1/30 Twinkie~ screw up BIG TIME

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+3~104/Beasley~140

I finally know that Twinkie knows his name. was in other room and when I called him to eat, he came. for a while there I was wondering if he was antisocial :roll:
they really seem to like the extra roaming room
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00

Nice AMPS for kitties this morning Dian!!

Hope u have a good day!!
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~PMPS~118~2.00/Beasley~153~2.00 screw up

I just made the biggest mistake I ever made since I started. I was not paying enough attention and I accidently shot Twinkie with Beasley's dose. :shock: he usually gets .1 and I gave him 2U. we will be ok cause I will test and watch and feed. will actually give hi carb in an hour and start the watch.
looks as though these Boyz do not deserve to have me take care of them. I let twinkie down.
I was not going to say anything but newbs should be aware that even long timers can make mistakes and this is a bigun nailbite_smile
I am so sorry Twinkie
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

don't be silly, dian. you did not let twinkie down. we all make mistakes, we're only human. the boyz would not be alive today had it not been for you. you have all your hypo supplies? some HC treats too? enough strips? i'll try to keep peeking back in, but you know the drill, right?
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

oh sh*t Dian! we all do it. Mousie's been on such a regular dose of pzi lately that i've gotten in the habit of drawing it up before i even test her. the other night i tested her and shot out of habit then realized i gave her the same dose as usual, but on a number half her normal pre-shot number. :shock: thank goodness for glucose meters and strips. that's all i gotta say about that.

you'll be fine. we know :smile:
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

Don't beat yourself up here Dian...it happens and it happens to the best of us. For goodness sake, you are taking care of not only three diabetic kitties, but 6 other kitties, an elderly mother, and on occasion two greyhounds and a little ****. I'm surprised you aren't in the looney bin yet!!!!

You know what to do...rinse, lather, repeat for a while. Twinkletoes will be ok...and will probably really enjoy the hc fudz that will be coming. HOWEVER....Mr. Beasley may get a little jelly belly seeing Twinks getting all that yummy fudz while he is still following that diet regime.

Be checking in throughout the day/nite on ya. Call me if you need anything
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

(((Dian)))
I don't know how you keep everything straight. It's a wonder you haven't done this before. I almost did something similar one time. I absently loaded up a large syringe with what was supposed to be a big amount of injectable steroid, but I drew it from the Lantus bottle. Something stopped me in my tracks just before I injected that huge dose into Bear, but the event really shook me up. I try to keep all sorts of cross checks in place now, but we are only human. I know he will be OK with you to watch him tonight. (((Twinkie))).
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

I'm actually amazed that this is the first time, it has to be confusing to have 3 diabetic cats in the house. We're here with you, lots of gravy a little at a time so he won't get full, lather, rinse, repeat. How far away is the ER vet, just in case?
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+1~132

gave small bit HC. figure get # a little higher and will give insulin something to work with. thinking could be off though.
beasley managed a lick also. sneaky he is
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

libby, given that twinkie has a somewhat working pancreas, do you think this could get tricky? i'm wondering if his pancreas may kick in with endo. insulin too, when he eats.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

now those are not words I want to hear choy-Foong.
Er about 15-20min. sitting here saying my most favorite word but not helping much. how could I have done that?? oh so kicking myself
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

sorry, dian. i was thinking out loud. i could be way off base. i'm just thinking that's what acrokitties do, and they have functioning pancreases (what is the plural for pancreas?) or something. (showing my ignorance on acro here). but acromoms deal with it by going straight to HC (i think?) and they seem to handle it just fine?

stop kicking yourself. you won't look very good bruised all over. :YMHUG:

hey you have needleless syringes? know how to give karo rectally if needed? (just in case)
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

UP YOURS :lol:
yes and yes. i am giving small bites every hour or less. cannot see these (this)guy not ever being not hungry
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

oh my gosh Dian, holy crap!!

I guess we can now say full moon affects beans too! lol!

You can handle this and u have a ton of gals here to help ya. :YMHUG: now no more beating urself up right?
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

I think it's smart to be prepared for anything.

When Kim/Luck did this, I remember her giving little bits of gravy every time the number started to wobble. WCF is right, might as well use HC instead of LC just to be safe (I know you're already doing that). And have the Karo handy in case the gravy isn't enough. And lots of cawfee cause you can't go to sleep.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

dian and wheezer said:
UP YOURS :lol:

36_11_6.gif


i set myself up for that, didn't i? :lol:
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+2~257

wow let's hope we do not crash from here. and he LOVES HC food. opened another can and he dove into it. so far has 3 bites of food. 2 bites of the medely with a little karo and a bite of beef with gravy that he went crazy for.
actually beasley smelled his mouth and started licking him
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

this is +1~257? buys you a bit of breather :)

lol about beasley. tell him he's on a diet, and kissing twinkie's HC crumbs is a no-no.

and you're welcome. i went to SettleD's condo and tattled about some bean who's trying to cheat and fast-track a kitty to the falls, so i guess we're even :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

sorry +2 he usually starts responding at +3 so we will see. and I saw that tattle tale. at least I saved all your butts by getting ALL the nooddles
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

so far, so good. That Beasley is something, isn't he. Just making sure he gets his far share of goodies!
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

i did that to cleo and it turned out to be a big non event. so i'm hoping it's the same for twinkie and he just gets to enjoy some extra attention, is all.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+3~265/Beasley~114

well so far appears to be uneventful. let's hope this continues. no further HC given. Since +3, each got a tad of LC. actually, beasley got a tad each time Twinkie had some. silly boy was having none of this sneak HIM some food will ya
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

Twink's been doing so well, will be interesting to see if he handles this on his own. Thank goodness you knew what happened so you can be ever watchful.

Given the shed, you might need to watch for more than one cycle.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

Come one Twinkletoes....don't go a droppin to low here...time to head on up. And of course, Beasley would have to have some goodies also, so todays numbers are shot to hell and back, oh well, Di, at least you can't say today was another boring day.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

Wow Dian

I am very impressed that you've kept it all together all this time taking care of your cats, campers and now fosters. It's a lot to remember and be on top of. You're doing great and you didn't let anyone down.

I'm wondering if there is some way you could color code the syringes, so you always know who gets which.

And stop berating yourself - you are a great person and mistakes happen, that's why they are called boo boos!
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

Everyone makes mistakes, Dian. I once caught myself going to prepare J.D.'s shot of Lantus, and looked down and saw that I had the bottle of R in my hand instead. Ohhh, that would have been bad. Twinkie is in the best of hands.
Now, I have to go look at the Settle D condo :-D
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

hey there. ;-)
(dian told me what happened right after she did it in FB PM)

can you keep a running spot check in your condo tonight since on new board can't see the view i liked where you could see all the post titles at once. ya know like this:
+12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed one 3 oz can HC (or whatever you gave)
+2~257- fed...?
+3~265-fed....?
+4~146-fed __ oz LC

i would hold off on giving any LC. although 2 units of insulin doesn't sound like a whole lot, it is 20 times his regular dose(!) and that is a lot. dropped over 100 points this last hour, if this is going to be hairy or a non-event we should start knowing soon. nailbite_smile

and don't worry, do this long enough and you'll do something like this. (sh)it happens. and when you're shooting 3 cats, the odds of stuff happening go up big time. and they all are orange boys too, makes it even more likely.

see you again soon..... and again and again....
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~AMPS~90~.1/Beasley~179~2.00 screw up BIG TIME

Girl, I don't know how you keep those kitties straight either - but sounds like the HC is doing pretty well. I know that really works for Dude - the times he's fallen fast- and he does it quite often - the HC will usually keep him where I want him to be.

If Twink is like Dude - he'll eat that gravy ANY TIME.

Hang in there - will be watching you - am sure it will be okay with you on top of it - AND don't apologize to Twink - as I say, if he's like Dude - he's LOVIN' that HC gravy.

Emmy & Dude (& MIttsi too)
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~we are off and running +4.5~70

+12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed 1 oz medley with karr
+2~257- fed...1oz medley with karo
+3~265-fed....1 oz HC beef with gravy
+4~146-fed 1 oz LC wanted to see if it worked NOPE
+4.5 70 1oz HC beef with gravy
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~off and running now..!! screw up BIG TIME

looks like you better get that LARGE cup out of the closet and fill it up with that gingerbread coffee, sit down with the testing supplies handy and just relax until test time. Gonna be a long night. You don't have work tomorrow, do ya?
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~off and running now..!! screw up BIG TIME

+12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed 1 oz medley with karo
+2~257- fed...1oz medley with karo
+3~265-fed....1 oz HC beef with gravy
+4~146-fed 1 oz LC wanted to see if it worked NOPE
+4.5 70 1oz HC beef with gravy




okay stuff starting to happen now. glad you already fed the HC w/ gravy.
since this is so much over his normal dose, next feeding just squeeze out the gravy to give him so that we can keep him hungry since we might be needing him to eat a lot over next bunch of hours and even bottomless pit cats do fill up.
i'll see you in 1/2 hour and see how this last HC worked. this next test will be very telling on how rest of night is gonna go. fingers crossed for a decent number.......
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~off and running now..!! screw up BIG TIME

Libby was right, I jumped right on the wobble with some hc. I really screwed up Luck's shot though, I didn't even know how much I had shot, so at least you know what your working with. I know exactly how you feel - try not to beat yourself up too much. We all make mistakes.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~off and running now..!! screw up BIG TIME

+12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed 1 oz medley with karr
+2~257- fed...1oz medley with karo
+3~265-fed....1 oz HC beef with gravy
+4~146-fed 1 oz LC wanted to see if it worked NOPE
+4.5 ~70 1oz HC beef with gravy
+5~51 1oz mostly gravy with some beef
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~off and running now..!! screw up BIG TIME

Hey, go easier on yourself, all right? You made a mistake, and you know how to treat it. And I'm very glad you posted about it, too; we can all learn something from it, you know?

Just wanted you to know I'm in your virtual corner...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~off and running now..!! screw up BIG TIME

+12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed 1 oz medley with karr
+2~257- fed...1oz medley with karo
+3~265-fed....1 oz HC beef with gravy
+4~146-fed 1 oz LC wanted to see if it worked NOPE
+4.5 ~70 1oz HC beef with gravy
+5~51 1oz mostly gravy with some beef
+5.5~53 1 oz mostly gravy with beef.
must say, he is handling this quite well and his appetite is huge
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+5.5~53 screw up BIG TIME

how about not dipping any lower than this, Twinkie.... that would make all of us verra happy.

Good job Dian, cool, calm, and collected (at least it looks that way from here!)
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+5.5~53 screw up BIG TIME

okay we are in the 50's now. not much wiggle room left. keep pumping him full of gravy, right now that is sorta holding him, hopefully will not drop any further. if he does then gravy/karo combo.

like i told ya on FB PM sometimes this turns out to be an easy -peasy thing and sometimes it is heart pounding hairy. glad you are testing more frequently now that we are in 50's (newbies reading, see that is experience there, we didn't have to tell her to up the testing to smaller and smaller time increments the lower the number gets, she knows that).

sending no lower than this vines..............
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+5.5~53 screw up BIG TIME

nailbite_smile sending no more dropping numbers vines to twinkletoes
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

hmm first post for +6 disappeared

12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed..... 1 oz medley with karo
+2~257- fed......1oz medley with karo
+3~265-fed...... 1 oz HC beef with gravy
+4~146-fed...... 1 oz LC wanted to see if it worked NOPE
+4.5 ~70 .........1oz HC beef with gravy
+5~51 ............1oz mostly gravy with some beef
+5.5~53.......... 1 oz mostly gravy with beef.
+6~66.............1 oz mostly beef

looking better.appy still going strong
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

12 PMPS 118~ 2 oops units
+1~132 -fed..... 1 oz medley with karo
+2~257- fed......1 oz medley with karo
+3~265-fed...... 1 oz HC beef with gravy
+4~146-fed...... 1 oz LC wanted to see if it worked NOPE
+4.5 ~70 .........1 oz HC beef with gravy
+5~51 ............1 oz mostly gravy with some beef
+5.5~53.......... 1 oz mostly gravy with beef.
+6~66.............1 oz mostly beef
+6.5~80...........1 oz mostly beef. may as well play it safe
will more than likely not feed anymore after this. we are going to have a whopper PS in AM.
not too bad of a night. cool as a cucumber. been through lo # so many times with wheezer.
thanks everyone for being there and not agreeing that I was a total ass for being so stupid. Still cannot believe I did that.
tomorrow is another day. will do one more test in an hour and call it a night.
thanks again
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

hey are you thinking of shooting in the morning? i'd think his shed will be kind of full.

and did jojo say you could go to bed yet? confused_cat
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

lol, i know you so well, this is easy. i have his SS open in another window so i can check it while i am in middle of typing a long one to someone else cause i know you'll keep it up to the minute.

cool, now it is looking more stable, you are able to balance the OD with HC and numbers not dropping any more at this time. get a few rising numbers w/o food and this night can be bagged and tagged. not ever yet, gotta make sure he doesn't drop to basement once gravy not holding off insulin action.

for the newbies reading this~ do you feel better knowing that here dian is keeping twink out of the danger zone with HC gravy on a cat that was shot 20 times his normal dose, hence you can see how much power you have when your own cat has a number lower than you are comfortable with on his right dose. see it? now you know why we say as long as you have plenty of cans of HC in house and a meter you have nothing to fear ever, you ARE in control. :!:
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

gosh. did I not say thanks for not rubbing it in and what do I read. oh **** 2u, OD,right dose, 20 x normal dose. oh my gosh. holy crap. Oh, I so feeeel the love :lol:
permission choy-Foong? surly you jest !!!
yes I am going to shoot in AM just not sure how much. maybe I will cut the dose in half and check for rebound :roll:

I am so ~O) out you cannot believe it. I can still sleep though but not sure the bladder will let me.
see ya'll in 1/2 hour
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

just checking in from 'the other room' and want to say you handled this so beautifully dian, and so did jojo using this experience as a teaching tool. this room ROCKS!
dian as you know we all make mistakes of various kinds...the important thing is you kept your head, did'nt melt down, and handled it like pro. i'm proud of you.
twinkie has a great mom! i would trust you with my cat any day. not that you need another diabetic running around.
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

Great job, Dian!

(echoing everyone else..don't beat yourself up...if you only did this once, I'm shocked).

Great that Twinkie seems to be going up now. Alex was down to 37 last night and I didn't even OD him... so you're in good shape :-D

I think you're a great Mom ! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Twinkie~+6~66. screw up BIG TIME

Been checking in and out but didn't want to fill up the condo - just watching and reading - great lesson for newbies - Dian, didn't have a doubt that you would see this through in your usual manner - with tongue-in-cheek humor - so glad it seems to be going so well. Twink must be as easily swayed by HC as Dude is - sometimes I think I can raise his #'s by just letting him smell the open can of HC.

Jojo, of course, you rock, girl. The stabilizing factor for us all.

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top