1/31 Baby Dosing Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Very Active Member
Good morning, LL ~O)
WCR too eary to tell, but Baby has had a very healthy breakfast & now she is going to BTB. Shot time is 4:45am/5:00pm to accommodate work schedule this week & noted on SS. Petsitter will do PMPS BG Reading & give PM Shot & noted on SS too. 3 weeks on Lantus & this is the 1st time someone new will do this for her & I am scared, but doing Ok.. just hard to "trust" someone elses .25 eyeball :YMSIGH:

I will be gone 13 hours, but will be home to get her PMPS +2.5

I want to thank each & everyone of you who took the time to lift my spirits yesterday, your encouraging words mean so much to me & I love you all cheering Baby & I on. Thank you :YMHUG:

Wishing all of you & your furbabies, a Blessed..Beautiful Day! o:-)

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294

Glad to read your feeling a bit more chipper today :mrgreen:
You really are doing a fantastic job and have come a long way in such a short time-awesome :mrgreen:

Another thing you could do for petsitter is get an old syringe, food colouring and water and measure out what .25u looks like. Then petsitter has a consistent marker to check against.

Hope you enjoy your lazy day :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

:lol: Kate.. nothing lazy about this day! Working 12 hours!!
Thank you for your enouragment.. anxious to see how the petsitter does for PM BG & Shot.. &
How Baby & Sadi do today :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

(((Thanks, everyone)))
This week will be challenging, with the working long hours, pet sitter & figuring out Baby's Dose.. but I am going to leave her on .25 since I am not home to BG Test as much. I will let you know as I know!! cat_pet_icon

**I appreciate the pic posted too!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

Nicole,

Everything will work out just fine. Yes, Baby might be showing some slightly higher numbers on this dose than she has shown the last few days, but think of it this way. You will be very busy for the next few days and Baby won't be able to be monitored as often. And you might be surprised that the lower dose might be just what she needs. Just don't worry so much about it the next few days, focus on your work, and if by the end of the week Baby is still showing the higher numbers you can always bump up the dose slightly. At least you won't be worried that she will go too low.

Hope today goes well. Just remember Baby can probably feel your stress and maybe this is making her numbers rise slightly.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

(((Tina & Sami))) Thank you! I am hopeful that everything is working out : ) New doses sometimes do not show immediate results & Baby at least is not in the 300s for her AMPS today! Yay!
Also, this dose allows me not to worry while away. I will be anxious to see her #s tonight too. If need be, we can bump her back up to .50.
Have a fabulous day with Sami!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

Nicole & Baby said:
(((Tina & Sami))) Thank you! I am hopeful that everything is working out : ) New doses sometimes do not show immediate results & Baby at least is not in the 300s for her AMPS today! Yay!
Also, this dose allows me not to worry while away. I will be anxious to see her #s tonight too. If need be, we can bump her back up to .50.
Have a fabulous day with Sami!! :mrgreen:

Nicole,

I guess for me I probably wouldn't jump back to the .5 unit dose to quickly. And if you do decide to increase again, you might want to try a FAT .25. But you are right while you are so busy you can be less worried about what is going on at home.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

Good morning Nicole. Glad to see you here today. Hope everything goes smoothly today at tbp.

I am sending <<<<<good vibes>>>>>> to you, Baby, Sadi and the petsitter today ok? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

Prayers please.. My petsitter should be at my place within the hour to BG Test & shoot...
Am anxious to see how it goes... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

:YMHUG: Thank you Paige.. I am soooooo nervous! She is going to call me with the BG Reading.. so once I know that.. I will be Ok..
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

Good luck with the work Nicole.
Let us know how it went with the pet sitter, testing and shot for Baby.
It is a always better to be higher for a bit, then too low for a bit so if Baby's numbers
are a bit higher than you like this week, she will get back to where she was when you can manage her yourself.
The most important issue is keeping Baby safe and less worries for you.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby AMPS 294 +1.5 259

Randi & Max.. good points. This is the 1st time I am really good with higher #s.. so I don't have to worry so much.. but to tell the truth I still worry.. like we all do :YMSIGH:

I also think it is going to take a few days for Baby to get lined out on her .25 dose.. so I am expecing some NDW.

Will keep you all posted..
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Bad news.. Baby hid from DPS, hissed - spit & tried to claw her (Baby has her claws) Sadi jumped in to protect Baby.
No shot given.. I will get home nearly 3 hours post shot time, she is already on a micro dose.. What to do?? Just resume AM shot in AM?
Looks like Baby will not get her PM shot tonight, tomorrow or Tuesday.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

I don't want this to make all of Baby's progress go downhill.. please help. Do I shoot 3 hours late??
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Baby will be fine, you tried and so did DPS. I won't be the first time somebody has missed a shot.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Libby.. Lucy.. Should I shoot 3 hours late tonight? Or just miss this shot?
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

only shoot 3 hours late if you can maintain that schedule tomorrow. And it sounds like you probably can't, right? Just call it a fur shot, she'll be ok.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Well poo! Cats sure do have a mind of their own don't they? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Will not shoot then. This does mean that Baby will not get her PM shot for 3 days..
I know ECID - but is this totally just going to mean we will never get OTJ because of this huge interruption in our schedule?
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Nicole --

I go through the same ordeal with Gabby any time I travel. I have a wonderful petsitter -- a feline veterinary nurse. The first time she was here to take care of Gabby, she got scratched. No shot 'cause Gabby was under the bed. The next day, she brought help -- one of the vets from the practice I use lived around the corner. Gabby was so stressed, she went into a corner that was not easily accessible and pooped. Both the vet and DPS thought it best to not stress out my kitty any further, so no shot. DPS was in tears. I was worried because Gabby missed a couple of shots and because she mauled DPS. It was a mess. Testing was completely out of the question. Gabby was fine.

I had DPS over at one point and we attempted something that was a modified desensitization protocol. Gabby will, most of the time let DPS shoot, but not always. Last trip, DPS and her husband, who is an animal behaviorist, were chasing Gabby around my condo trying to catch her to give a shot. Needless to say, Gabby missed a shot. She was fine.

A missed shot is not going to prevent Baby from going OTJ.

You all see Gabby through my eyes -- she cuddles, purrs, gives kitty kisses, loves having her belly, ears and chin scratched -- as long as it's me doing it. There are a couple of my friends who she will allow to touch her. Everyone else, she stays away from or will growl and hiss. That's my girl!
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Don't worry, Nicole, this is just a bump in the road. You will get Baby back on track once your work schedule gets back to normal. She'll be ok!
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Thanks, everyone - I do appreicate your prompt replies. I really hope this does not have any adverse effect of going OTJ, but there is just nothing I can do. I am pretty upset about it - but I just cant win this fight - so have to be Ok
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Nicole,

I agree - look at what dose Baby is at!!! You are so close!

And don't be upset - stuff happens and we go on.

Baby is doing very well, and is a very lucky kitty to have u. :mrgreen:


PS: can u clear your "help" request since u are allll good and better.
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Thanks, Ronnie. I just hope this bump in the road does not detour her process too much.
Appreciate the support & kind words...
 
Re: 1/31 Baby DPS UPDATE - Not good Help Needed

Hi Nicole,

Sorry to hear about the issues with DPS. You can't really do anything about it so don't stress over it. Just know you will give Baby her insulin in the morning, that is better than no insulin at all. Then later this week when your work schedule lightens up a bit you will get Baby back on her schedule.

Maybe someone with more experience can weigh in on whether you can give Baby a slightly fat dose once a day just to help keep her numbers down. Her AMPS might be higher than it would be if she got a PM shot so the slightly increased dose might be okay. But I would wait until someone chimes in on this because I have no clue if this would be good or bad, just a thought .
 
Hey everyone.. thank you for taking time for Baby & I
Petsitter unable to BG Test or give PM shot - work will not allow me to give PM shot tomorrow or the next day.. so that will be 3 PM shots we miss & then we will get back on track.

**Questions** Do I still shoot .25 in the AM? Baby was only 213 at +15 so I am confident we would have seen some good #s on this dose tonight.. but that is just my guess.

Any input is appreicated..
 
I would stick with your current dose. If you are thinking you should shoot more since you won't be able to shoot in the PM, the only thing that will happen is that Baby's numbers will be low during the AM cycle and she's likely to bounce at night.

The reality is that you may need to bump up the dose once you're back on your usual schedule since the shed will be depleted but some kitties have sheds that do not budge. So, this is another of those times when you'll need to be patient and see where Baby's at in a couple of days.

I'm sure Libby or one of the other experienced people will be by but that's my 2 cents.
 
Sienne.. great feedback.. time will tell & I will remain positive that this is another "education oppotunity"
Baby is sure good at teaching mommabean a few things! :roll:
 
No advice, Nicole, but just wanted to let you know I'm thinking of you and Baby. Once your work schedule gets back to normal you and Baby will get things squared away. :smile:
 
Awww.. Chris.. thank you!! :YMHUG:

WCR Baby is acting WILD & I do mean WILD tonight.. I bet she is feeling fine... flying around the apartment.. fetching.. zooming up & down ... all around.. this is how she acts when #s are low.. I would be inclined to test if I had given insulin.. but no way on .25 AM Shot are her #s low.. LOL
 
woah, wild cat loose in the home! She sounds like she's feeling so good. And fetching you nice little presents.

She sounds so happy! It's great to hear her feeling so well! cat_pet_icon
 
Just gonna give her a rest..I have been gone all day.. will be a rough week.. & just wanna save her ears/stress for when it is needed. I tested when I got home at +15, so I am not feeling another test is in order.. going on only .25
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top