopes up or get too excited...just happy for the improvement even if it turns out to be a fluke. He's scheduled to get his next tube feeding in about 90 minutes. I'll test just before to see where he's at. He'll get his pred with his food.
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

Hi Kelly,
Ive had my head under a pillow the last week and never congratulated you on the news (well, okay - I know that might sound wierd...but its NOT lymphoma!!!!! :RAHCAT ).

I wanted to share my pred experience with you...
The first time around, Latte had a dex shot and then started the pill on the next day. I saw immediate results from the dex shot for a few days. Then her eating started to wax and wane a bit. This went on for a few weeks, and I wondered if it was even working. You can search on the ibd group and see all my grumblings about it. ;-) It seems a fair amount of people experience this, depending on how severe the inflammation was to start. So just to warn you, if its not consistent right away, it will eventually start working.

The second time we started it, I saw results within hours and it stayed consistent (until the last week). Im guessing things were not as bad after just taking a month off of it, so it worked quicker.

Latte did not have diabetes when we first stared the pred. After stopping pred for a while her numbers were creeping up because she was not feeling well. As soon as I gave the pred again they went down, for a few days. Then up, up, up. Again, not to discourage you because some people see no difference, or very little with bg's. Just sharing our experience, in case. You can look at our ss and see how that all panned out. I think we started it again October 26th? It should say in the 'notes' section.

You may see what logan eats on his own tonight...remember it has a bit of a stimulant in it both energy and appetite wise. Usually three hrs or so after I give it to Latte, she is up and about for quite a while.

I think you are going to find yourself with the old Logan back. And it is a wonderful, heartwarming thing to experience. I have high hopes for you guys. I am really touched by the care, dedication, and love you offer this little fella! cat_pet_icon :mrgreen: Logan is one lucky cat!

Love to hear how the rest of the night goes, later on!
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

I like Carolyn's comment that you might get the old Logan back! That's a great bit of hope to have. ((((Kelly)))) sounds like a positive day overall.
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

AW...that was so sweet that you were able to hold Logan in the back seat....
I bet he felt better than way....and glad things are looking good.
hoping for a great night for you guys....feel better Logan Boy!!! :-D
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336, PMPS 245

Kelly & Logan said:
I think it did kick in that fast! I'm hoping that the 245 PMPS isn't just a fluke! I fought the urge to test him again - it was a good sample and no issues getting the meter to read so it should be a good number. It's just hard to believe. I was expecting a much higher BG b/c of the pred, but maybe the inflammation decreased enough to let the insulin do its thing?! He also ate about 5/8 can of FF! That is a huge improvement. This afternoon, after the vet visit, he ate about 1/4 can.

I think the inflammation has so much to do with it. Sasha went from not wanting to move from her bed hardly ever to rolling around on the floor purring and playing with toys virtually overnight. It was so hard to believe. I still pinch myself when I see it.

I do think that after the inflammation started to really subside in Sasha after a few months on the Budesonide is when I started having to decrease her doses pretty rapidly. There certainly is a direct correlation with inflammation and elevated insulin needs. I saw the same thing happen when she had her Toxoplasmosis Dx and treatment, which caused severe inflammation in her muscles, and once it waned her insulin needs did as well.

So happy to hear he is eating!
 
Re: 1/20 Logan AMPS 336

Thank you Carolyn and Cassandra for sharing your experiences! It's so helpful to hear what you guys have gone through. I tested him at +2 and he was at 251. He ate about 1/8 can of FF and 1/4 of a FF appetizer. I gave him his pred/anti-nausea/metronidazole/pain meds with his tube feeding. I then changed the gauze around the tube and put on a new stockinette. He is now thoroughly ticked off and hates me! oh well, it has to be done and DH2B is out of town for a few days. I'm exhausted! Time to put myself and my 5 pets to bed.

If he wakes me up tonight or I wake up on my own, I'll try to get a spot check in just to see how he's doing.

I will be so happy to get my old Logan back. I miss him so much! He always snuggled with me every night and used to sit in my lap every time I sat down. He also purred every time I looked at him. I want that back!!! I know tonight's decent numbers may not last, but it at least gives me a little bit of hope. It's just so nice to see something besides ugly pinks!
 
He woke me up purring. He gave me an ugly pink, but that's ok, I was expecting it! He just ate a litlte over a 1/2 can of Merrick (3 oz can) - he hasn't touched Merrick in a while so that's promising!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top